8/10 Zener PMPS 143;+1 165;+2 150;+3 189 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/9/11

Yesterday's summary

08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u
+2 290
+6.5 331
+9 313
+11 347
PMPS 340 1st cycle at 1.75u
+1 352
+2 290
+3 260
left out 2t. 11% carb, 1/2 gone in morning
+11 155, freeze dried chicken treat

Today
08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off

Today is starting in the blue, and we shot the lowest BG we have done so far. We'll be around all day to monitor, though Mr Z is deciding to be a bit picky about his eating this morning, even the 11% carbs he has been eating so well. Will get a +2 and +3 and see how things go.
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 146;+1 184 lowest shot so far ATrak

Hi guys .. great job on shooting that blue amps! It's kinda scary each time you shoot a lower and lower amps, .. but it's good you'll be home to monitor .. make sure you eat up your fuds zener! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 146;+1 184 lowest shot so far ATrak

Thanks Peter, we are trying to get braver! Zener is a much better eater in the evenings than during the day. We'll keep after him and may have to go to higher carb if he won't eat.
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 146;+1 184 lowest shot so far ATrak

Nice shootin' there!

Glad you'll be around to keep a close eye.

Mr. Z, be a good kitty-boy and eat your food!
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 146;+1 184;+2 173 lowest shot so far AT

Thanks Sandy, we hope he "listens" to you. Right now, he is NOT interested in the 11% carb FF ck florentine so I tried the 8% FF flaked chicken and tuna - he ate a few bites.

Today
08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, fed 2 t. 8% carbs, ate a few bites

Will get a +3 and see how things are going.
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 146;+1 184;+2 173 lowest shot so far AT

Couldn't get a +3 because Zener has gone into hiding. I think he had enough of the pokes and the food pushing and got into one of his secret hiding places (well, he thinks it's secret) in the closet.
cat(2)_steam
Rather than move some things around and pull him out, I checked for alertness and purring, gave him a little food, which he licked and left him to come out on his own. He is out in his yard napping right now and we'll get a +6 shortly. Poor guy, I think he reached his limit this morning!
 
Re: 08/10 ZenerAMPS 146;1 184;2 173;+6 160 lowest shooting A

Zener was out and about for his +6 and even ate a little bit later this morning. Looks like a blue surf morning on the new dose.

Today
08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)

It's a warm day so kitty action consists 100% of snoozing, napping and resting.
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 08/10 ZenerAMPS 146;1 184;2 173;+6 160;+10 94 Dose helpA

It's been a blue day with a dip into green.

Today
08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)
+10 94, ate 2t 15%

This is our 2nd cycle at the increased dose, 1.75u, and not Zener's best eating day. We resorted to higher carb food mid-day to get him to eat as he had not eaten much earlier in his cycle. Now, he is at 94 @ +10. I know we have two hours to go, but we are thinking through all our options if he is not back up or still dropping at shot time. Any advice is appreciated!
 
Re: 08/10 ZenerAMPS 146;1 184;2 173;+6 160;+10 94 Dose helpA

I'm afraid you'll have to wait and see where he is at PMPS. Lots can happen in 2 hours. Great cycle today!
 
Re: 08/10 ZenerAMPS 146;1 184;2 173;6 160;10 94;11 117 Dose?

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm afraid you'll have to wait and see where he is at PMPS. Lots can happen in 2 hours. Great cycle today!

Thanks Libby, we are delighted to see a blue day! Wish the green would have been earlier in the cycle, but "asking ain't gittin' ". Here's the latest:


08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)
+10 94, ate 2t 15%
+11 117

Will get his BG in another hour and go from there. I'll post it to the list for advice then.
 
Re: 8/10ZnrAMPS146;1 184;2 173;6 160;10 94;11 117;12 110 HEL

Here's where we are at +12:

08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)
+10 94, ate 2t 15%
+11 117
+12 110

We have not fed him, are going to test again in 20 minutes and see if we can catch his rise, then shoot. Any suggestions or advice is welcome!!! We shot the lowest BG we had ever done this morning at 146.
 
Re: 8/10ZnrAMPS146;1 184;2 173;6 160;10 94;11 117;12 110 HEL

hi anne/liz! your choices are either to stall and wait til he comes up to shoot or to skip the shot. if it's just now shot time, i'd recommend you just wait (don't feed him) and see how he is in another 1/2 hr. if you shoot late then that becomes your shot time - but you know he's too low to shoot him now.

what are you thinking about it?
 
Re: 8/10ZnrAMPS146;1 184;2 173;6 160;10 94;11 117;12 110 HEL

julie1220 said:
hi anne/liz! your choices are either to stall and wait til he comes up to shoot or to skip the shot. if it's just now shot time, i'd recommend you just wait (don't feed him) and see how he is in another 1/2 hr. if you shoot late then that becomes your shot time - but you know he's too low to shoot him now.

what are you thinking about it?

We just got a 20 minute BG, so +12.3 and it was 108, so he is staying steady at the moment. So, we're thinking about waiting another 30 minutes and testing again and see where he is. We have managed not to feed him, and he is getting very disatisfied with us, poking often and NO food!

Jeez, we had just gotten him back to our work schedule time too!
 
Re: 8/10 Zener +12 110; +12.3 DOSE HELP AT

Sorry I can't fit all his numbers in the subject line anymore. Not sure about the correct format when this happens, so I hope this makes sense.
 
