8/10 Jasper PMPS 69, +2 77 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

8/10 Jasper PMPS 69, +2 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leslie and Jasper

Member since 2012
Jasper is keeping in the green :mrgreen: , so far resisting temptation to go below 50 to earn his decrease the low way. Rain postponed my morning walk so I am getting his condo up earlier for a change, suspect I will never be a morning person. Hoping for another steady day today and he earns a decrease tomorrow night.

Confessions of a testaholic: I am thinking about doing fewer tests (gasp), testing at +1, +2 and +3 seems excessive when things are going smoothly. Our cats free feed all day, we put out fresh food at what would be AM -2 and PM -1 so they tend to eat more around that time. Jasper earned his previous decreases with a low number at +2 so plan to keep doing the +2test. If +2 is not close to the limit, I think I could make myself skip the +3 and not worry what is going on. And what about not testing at +1, if I am going to test at +2? Any thoughts?

Leslie
yesterdays condo
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77

Good morning, Leslie!

How would you feel about rotating your morning test times? I hear you about the trend of asking for reductions at (+2), but Jasper still is a cat, after all, and many of us have caught a surprising development by chance. Your schedule permitting, how would you feel about this as an option?

Jane
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77

Jane, Thanks, I would be comfortable spreading out the morning testing to say every 2 hours and getting different actual times of different days, sometimes that happens anyway. I just dont want to miss anything important. I am still pretty new at all this and collecting data is one thing that I have gotten the hang of. Now I want to step back from the meter and think about what data and how much data is really useful, and will be reasonably confident I probably wont miss anything important.

I wish there was an automated chip or something that could automatically monitor and display cats bg, bonus points if it would auto send the data to my computer, phone etc. The telemetry for astronauts is probably not sized or affordable for cats.

Leslie
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77, +1 85

Wow Leslie and Jasper! What beautiful greens this last week plus! My hat is off to you both :0 Great job with all the testing and with shooting through all those greens! I am too new at this to have any useful advice, but Jane has been quite a great resource for me already, so I'd follow her input!
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77, +1 85

Jasper is getting quite close to earning another reduction based on days in normal numbers.

I actually think I would drop the +1. I like new members to get that for a while so they can see if their kitty gets a food spike but you have lots of great data. I would keep the +2 every cycle. Then you can go from there. If its much lower than the PS, grab a +3 but if it's not, do a +4. He's pretty flat, really. You've done a great job with him, Leslie!

I think you should invent that microchip! I love the idea!!! :-D
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77, +1 85, +3 73

Thanks! So much for my plans, hah, I got back late from my morning walk so ended up getting +2.75 which I posted as +3. Jasper is still nicely above 50 so I didnt miss a big dip.

I've been looking at the meter wondering how did people managed blood glucose testing before electronics and micro chips? Then I thought why keep piercing his ear, why not put in something once that gives ongoing data, maybe a data earring for cats? Now I am thinking why have to remove blood from the cat to get this data? What would it take to measure BG through intact skin? I have no idea, but sensor technology has advanced far beyond my dated knowledge and as time permits I am going to try to learn to learn more about how this works and could work.

Leslie
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77, +1 85, +3 73

Hi and beautiful cycle for Jasper. I tend to test Maggie at +3 many times but only because I have so much data on her and she's not a bouncer and just kind of sails along. She is also a free feeder and tends to eat a couple meals after her shot. You're doing a great job. Have a nice day. I missed my walk, also, too muggy!
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77, +1 85, +3 73

Great idea, Leslie. Just remember we're dealing with cats. They'd probably figure out a way to rid themselves of the chip!!

Also, the other way to reduce the dose is 14 cycles in normal numbers. Jasper is closing in on that number of cycles.
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper AMPS 77, +1 85, +3 73

I like that idea.
Just scan the cat..... :lol: :lol:

I think I just read an article the other day about a new label in the Diagnostic Manual of Mental Disorders called "Internet
Use Disorder" . It was questioning the use of all our electronic devices and our reliance on them, What is it doing to our minds?

I'm not one to have all the gadgets but I am HERE ... a lot.
I'd love to have a scanner that told me how the cat is doing.
I'd also like a little gadget that gave her shots better than I do.
So many pets already have a tracking device.
Why not one that actually told you things like the computer on the car.

(Mind you those don't always work either. My son bought a used Volvo which turns out to have a defective computer-
I call it the Jon Levowitch car..... always lying.......)
 
Re: 8/10 Jasper PMPS 69

Sign me up if you figure out the scanner. I mean....mine are all microchipped if they were to get out and get lost....a scanner can read that!

In the meantime, we were reading about a little Type 1 diabetic girl who has a dog that can sniff out when her BG starts to drop. We were thinking maybe we should train Tobey, Gracie's feline sidekick, how to be a BG sniffing cat companion :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top