8/10 Max PMPS~132+5~120+11~92+11.5~89AMPS~80

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
I'm afraid to shoot 0.75 with this fast dropping going on. Should I be? (EDITED to add info that has been deleted from the Headline:) Skipped AM Shot +10~121 +11~94

I can be here, test, feed, I have all supplies -- strips, two meters; strips for both meters, HC food and Karo. I fed him a little over 2 hour ago, he has not eaten since, and right now he's eating a little more on his own -- although I had to bring him to the bowl. He didn't come on his own as he used to after being deprived for 2 hours.

Shot time was 3 minutes ago.

Sorry for not posting last night. The baby has her first cold. Her fever is gone, but she cries unless she is sleeping right next to me every minute. She wakes up when I do to test Max, and I have to listen to her cry the whole time I am testing. I'm sorry if you worried. I really am. I'm just trying to balance all of this.
 
Re: Help please! 8/10 Max +10~121 +11~94 AMPS~68

If he has eaten, you shouldn't shoot. In a situation like this you need to hold the food and stall to make sure he is rising before giving his shot. I hope someone who can stay with you and advise comes on soon, because I can't stay. But please don't shoot now.
 
Re: Help please! 8/10 Max +10~121 +11~94 AMPS~68 +12.25~67

Thank you, Linda. I won't shoot until I hear from someone that it is safe. If the shot time gets pushed forward that's ok.

I know, I should not have fed him. I forgot that. For the future and to learn more, I'll tell you that he ate LC food and IF that doesn't hit the system until 30 minutes after eating, he's leveling out without food influence. The 67 I got 15 minutes after he ate the last time is showing he's stable? Or not? The AMPS is above 50, and if he had been rising to that numbeer, I could have given him the full dose, right? Because he was falling, I couldn't. In any event, even if I get a rising number 15 minutes after the 67, it won't tell me that I can shoot because I fed him instead of waiting. We will just have to deal with the shot time being pushed forward or skip it altogether.

I should not have, I realize now, let him eat at +9.75. I should have waited until +10 to feed him, right? His +10 could have been influenced by food he ate only 15 minutes before even if it was LC?
 
Re: Help please! 8/10 Max +10~121 +11~94 AMPS~68 +12.25~67

Hi Dale,
I can't quite come to grips with your situation, but I can offer the opinion that if I were you, I would skip the shot. What kind of a feeding schedule are you on? Generally speaking, we don't feed between +10 and PS because the PS will be food-influenced. I am confused because you are suggesting that you need to feed Max at +10? Anyway, it might be best just to skip this shot and see what advice the very experienced beans give you.

Sorry not to be of any real help.

Ella
 
Re: Help please! 8/10 Max +10~121 +11~94 AMPS~68 +12.25~67

Hi Dale, I am too new to give advice. That said, I am looking at Max's spreadsheet and looks like he has been relatively steady as the day passes so you can use his chart to think about how low he might go. You can also think about how closely you can watch him today and feed him up from a low if that happens. I know you have your hands full and more! As a newbie my instinct is hesitate about shooting low, but I have come to realize maintaining the regimen might be the more conservative choice. I hope the wise ones will be here soon to help you figure this out.
 
Re: Help please! 8/10 Max +10~121 +11~94 AMPS~68 +12.25~67

Dale, rough decision when Emma is down with a cold and you're dealing with her. If you skip the shot, at least Max is only going up to low 100 numbers, and that would give you a breather to deal with Emma.

Hope your little girl feels better soon!

Suze
 
Re: Help please! 8/10 Max +10~121 +11~94 AMPS~68 +12.25~67

Hi Dale, hang in there! I have PM'ed Sienne, Marje and Jill so hopefully you'll have their input too soon. I can't access any spreadsheets right now and don't want to advise without that, plus my iphone is acting up and I'm not certain I have understood your feedng schedule etc. I'm really sorry! I hope you have help arriving soon! So sorry abou Emma's cold too! Hugs

Jane
 
Re: Help please! 8/10 Max +10~121+11~94AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~6

No worries! It was, of course, the right thing to do to not shoot, and without an expert giving me an answer, and a reason for the answer that makes sense to me, I will always do the most conservative thing. That is always to NOT shoot because once the insulin is in, you can't get it back out. If you don't shoot when you "could have" no big problem -- better than the alternative.

