8/10 Karamelle AMPS 229 +2 187 +3 139 +4 136 +6 98

JoM

Member Since 2023
8/9 Karamelle AMPS 67 +3 209 +4 280 +7 282 +9 385 PMPS 358 +2 358 +6 120 +9 20 +9.75 37 +11 226

Well I missed the drop early am. :arghh: I did see it dropped quite a bit at +6, but hoped it would even out. No such luck. So Ive reduced the dose again. Still no idea whats happening in these early am hours and why its dropping.
I tried the FirstMate food @Wendy&Neko recommended at +9 (when she dropped to 20) but checking in about a half hour later shed only come up marginally to 37, so I gave her some honey. Then at +11 shes 226! Again, that seems like an unusual jump, even for honey, unless the wet food didnt register right away and it was from a combo of honey and food. But then shes still up at 229 at AMPS when all that should have worn off by then. It had been 3 hours since the food and about 2 since the honey at AMPS.
Im baffled!
To top it off, all along I thought maybe something like happened in Dec/Jan was happening again and I thought it was caused by the UTI and the low B12. But I looked it up and all the info I found says that low B12 and infections causes raised BG, not lowered BG. So now Im really confused.
Anyway, we trod on..... 😵‍💫
 
I made an appt with the vet today, not the last guy I saw but the original vet who owns the office that she saw initially when she was diagnosed with diabetes. Her snorting hasnt gone away with the drops and her BG is just wacky. I want to get his thoughts. Granted he told me to ask you guys a few times when I asked him questions so I dont expect much but you never know. :smuggrin:
 
I made an appt with the vet today, not the last guy I saw but the original vet who owns the office that she saw initially when she was diagnosed with diabetes. Her snorting hasnt gone away with the drops and her BG is just wacky. I want to get his thoughts. Granted he told me to ask you guys a few times when I asked him questions so I dont expect much but you never know. :smuggrin:
Do you ever retest those numbers? Do you have a back-up meter you can try? I’m going to try and spend some time today looking at her SS and trying to figure out what is going on.

i’m glad you reduced.

Do you think she would eat from an auto-feeder? I think we’ve discussed this but don’t remember. I’m just wondering if you can set it up for several feedings when she’s tending to come down early morning with a little higher LC if it might help.
 
Do you ever retest those numbers? Do you have a back-up meter you can try? I’m going to try and spend some time today looking at her SS and trying to figure out what is going on.

i’m glad you reduced.

Do you think she would eat from an auto-feeder? I think we’ve discussed this but don’t remember. I’m just wondering if you can set it up for several feedings when she’s tending to come down early morning with a little higher LC if it might help.
No I havent retested any of the numbers. I do have an extra meter so I can try that. They are the same kind of meter, but they do give slightly different readings.
The problem with the auto-feeder is that I have another cat that was always trying to get into her food (even tho his food is the same). Hes stopped now because I had the microchip bowl set up with an intruder alert. So if shes eating and any other cat tries to push her out of the way, the feeder will just close suddenly. It worked well and he doesnt even try to get into her food anymore. But if the auto-feeder opens and she doesnt eat it right away, Im pretty sure my other two greedy cats will find it and eat it (especially since its yummy wet food) and Id never know, unless of course I set up a spy camera, which I can do. I just dont think it will work so I probably wont buy one.
I should have known it would drop when I got the 120 reading at +6. I should have tested earlier than +9 for the next test.
 
Sorry the First Mate didn't work well enough for Karamelle. Even though Neko was fairly carb sensitive, I always reached for the syrup for anything under 40. HC wet food worked enough to get her up from the 40's.

Good luck with the vet visit.
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
Do you have a back-up meter you can try?
Just took a +3 reading with both meters using the same blood bubble. The one I use is on the right with the correct time. As you can see they differ.
1000006165.jpg
 
Sorry the First Mate didn't work well enough for Karamelle. Even though Neko was fairly carb sensitive, I always reached for the syrup for anything under 40. HC wet food worked enough to get her up from the 40's.

Good luck with the vet visit.
Well, I should still be able to use it since she seemed to like it.
 
Back
Top