? 8/11 Ivy AMPS 323, +1.5 242, +2 213 +3 144, +5 165, +8 231, PMPS 270, +166 Manage Fast Drops?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...0-279-pmps-380-2-379-fast-drop-bounce.280370/
Good morning,
Day 3 of increased dose 2.5 units Lantus.

We are having another bounce break morning. (So far a repeat of yesterday at +2.)
Ivy broke a bounce at am +2-3 yesterday, then went up all rest of day.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) you mentioned giving “higher carb” when she drops fast, so I just added a tsp of FF mc 15% & 2 drops karo mixed into her regular mc 12% lamb diet snack for +2.
Seem ok????

Yesterday at am +10 she began to drop so I fed a tsp of FF 13% mc and a few drops karo (about 2 hours prior to feed/shot time) to try to keep from diving preshot.
Question :
**What is the latest time before a feed/ shot I can give her a tsp of food & (or karo) to try to stop her drop so she doesn’t go so low that I can’t give her her insulin???

She’s a real bouncer as we know.
@Wendy&Neko @carfurby (GA) @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

 
I wouldn’t be resorting to Karo unless she’s going under 70. 213 is a perfectly safe and actually high number. If you want to slow down the drop, I’d just give her regular low carb food.

are you posting on the Lantus forum too?
 
:)
I wouldn’t be resorting to Karo unless she’s going under 70. 213 is a perfectly safe and actually high number. If you want to slow down the drop, I’d just give her regular low carb food.

are you posting on the Lantus forum too?
Hi Ale, I’ve been told to use karo and “higher” medium carb food to try to slow the drastic drops.
I know the numbers aren’t super low, it’s about the fast, deep dives I’m trying to find out how to slow them down.
This was my post on Lantus board.
 
:)
Hi Ale, I’ve been told to use karo and “higher” medium carb food to try to slow the drastic drops.
I know the numbers aren’t super low, it’s about the fast, deep dives I’m trying to find out how to slow them down.
This was my post on Lantus board.
Ah sorry I missed that just saw the tag. Okay, I’ll let Sienne chime in then :)
 
Nice blues. I hope she doesn't bounce tonight.
**What is the latest time before a feed/ shot I can give her a tsp of food & (or karo) to try to stop her drop so she doesn’t go so low that I can’t give her her insulin???
It depends on how sensitive she is to food. I wouldn't give karo close to shot time. You would most likely want to stick with low carb food so her number is not food influenced. A lot of people withhhold food in the 2 hour time window before shot time.
 
Nice blues. I hope she doesn't bounce tonight.

It depends on how sensitive she is to food. I wouldn't give karo close to shot time. You would most likely want to stick with low carb food so her number is not food influenced. A lot of people withhhold food in the 2 hour time window before shot time.
It was a nice blue stretch today. Looks like we may do another dip tonight. We are at + 4 and she’s been dropping and bobbling all evening so far. I don’t think we are done the drop yet.

Ivy isn’t very sensitive to carbs. Low carbs do nothing to bring her up. I’m feeding her a 12.5% homemade diet since her original 6% recipe wasn’t doing anything to bring her up.

I do try to withhold food 2 hours prior to feeding and shot time. But since she tends to dive fast and very low before the next shot time I wondered if there’s anything I should do to slow her drop. I can’t seem to get an answer to that question.
 
Back
Top