8/10 Willie PMPS 102, +2.5~76 back from vet.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

I missed it Monday, but Willie has now been OnTJ for 8 months. My boy is happy and healthy, and I could not be more grateful.

Cool, cloudy day here today... opening up the house and smiling at my boy constantly sniffing the breeze. About to let him outside for awhile as today is my work at home day. Just realized I do have a couple patches of grass that need mowing, so I might take care of those over lunch, then I have a groupon for a dumpling place expiring today, so I think I'll hit it up for dinner (or dumplings for lunch, mowing tonight?).

Going to call and schedule a vet visit for Willie. In checking on a couple things for Jan and Sara, I read online that cats on cyclosporine should have bloodwork done every 6 months as the meds can cause kidney and liver issues, and we're right at 6 months. Actually is a good thing... the vet clinic we're at now for day to day stuff has two vets, and the vet that gave Willie his rabies shot is primarily a surgeon. I'd like to have Willie meet with the vet who works with the diabetes patients and make sure we're on the same page and also just have him on file as having been seen for that so we don't have any issues with getting insulin refills. They are only about 2 minutes from the house, which makes things soooooo easy.

Okay, gotta get to work! Have a great day, everyone!
 
Re: 8/10 Willie AMPS 127, +2~97

Nice to hear how well Willie is doing -- Good Job Mom! Like your plan with the vet too! Enjoy, take care & keep us posted!!
 
Re: 8/10 Willie AMPS 127, +2~97

Good morning! Great numbers for Willie today! Yum on the dumpling place. I love groupons. I would definitely do dumplings for lunch and mow this evening.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 8/10 Willie AMPS 127, +2~97

I'm leaning towards lunch... though I'd have to change out of the yoga pants and tank top I'm currently wearing... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/10 Willie AMPS 127, +2~97

Hi guys .. very nice numbers for willie today .. hopefully the vet visit goes well and all blood work comes back in the normal range .. I would also vote for going out to lunch and then mowing .. in hopes that something comes up so I wouldn't have to mow :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/10 Willie AMPS 127, +2~97

Very pretty numbers for Willie! He sure is loving his new house!

Boy, decisions, decisions! Add having to get dressed into the mix and it gets really tough! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/10 Willie AMPS 127, +2~97

i don't know - if i were going to a dumpling place for lunch i might like to have on stretchy pants! :lol:

sounds like a lot of good reasons to get willie in to see the new vet. he sure is doing great right now - a nice run of numbers and looking like a green day!
 
Re: 8/10 Willie PMPS 102 back from vet.

Willie's vet was able to get us in this evening, so I took him in for bloodwork and a meet/greet with the female vet in the practice. She is very nice, though she does not at all seem familiar with tight regulation and got all panicky weird when I talked about dose adjustments, despite my repeated insistence that I was following a version of a published protocol. I'll be taking some reading material for her when I drop off a copy of Willie's diet this week. We should have the blood work results back in a few days. Willie was, as always, a charming gentleman, though he was pretty squirmy during the blood draw. They were amazed that he happily had treats afterwards. Both car rides (each approximately 3 minutes) were filled with tales of horrible woe. All is better now that we are home and first dinner has been consumed. The bean is going to run off for dumplings then may try to get some more work done at home tonight.

Caught Willie on video tonight telling his tale of starvation woe. That boy. Will be posting in Loose Lips shortly!
 
Re: 8/10 Willie PMPS 102 back from vet.

Hi Christie, hope all goes well with Willie's results. That's great they got you in the same day! So how was the Groupon dumpling lunch or dinner? I've seen the Groupon ads pop up on my computer and have been tempted to join. Hope it was good.
 
Re: 8/10 Willie PMPS 102 back from vet.

Where is this dumpling place you speak of? I don't remember any Groupons for dumplings! The last couple I got were for Tasty Thai out north...I used those up pretty quickly. They have the best (cheap!) Thai around!


Glad Willie is doing well....I have yet to find a Vet that doesn't panic when they see Kazi's spreadsheet. Anything within 'normal' range seems to make them anxious, but the upper 200s are 'good'. :roll:
 
Re: 8/10 Willie PMPS 102 back from vet.

Nice day, Christie, and you got the dumplings, too! Amazing that vets don't know much about feline diabetes/tight regulation/etc. The new vet I am thinking of going to prescribes Humulin N for her feline diabetics. She didn't know Lantus, much less Levemir (But I sense that she is open to new ideas; of course, we haven't been there yet with Rusty. The vet's "audition" will be sometime in September, when I take Rusty for bloodwork and a wellness profile.

Enjoy the evening. Nice numbers today, Willie.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/10 Willie PMPS 102 back from vet.

LOL Amanda. Groupon has been rough on the restaurant front lately. This one was from Po's but it was a year ago, and expiring today! Of course, because it was a great local business and the service was great, I ordered more than the groupon amount and tipped generously, so on a $15 groupon trip I was out $20. Food was amazing though, and I think I have enough pork and mustard green noodles to last me a few days! Ann-- you should check groupon out! If you end up not using it, they will give you groupon credit to use on a future purchase!

Ella, our vet went from Humulin to Lantus, so I'm glad that she appreciates that lantus is a) very different, b) long lasting and c) needs consistency, but I suspect her approach is extremely conservative when it comes to dosecreases. I hope that all goes well at Rusty's "audition" next month!

Libby-- you have no idea how relieved I am! After getting off course with refill delays and fur shots, i was worried we wouldn't be able to get back to a state of ANY regulation, let alone TR! So thankful that 1.0u was the magic number!!
 
Hi guys! I am glad that the meet and greet went well. I now on vets... and the education... been there too. I like mine, but she really didn't know lantus well at all, and TR? uh no..... and she thinks I test way to much, well :lol: she may have a point there...

Nice numbers today willie! looking good!

nice on the dumplings.... yum!
 
Great to hear all was fine at the vet and hopefully all the bloodwork will be gorgeous.

Could you please send me the link to the cyclosporine info you found? You know Gracie has been on topical cyclosporine and her ALT has been hovering just out of normal range. I don't know if topical can have the same effect as oral and wonder if it's addressed in the article?

Thanks, Christie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top