Re: 8/10 Zener +12 110; +12.3 108; +12.9 107 DOSE HELP AT

08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)
+10 94, ate 2t 15%
+11 117
+12 110
PMGB +12.3 108
+12.9 107

Still stalling, we'll get another BG in 30 minutes. Have managed not to feed him yet. We can probably stall for another hour, but then we will have to go with no shot, if the numbers are not on the way up.
 
Re: 8/10 Zener +12 110; +12.3 108; +12.9 107 DOSE HELP AT

what you're doing on the subject line is fine. i'm not sure if you have a specific question - you have "dose help" there - are you asking if you should change his dose?

i think the basic thing you're doing is waiting until he's high enough to shoot, or if it goes too long at some point you can make the decision to skip his shot.
 
Re: 8/10 Zener PMBG +12 110; +12.3 108; +12.9 107 DOSE HELP

Ah, I forgot to put this in the message text, yes, I do have a question. I know if we end up shooting when the numbers come up, we use that as our new shot time. But, if we skip a shot, do we start over tomorrow at the regular dose?
 
Re: 8/10 Zener PMBG +12 110; +12.3 108; +12.9 107 DOSE HELP

Zener is surfing. If you want to shoot a reduced dose, that's fine. If you'd rather skip, that's fine too.

If you skip, you can shoot at whatever time you want in the morning and you shot your regular dose.
 
Re: 8/10 Zener PMBG +12 110; +12.3 108; +12.9 107 DOSE HELP

Sienne and Gabby said:
Zener is surfing. If you want to shoot a reduced dose, that's fine. If you'd rather skip, that's fine too.

If you skip, you can shoot at whatever time you want in the morning and you shot your regular dose.

It's great to see Zener surfing in the blues with a touch of green, that's a first for us. We discussed about reducing his dose but it was already an hour past what would have been his shot time. So, we went on with the stall. We decided if he was still surfing on our next BG test, then we would skip.

When we tested his BG at +13.5 it was 143, almost exactly his AMPS, so we shot the regular 1.75, well probably more of a skinny 1.75. I still struggle with getting the doses measured between the lines and between bubbles and angles, I'm not quite confident in my measuring. We got a magnifying light to help us do these sorts of doses and that should help.

So, now our shot time tonight becomes our new time tomorrow. Looks like we will be working him back to our work schedules once again. Keeping paws crossed we don't have this same excitement in the AM. Will get a +1 and +2 tonight and see how things look. Thanks Sienne!
 
Re: 8/10 Zener PMPS 143;+1 165 A Trak

Boy howdy, what a day - all five Ps in place and after such a blue day, it's almost like having the old Zener back!

08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)
+10 94, ate 2t 15%
+11 117
+12 110
PMGB +12.3 108
+12.9 107
PMPS 143 - we held off for 1.5 hours and no food, so gave s1.75u, fed 2t. 11%
+1 165 - turned his nose up at the 11%, added 1t 15% and he ate that - opted for the little higher since he needed to eat

Will get a +2 and see how things look.
 
Re: 8/10 Zener PMPS 143;+1 165 A Trak

i just want to say kudos to you both for how you've mastered helping zener. he has a lot of stuff going on and it just seems like you guys do a super job with him. i'm so glad to hear he's more like the old zener. just super!
 
Re: 8/10 Zener PMPS 143;+1 165 A Trak

Gosh thanks Julie, we sure don't feel like masters of anything yet - well, maybe masters of disaster! :-D about to get his PM +2, paws crossed it still looks good!
 
Re: 8/10 Zener PMPS 143;+1 165;+2 150 A Trak

Things are looking steady and blue. Finally, @ +2 he is eating and not just licking food! Found a very large dried up black Zener hairball outside on the back porch tonight, so he is grooming enough to have a hairball. Big improvement.

08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)
+10 94, ate 2t 15%
+11 117
+12 110
PMGB +12.3 108
+12.9 107
PMPS 143 - we held off for 1.5 hours and no food, so gave s1.75u, fed 2t. 11%
+1 165 - turned his nose up at the 11%, added 1t 15% and he ate that - opted for the little higher since he needed to eat
+2 150 - tried a little FF tuna florentine, 13%, and he ate like a lumberjack, 1.5oz (1/2 can)

I'll get a +3 to make sure he isn't taking the express elevator. Glad he is eating! :thumbup
 
Still blue @ +3.

08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u, fed 2t 11% carbs
+1 184, fed 2 t. 11% carbs, being very picky and only licked the fortiflora off
+2 173, ate 1/2 t 8%
+4 1t 10%
+5 1t 10%
+6 160, ate 1/2 t 18% (he ate this, I thought it was the 8%)
+10 94, ate 2t 15%
+11 117
+12 110
PMGB +12.3 108
+12.9 107
PMPS 143 - we held off for 1.5 hours and no food, so gave s1.75u, fed 2t. 11%
+1 165 - turned his nose up at the 11%, added 1t 15% and he ate that - opted for the little higher since he needed to eat
+2 150 - tried a little FF tuna florentine, 13%, and he ate like a lumberjack, 1.5oz (1/2 can)
+3 189 - liking the tuna, 1 oz.

I'm okay with this direction so off to bed. Liz will get +10/+11 in AM and see where things are. Goodnight. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top