8/10 Loco AMPS 371 - Newbie Need Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Funky

Member Since 2012
Ok so this is my first numbers post so i hope i am doing it ok! I have been keeping a spreadsheet and have come over from this topic - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=75928&p=828298#p828298

Loco was diagnosed a month ago and i have only started on lantus 4 days ago. Before that he was on caninsulin. I have started on a much lower lantus dose so i can move it up slowly. I would just like to get some advice on how much to much to move the dose up and when i should start.

Also something important to note it loco has just come to his summer house for the next 2 weeks and has not settled in yet so is still stressed which will most probably affect his readings. But hopefully a look at the spreadsheet will give more insight into everything. Also to note loco is totally off dry food. I test for ketones and they have always been negative. I am looking to start on tr. Thanks all :-D


Loco's Profile - https://sites.google.com/site/locodiabetes/

Loco's Spreadsheet - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0Ai5D6Zd09iDYdDNYN2VvNHBRNXNHUzEyLXFBaS1oZ2c&output=html




AMPS = 371 ~1.50u Lantus
+3 = 346
+5 = 347
+9 = 423
PMPS = 407 ~1.50u Lantus
+4 = 391
+9 = 403
AMPS = 409 ~1.50u Lantus
 
Welcome to LL, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :roll: :lol: Great job getting your spreadsheet and profile set up! Loco is a very handsome kitty, I hope you post some more pictures at some point. For the dosing, someone with expertise will come along and give you their suggestion.
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Thanks all :) Should be working good now and also have the link in my sig :) !!!

Liz - I will pass on your compliments to loco, although like all cats i am sure he will be baffled if someone didnt find him handsome! :lol:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I'm not sure what we should call you! Somehow, "Funky" doesn't seem quite right.

I'm not having a problem opening your spreadsheet.

Could you clarify?'
Funky said:
I have started on a much lower lantus dose so i can move it up slowly. I would just like to get some advice on how much to much to move the dose up and when i should start.
Given how much Caninsulin Loco was on, you're shooting a drastically reduced dose. When you say that you want to move up slowly, I'm not exactly sure what you mean. With the Lantus Tight Regulation protocol, doses are adjusted every 3 - 5 days. Given that Loco's nadirs are over 300, I would suggest increasing his dose by 0.5u tomorrow at your AMPS. So, his new dose would be 2.0u.

Keep in mind that Lantus is very different that Caninsulin. Dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle (the nadir), not the pre-shot numbers. It's also a depot-type of insulin that is long acting.

I couldn't tell from your Profile how you're feeding in relation to your shot time. You want to pick up Loco's food 2 hours before his shot time. If you don't, his pre-shot numbers could reflect the influence of food and you'd be shooting an artificially higher number.

Please let us know if you have other questions.
 
Hi Sienne thanks for the detailed reply. I started loco on the 1.5units of lantus as it was suggested to have 0.25 per kg. Seeing as loco is 6kgs that is how i got the starting dose. Also the vet had loco on the caninsulin at the 7.5 dose and to be fair i really dont believe she knew what she was doing. Therefore i wanted to be sure to start at a low enough dose not to miss the sweet spot dose. I will up his to 2 at the next shot now that he has had the first 6 cyles over and done with and is hopefully settling in in his holiday home a bit better.

Re the food, i was under the impression the food was to be given with the injection. Ah i see where there could be confusion with the spreadsheet, i have changed it to make it clearer. The felix as good as it looks is a very good low carb high protein wet food :) He wouldnt be eating for about 3 hours latest before his shots.

Feeding Schedule:

1pm (Insulin) - 1 x Felix 'as good as it looks' 100g
6pm - 1/2 Felix 'as good as it looks' 50g
9pm - Small boiled chicken treat
1am (Insulin) - 1 x Felix 'as good as it looks' 100g
6am - 1/2 Felix 'as good as it looks' 50g
9am - Small Boiled chicken bowl
 
Just to make sure I've got your feeding schedule correct, I'm going to put it in +hours:
  • PMPS - 1pm (Insulin) - 1 x Felix 'as good as it looks' 100g
  • +5 - 6pm - 1/2 Felix 'as good as it looks' 50g
  • +8 - 9pm - Small boiled chicken treat
  • AMPS - 1am (Insulin) - 1 x Felix 'as good as it looks' 100g
That looks pretty good. Small, frequent meals are a bit easier on the pancreas. As long as it's a small treat at your +8, it's likely to be fine.
 
Sienne - Now why didnt i think of showing it like that! ohmygod_smile

That is exactly right. The 8pm is a small amount when we are having dinner as he was always so used to a small few steals from our dinners so this makes him believe he is still getting it ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top