As far as feeding, my only object is to avoid feeding him at a time that it will influence the pre-shot reading and make me think he is rising naturally when in fact he's starting a food spike. If I do that, and I give him a full dose when he is actually going to drop further when the spike resolves, I could give him too much insulin, the shed could overflow. Then, I'll have to worry and nurse him through the day.

Right now his insulin needs are plummeting, and I never know when they are going to drop further or by how much. I want to keep him in a range that is letting him get insulin reductions, but not require major effort on my part just in case I were to mess up and miss a low BG for too long. I don't want an ER trip, as no one does!
 
Re: Skipped 8/10 Max +10~121+11~94AMP~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.2

Dale

Gosh...I was on earlier and then got off to take care of some things but I think it's a good idea that you skipped since Emma is sick. Since he's flat in the 60s, why don't you give both of you a break and let him go an hour or hour/half to test to just make sure he's not coming down more.

This will also allow you to get back on your 9/9 shot time....is that what you want to do? If so, I'll be sure I'm on at your +11 and +12 to walk you through anything.

Do not reduce the dose, though. There are some that believe if you have to skip a shot, you have to reduce the dose. That is only if the number was below 50 and wasn't coming up (newly diagnosed cat). So, for right now, plan to hold the dose when you shoot tonight, ok? He may be getting close to another reduction but let's see how he does today and we can always make adjustments later once we get the +11 if we need to.

Try to get some rest today...I'm sure you and Emma...and Max...could use it. Hugs!! Sending Emma healing vines.
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59

I'm going to let him get to below 50 before I encourage him to eat, I think. Unless there is some reason I shouldn't? I won't necessarily consider this a reason to reduce the dose, but I'd like to see what happens when I have skipped the shot AND I'm not feeding him. I want to see if he eats on his own or if he lets his BG drop below 50. I feel I need to know this information.

EDITED TO ADD:
It's quite hot here -- 88 in the shade. He may not eat unless I take him into the one air conditioned room we have. I'll not do that until I find out what his BG is going to do and whether he goes to the food bowl by himself.

EDITED TO ADD:
Thanks, Marje. No problem. I didn't post his +10 and +11 in time for anyone to see it and chime in. I posted all of that after I took the Amps test. I can't expect any "timely" help under those circumstances, can I? ;-) I was NOT expecting to see a dropping number this morning after skipped shots on the evenings of 8/7 and 8/8.

Emma's fine. She playful and happy today. She just can't breathe and drink at the same time, it makes her cry when she has to stop drinking to breathe, and she LOSES HER MIND when I try to suction out her nose!
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59

I would strongly encourage you to NOT feed at +10. In fact, I would not feed Max after +8. I suspect that what you're running into is that you're feeding and the food is stimulating Max's pancreas. As a result, he's producing insulin and his pre-shot number drops. The numbers are then low enough at shot time that you're reticent to shoot.
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59

Sienne wrote:

I suspect that what you're running into is that you're feeding and the food is stimulating Max's pancreas. As a result, he's producing insulin and his pre-shot number drops. The numbers are then low enough at shot time that you're reticent to shoot.

I would not have thought of that. Very interesting. Thanks.
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59

Marje, I'm not sure whether I want to be on the 9/9 shot time or not. I'll think about that, and let you know. Maybe I will, in fact, want to do that. I gather that would be best for you, too?
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59+16.75~63

My experiment seems to have worked despite the fact that by the time he wanted food, if he did before +16.75, I missed it. (Three different things happened to distract me in a row, and I was not able to be with him from at least +15.75 to +16.75. He didn't have food available. I had to shut the door at +16, and he was outside when I did it.)

If his BG went lower than 59 between +15.75 and +16.75, and his liver took over to provide any of his glucose needs, I missed that. He was at 63 at +16.75. So, if he's been cruising here between 59 and 63, he's doing it on his own. He DID want food -- without any prodding from me -- when I opened the door at +16.75 and tested his blood.

