8/10 Johnny PMBG 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
I guess Johnny didn't get the memo that we were going to shoot 180+ instead of 200+. We shot another magic drop of insulin this a.m. and will get some spot checks in to see what's going on. Johnny was a happy, purring snuggle boy this a.m. He came into bed to wake me up, but ended up snuggling under the sheet with me. Sweet boy. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/10 Johnny AMPS 203

You could always test twice -- chances are good he would have been under 200! (Although the second poke may not have been appreciated.)
 
Green at PMBG. Yippee! I'm wondering his slower drop in numbers after the shot today is a positive indication that Johnny is evening out in some way? But then again, I have no idea what I'm talking about! :lol:

How long can you typically keep using the same bottle of insulin? We'll be at three months this Friday. I really hope we don't have to buy another soon.
 
maybe post in the supply closet and see if anyone will sell you one cartridge? I wouldn't want to buy insulin right now, you never know which drop will be the last drop he wants (anti-jinxes all over this post).
 
If you want to get a single pen/cartridge, Univ. of IL at Chicago Med Center at any of the out-patient pharmacies sells singles. I get Lantus in the box there and they were surprised that I didn't want to purchase only one pen. If Northwestern Med Ctr is more convenient, you might call there and see if they will sell a single pen.
 
I've seen the photos of the pen...is that the same as a cartridge? Do you use it just like the bottle? Just draw the insulin out and measure by syringe? It looks like it has numbers along the side for dosing. For some reason, I am intimidated by the pen/cartridge. I'm sure we could figure it out, but we'd need to ask the vet to prescribe right? Which shouldn't be a problem...I just wonder if you have to specifically be prescribed the pen/cartridge (if indeed they are the same thing).

One more question: is the loss of potency the concern? I'm just hoping it's not dangerous that we've used one so long. I thought I read that a few months was the max.
 
Just think of the pen/cartridge as a mini-vial. Instead of a 10 ml bottle, the container is 3 ml. Both the pen and cartridge have the same rubber stopper where you insert the syringe. You just tell the pharmacy you don't need the needle/syringe cap. The cartridges may have markings for dose. Ignore them. You want to use a syringe. There are photos of both the pen and cartridge in the sticky about how to handle Lantus. Basically, the pen is a cartridge that's in a plastic sleeve. It gives the glass a little extra protection. The only difference in use between the pen/cartridge and vial is that you should not inject air into the pen/cartridge. In the photo, the Solostar pen is on the left and the cartridge is on the right.

You do need a prescription. If you want the pens, ask the vet to call in a prescription for a Lantus Solostar pen or to call in an Rx for the cartridge, if that's your preference. From the pharmacy's standpoint, a prescription for the vial and pen/cartridge are not interchangeable. I know the UIC pharmacy stocks the pens -- that's where I buy mine. (I use the pharmacy on the med school campus that's at 840 S. Wood St. They are open on Sat.) I think they run about $35 - $40 per pen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top