8/10 Racci AMpS-138,3-30,4-38,6-43,9.5-136,PMPS-173,3-154

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76761
8/9-Racci-AMPS-118,+3-70,+5.5-75,PMPS-98,+3-115

Happy Friday! Racci had a mostly green day yesterday. I don't know if today will be the same though. It's been a crazy day today and hasn't gone too well for her. She had a nice early poop today which is great but every time the house cleaners are here they turn her lb the wrong way and Racci goes by smell and winds up pooing where she should be peeing, in the front of the lb, and then stepping in it getting out of the box! Luckily it wasn't too much of a mess today since she's been a little constipated and it was firmer than usual, but still stuck in her foot with pellets too and a few footprints in the house! After the cleanup, I gave her meds and she had an asthma attack and another one after.

With all that going on she didn't finish her meds or her food so I just gave her the bulk of her food and have to give her meds now so she gets the rest of them. I couldn't see what her bottom looked like when cleaning it since she was so upset about her foot being cleaned so still have to check that and do a better job. I'm off to finish Racci for the morning an if it's time yet, give another test.

TTYL,

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!

Racci wouldn't eat with her shot and she ate her 3rd breakfast about 1 1/2 hrs later instead. That should have been enough to keep her from getting that low but it wasn't! I just fed her again with hc dry treats and lc small meal. Will check her again in about half an hour.

This didn't go, sorry. Just checked again about 15 min ago -38. I'm being slowed down with testing because of her asthma today. It's bad and she's having attacks when bothered. :sad:
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38

Hi Melanie, wow, what I day I picked to visit. Sorry I haven't been on since probably two weeks ago, and so I'm trying to get around to visiting today.

I hope Racci stays safe today, and her Asthma is better.

Try to have a good weekend!
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38

Woah, Racci, that's quite low enough!! Great catch, Melanie. You sound like you've got this - I'm in bed already but if you need/want company I'll get back up. (Not sure who else is around at the minute.)
Jane
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38

Thanks so much Jane. We'll be ok. You can go on to bed. I've done this enough times to be able to do it alone by now and there are usually a lot of people around in the daytime. I'm going to be slow getting back and forth because of her asthma anyway. I have to go slow with feeding her and handling her. She's started going up already and it's almost the 6th hour.

I've had to leave in the middle of typing this message twice already because fo her asthma. Thanks for the offer to stay awake. Very much appreciated. Sleep well.
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38

Hi Barb,

I typed a whole reply to you and lost it! It's good to hear from you. What have you been doing with yourself? Anything fun and exciting? How's Daphne doing? I missed you.

You're right about it being crazy here today! I haven't had a chance to check on anyone else yet as Racci has had me super busy with her asthma and low bg, are others as nuts today too?

Keep in touch! Send me a note once in a while.

Take care! I have to post Racci's new bg. TTYL,

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38,+6-43

How's Racci doing?

One thought -- rather than giving a HC dry treat, will Racci eat gravy or can you add some Karo or honey to her LC food? The gravy or syrup will act more quickly than a dry treat. Especially on a day like today when her asthma is flaring, getting her numbers up more quickly may be helpful.
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38,+6-43

Hi Sienne,

I'm going to wake her and test again now. I hate to wake her. The asthma finally settled down and she is breathing normally as she sleeps now. After the last test, she had dinner and more hc treats and it was also at the time when she should have normally started going up, +6, so I'm hoping she went up to 60 or so at least. She also made another nice big poop, which I'm sure made her feel better. She had been a little constipated again.

She won't eat the karo or honey willingly but I can make her take it. I just don't want to upset her and possibly cause another asthma attack. I would love to see her numbers go up more though so I don't have to skip or give an adjusted shot tonight. I'm out of honey but do have some real maple syrup and corn syrup. I could syringe it or put some on her gums. I'll see what her bg is when I test her now. I want to try to feed some more lc too so she isn't hungry too close to ps time.

Thanks Sienne. That's a great idea. I'll be back in about 30 - 45 minutes.
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38,+6-43,+9.5-136

It looks like all the hc caught up with her at once and she went way up. The asthma meds probably had something to do with it too. She didn't want to eat so hopefully it will still be high at shot time. I'm sorry I woke her now. She was breathing well and having a nice nap and now she's having attacks again. I may take her in the bathroom with me when I run my bath and run all the faucets to make a steam room for her.
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38,+6-43,+9.5-136

I would try to find something other than the dry HC treats. It's hard to know if this is a bounce starting or the effect of the treats. It just takes so much longer for the dry stuff to get into a cat's system. What about putting a drop of Karo, maple syrup or honey on a LC treat?
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38,+6-43,+9.5-136

Hugs to you Melanie, and Racci. What a rough day. :sad: Sending breathing vines to Racci.
Liz
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38,+6-43,+9.5-136

Wow! Racci earned a reducie! Sending the easy breathing vines to Racci!
Melaine, I used to DiY a "steam room" for my ChinChin who has breathing problem. I put her inside a hard plastic carrier & attach the steam machine to it. Because the steam is very concentrated, her breathing will be easier in sec. I'll try to take a pic for you sometime.
Take care!
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,+3-30!,+4-38,+6-43,+9.5-136,PMPS-173

Finally finished with meds and shot but I'm going to have to try feeding again. She wasn't hungry yet. I couldn't entice her to eat.

Thanks Liz, It's been a rough day and will be a rough night too. I can't sleep when I know she's having trouble breathing. I wind up checking on her constantly and having nightmares when I do fall off. :sad:

Sienne, I wish I could find an lc treat she would eat. If you know of any that aren't freeze-dried, please let me know. She doesn't like the freeze dried. She won't willingly eat the syrup. I have to force that. I agree that the dry hc takes too long and is too hard to judge though. I think next time I will use the maple syrup. I'll just use my finger and put it on her gums. How much syrup at a time is good? Thanks!

Helen, I won't be reducing. This was a combination of not eating and the meds that caused it. I just have to be more careful when she gets extra meds and make sure she eats. Your steamer sounds like a good idea. I don't use the hard carriers though. I have some in the shed that I could go clean up but nothing handy. I use sherpa bags for her. She wouldn't like it though. I think it would be easier on Racci to just put her in the bathroom with me. She won't cry that way and have an attack. She cries in her carrier because she thinks she's going to the vet. Thank you, good idea and thanks for the healing vines.

Thank you all for the support. I don't know why Racci is having such a hard time with asthma this summer. I'm very upset about it. Maybe its all the rain? It's rained almost every day! I wish it would go rain where we need it!
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,3-30,4-38,6-43,9.5-136,PMPS-173,3-15

Wow, what a stressful night you went through. It seems like stress aggravates Racci's asthma....is that what it is? It's gotta be so scary to see an asthma attack. Can't you just give her a puff of albuterol? I thought that's what it's for? I have it for an emergency for Merlin but I've never had to use it. Hang in there!
 
Re: 8/10 Racci AMpS-138,3-30,4-38,6-43,9.5-136,PMPS-173,3-15

WHOOO HOOO A REDUCIE!!!!!Good Going Racci!!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT Have a great Caturday!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top