That is good news. It makes me more comfortable with thinking that if I do not give a shot at the AMPS or PMPS, I do not have to worry too much for the next 4 hours, AND that he will eat if food is available to him without any direction from me when his BG is still in the 60s. It is probably only when he has had a shot at the last shot time that he will fall to below 50. That is the way is should be.
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59+4.75~63

Wow Dale, very impressive today with the numbers and with the food experiment.
Sorry little Emma is sick. Sending some feel better vines for her.
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59+4.75~63

Ann,

Yes, it's interesting, isn't it? However, both my husband and I have noticed that if his BG is in the 40s, he has to be encouraged to eat even to the point of it being pushed on him more than once. He has always taken it if the spoon is shoved in his face a second or third time. What is worrisome is what if he's getting too much insulin or the shed is overflowing and his BG drops fast through the 60s and 50s? He might get to the 40s quickly and then and not go his bowl on his own. I really can't just relax even if I didn't give a shot; not when he's earning reductions right and left and getting numbers like this without an AM shot, huh? What a ride! I'll be so glad when it's over! :?
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59+4.75~63

Dale

You tell me what shot time works best for you. I do Gracie at 7/7 and you and I are on the same time zone. Mornings are usually pretty busy for me because I have all three cats hollering but there are others up in the morning. If you want to shoot 7/7, I can help you at night as it only takes me a few minutes to do Gracie. So pick what time works for you.....especially because I am not on every single night...tues/wed are tough since I work Wed but there are others who can help. You have more on your plate than I do.
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59+4.75~63

Thanks, Marje, I'll stick with 9/9. Thank you. I won't give him the shot if I get up late, and I don't have the info I need or if for any reason I'm not comfortable, but yet you haven't been able to get back to me because I posted late or whatever else might be going on with you and your brood -- don't worry about that.

I'm pretty concerned about his blood readings today. Not that he's in trouble today, but it seems that he's going faster and faster toward needing very little insulin. I guess this is how it is, and until you have been through it once, you aren't prepared or comfortable with it, but you have to do it anyway. I don't think I could "abort his mission" even if I wanted to, now. Not that I do want to, but I have to say I wish I could just stop giving insulin, and he would stop needing it without this push and pull of going down in a precarious way to .01 unit. I suppose that's the way everyone has felt who has experienced this.
 
Re: 8/10 AMPS~68+12.25~67+13~61+13.25~63+14.25~59+4.75~63

I know...I'm sorry....I try to look for you as soon as I get on the board but sometimes we miss each other. I'll be sure to watch for you at 8 tonight to see where he is.

I know it's grueling and it could get even more so. When Mocha came down the dosing scale, it was fast, fast, fast. It seemed like every cycle or so, she was throwing 30s at Devon and Peter. It might not have been THAT drastic but seemed like it. Yes, Max is on a mission but we just need to keep taking him down; we may need to do a bigger hop down at some point like we did before. But you want him to have the best chance of getting to and staying in remission so we try to keep him on insulin as long as it is safe to do it.

Hang in there...I see a light at the end of your tunnel :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/10 Max +14.25~59+16.75~63+19.5~86+22.25~110

I'm watching :-D

Dale...how are things there? How's Emma feeling and do you think her cold will keep her up? How rested are you? What are your thoughts on what you'd like to do...other than just stop the insulin :lol:
 
Re: 8/10 Max +14.25~59+16.75~63+19.5~86+22.25~110

Hi Dale,

The baby has her first cold. Her fever is gone, but she cries unless she is sleeping right next to me every minute.
I hope she feels better really soon. Nothing worse than a baby crying when they don't feel well. It might be hard to fathom, but 20 years from now, you will really miss those "sleeping next to me" nights even when you don't get much sleep while they're happening. My daughter is 25 and moved half a country away, but she still calls me when she feels like crap and I wish I could turn back the clock 25 years...

Carl
 
Re: 8/10 Max +14.25~59+16.75~63+19.5~86+22.25~110

Hi, Marjorie,

Max is at 122 at +23.25. (EDITED: 23.25 NOT 22.25) He hasn't had anything to Eat-Eat since +22.25, but may have had a little snack at 19.5 (about 5 and 1/2 hours before shot time.)

I'm tired, and did not get a nap today. It's been an emotional day, too. Emma is doing fine, but I don't know how she will sleep. You know how if you have a cold, you feel better when you go to bed. But then, in the early morning you wake up feeling like someone has put little socks on all your teeth and stuffed gummy bears up your nose? It's probably similar for a baby, and she's coughing a little more today. She must have stuff in her lungs that is ready to come out.

I would love to skip, ha ha. Probably a bad idea though.
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122

Dale

You have options and you do have to consider you and Emma. I do think he had such low numbers today because of depot. He was just starting to refill the depot, I believe. You can see it took him a couple cycles from the skipped shot on 8/8.

--you can shoot the .75u and definitely get him back on track. I have no idea if he will come down tonight. Or he might do what he did after the last skipped shot....stay in blue for a bit and then come down.

