8/11 ELIAN - pmps 93; 46 +3 REDUCTION QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
So Elian dropped to 42 during the night so..... I re-read the reduction post and i do believe he qualified for another reduction, which I gave him this morning. (He's dx less than 1 yr and went below 50 one time.) Hope that's correct because I'm thrilled he's doing so well and down to 1 unit.

yesterday
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75

Even with all of his reductions E continues to surf the greens!!! Bought a second meter today - will test it out later and compare. Sure hope they dont disappoint me like scales - just when you think you've lost weight you get on a different scale only to find out yours isn't working properly!!!! ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75

Congrats on the reducie! Elian's SS looks AMAZING. :mrgreen:

Because meters are allowed a 20% variance, don't be surprised if the meters give you different numbers. As long as they aren't too far apart you're in good shape!
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75

Thanks - it will be interesting to see how different or alike they read. Will check it out soon.
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75; pmps 93

I'm having a hard time believing Elian is staying in the green considering not too long ago! I'm so proud of him. :-)
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75; pmps 93

It is pretty amazing to "watch" this happen, isn't it? I've seen a cat do this, come down the dose scale pretty quickly, many times here. And it never gets old for me. :mrgreen:

You should dish a little bit of the "proud" towards yourself too, Susie. You've had a lot to do with it. ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75; pmps 93; 46 +3 REDUCTION

Thanks so much Carl. Kinda looking forward to the day that I can tell the peeps in my life who have told me I'm crazy for doing what I ( and the rest of this group) do - getting up during the night; running home during the day; etc. that it was all worth it because he is OTJ. Just waiting for that day. I am convinced that it will be here before I know it!
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75; pmps 93; 46 +3 REDUCTION

Question - it's late, I'm tired to the point I can't see straight or remember where to find the answer (im pretty sure ive read it but dont remember where or the response) so I'm asking here....how many cycles must E stay at a reduced dose before getting another reduction? He got a reduction this morning and is on the second cycle at 1u but I just tested him and he is at 46 +3 which would qualify him since he hasn't been dx for a year yet. So does he get it or too soon? Thanks in advance for any info. Gotta go feed my little man again.
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75; pmps 93; 46 +3 REDUCTION

I think that the general thinking is that the depot can affect up to six cycles after a reduction? So yes, what you are seeing tonight could be "leftovers" from the prior higher dose. I mean, nothing is etched in stone, and every cat is different as far as how long the depot takes to "settle" to a lower (or higher) dose level.

There are folks here with tons more experience than I have, so give them time to chime in regarding the dose.
 
I thought I read that they stay at a dose for 5 or 6 cycles but they also say just one trip below 50 qualifies so I'm confuzzled! (Doesn't take much these days!) I will wait to see if anybody chimes in. In the meantime gonna grab 30 winks - until it's test time again. E just had some LC FF.
 
Re: 8/11 ELIAN - amps 98; 55 +4.75; pmps 93; 46 +3 REDUCTION

Carl & Bob said:
I think that the general thinking is that the depot can affect up to six cycles after a reduction? So yes, what you are seeing tonight could be "leftovers" from the prior higher dose. I mean, nothing is etched in stone, and every cat is different as far as how long the depot takes to "settle" to a lower (or higher) dose level.

There are folks here with tons more experience than I have, so give them time to chime in regarding the dose.
carl's right. you're seeing the residual effects of the insulin depot from the higher dose.

based on the 46 @ +3 & him not going any lower tonight... "if" you can bump his numbers up and keep them up easily, i would hold onto the dose for now. on the other hand, if you feel like you have to fight to keep his numbers up... take another reduction.

generally speaking, you don't want to take reductions too close together, but sometimes kitty has other ideas. always err on the side of caution.

make sense?
 
Good that you were able to apply the "brakes" using only LC food, Susie.
 
Carl - it's almost like he's making it too easy. I haven't had to pull out the HC at all lately - the LC FF ir Friskies seems to do the trick. I feed him and his brothers throughout the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top