--you can shoot .5u; again..no guarantees but you would be getting insulin in him and he might like the dose.

-- you can skip....but be prepared in case his numbers go up. Here is where you have to weigh your and Emma's health/needs against the possibility that his numbers will go up. How high? I have no idea it he's doing so well that I would be surprised if he went into yellow.....but I have nothing to document that.

I do think that if you reduce or skip, he will get back on track. You might have to deal with a few wonky numbers but it's an option.

Just let me know. I'll hang with you tonight if you decide to shoot.
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122

I think I can shoot if his number isn't falling at 9:00 which is in 20 minutes. I doubt it will be. I would rather not post in the night unless his numbers go below 50, and I have to get up and start feeding him; is that okay or will you worry? You can be honest. I'll post for you if you want me to. I won't ask you for advice and then refuse to post for you.

I am getting better at sleeping and getting DH involved in testing him in the night, etc. We all have to stay in the same room right now because of the heat and the fact that we only have one room air conditioned. So the alarm goes off, I nudge the Hubs, and he tests.

I'm not sure I got the spreadsheet right. It is 8:37 right now. So I could not have an +11.25 before 8:45! Oh, jeez, but at least for a shot time of 9:00, I have info whether the number is rising or falling. I'll fix the ss.
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122

I won't worry....you know how to handle low numbers. I just thought I'd give you moral support. I'd rather you focus on you all and not whether I need you to post.

If all is quiet....I will go to bed at midnight and if you have any problems, I bet Jane will be around.

So I just want to help you in a way that you need...not me :-D
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122

I'm watching too, in between lightning induced power outages. I got sick of the two second long outages rebooting the computer so I switched to my tablet. I'm good unless my router gets cut off:-)
Carl
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122

Thanks a million. I'll test in about 10 minutes and shoot if he's rising. If he's not I'll stall for no more than 15, and test again. See you soon.
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122

His number was 132, and I gave him 0.75. Hopefully, I won't need to be up, but if I do, that will be a good thing, as well.
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122

Great job. I'll be cruising LL a while. I hope it's a nice, flat night for you and that you and Emma get some rest.
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122PMPS~132

Thank you, Marjorie. An hour passes so fast, but I'll try to get some shut eye. Have a great night, and tell Gracie what a cute stink eye she has, the little munchkinesque thing. Hee hee. I saw Scottish Folds just last year for the first time. So adorable. . . . and they can read! That's pretty amazing! :o
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122PMPS~132

You're welcome. They are adorable....and smart, too!

Have a good night. See you tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/10 Max 19.5~86+22.25~110+23.25~122PMPS~132

Hello, It is one hour prior to shot time, and Max's reading is 92. He has not eaten for 3 hours. At +0.75 his reading was 145; +2 was 126 and +5 was 120. I'll check him at +11.5 and then AMPS.

(Hope you are well, Marje)
 
Re: 8/10 Max PMPS~132+5~120+11~92

The cycle resembles the night before, only a little lower towards the end. On previous blue pm cycles this week, he seems to have an exciting am cycle the next day.
How are you this morning, and how is Emma?
Carl
 
Re: 8/10 Max PMPS~132+5~120+11~92

Hi, Carl. How's my FDMB buddy today?

I am fine. I really slept well. My husband tested Max for the first two after-shot tests last night, and then came to bed and said he was okay. I got up at +5, tested Max and fed him. Emma has been awake off and on all night. She's coughing and pretty irritable when she wakes up, but last night she went right back to sleep after she had some milk.

How are you and the fur ball?

(Plus 11.5 is 89)
 
Re: 8/10 Max PMPS~132+5~120+11~92+11.5~89

Hi,
Do you have a vaporizer for Emma?

Every time my kids had colds/respiratory issues , the dr always wanted one in the room with them.
I would also close the door to the bathroom and give them an extra steaming while I showered.

Anything to help break up the congestion.....


Max is doing great!
 
Re: 8/10 Max PMPS~132+5~120+11~92+11.5~89

All is well here. My guys have recovered from last night's t-storms which shook the house a few times. Bob spent a lot of time hiding in spaces I didn't know he could fit into! I'm gonna have to go look for some smoking trees because a couple of bolts hit within a couple hundred feet of the house I think.
Are you able to test today in case Max feels like continuing on his mission?
Carl
 
Hi, Jane, what do you think? I think I can shoot, and in fact I have to if I want to see progress. I'm ready to tackle whatever comes my way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top