8/10 Ivy Amps 270, +3 324, Pmps 354 Contour

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
8/9/26
Amps 270 Contour

We are still hanging in with ear pokes only. No Libre. Ivy is definitely not a fan and is certainly a spicy fighter 🌶️
Hardest times for me getting the pokes are at the pre-shot, since she’s antsy and wants to walk around and is looking for her food.

She doesn’t want to sit down so I can try to calmly poke her ear. If we could get that pre-shot poke under control. It would certainly be better.

It’s usually a little bit easier on the follow up pokes because she’s usually sleeping in one of her beds, so I can more easily manage a poke then.

I did give a slight increase this morning, since she’s been seeing some pinks that I’d like to get rid of. She did have one green that I caught two nights ago, I’m hoping the pinks aren’t just a bounce.
It’s much harder to get a feel for what’s going on through the rest of the cycle since I don’t have a Libre on her obviously.

And since I have to try to limit my pokes with her, I’m trying not to do too many, unless I see a real trend of lower BG and then of course, I would have to do more.
She’s not a fan of the pokes and doesn’t seem to want to get used to this change in her lifestyle.

The good news is her poops have firmed up over the weekend since the B12 shot last Thursday and we tweaked some different supplements.
Not sure what did the trick, but I’ll take it after almost 3 weeks of god-awful, horrible diarrhea from pancreatitis (we assume).

I lowered her Cerenia dose from 16 mg to 12 mg. I’m not sure when it would be safe to discontinue that, it’s been three weeks of taking that medication.
I also lowered her Mirataz dose to half a dose yesterday and I’ll give another half a dose today. I’d like to get rid of that too.

If anyone has any thoughts on how and when it’s safe to discontinue those meds, please let me know 🥰
She’s been eating very well and I certainly like to see that continue. I don’t know if it’s just the Mirataz that’s making that happen, but I have a feeling it probably is.

Have a good week everyone 🐈‍⬛🐈🌊😻🏄‍♂️🏄‍♀️
IMG_2267.jpeg
 
With my cats once nausea was under control I removed the appetite stimulant first. If appetite decreased I put it back. I have always found the appetite decreased when nauseous. So glad the loose stool is gone. Chai had it for about that long and needed prednisolone as my vet thought it was IBD but honestly I am not sure the cause and the endoscopy biopsies were inconclusive. All to say you may never know the cause for sure.
 
With my cats once nausea was under control I removed the appetite stimulant first. If appetite decreased I put it back. I have always found the appetite decreased when nauseous. So glad the loose stool is gone. Chai had it for about that long and needed prednisolone as my vet thought it was IBD but honestly I am not sure the cause and the endoscopy biopsies were inconclusive. All to say you may never know the cause for sure.
Ok thanks, Elise.
How long would I wait to remove Cerenia if all continues to look ok? A few more days?

:bighug:
 
Ok thanks, Elise.
How long would I wait to remove Cerenia if all continues to look ok? A few more days?

:bighug:
I waited for a couple days of normal snd then trued. The worst that happens is you start it up again. With Max I was grossly underdosing his ondansetron at first and nobody told me. Once I realized that I often only needed to give cyproheptadine for a short time when he started a flare. . Because it could be given twice a day I tried one time and then tried stopping. Just one med withdrawn at a time or you won’t know what’s working. Paws crossed this is ending and normal days ahead very soon.
 
Omg, Staci! I’m so glad to read Ivy’s poops are finally firming up. Poop poop hooray!! 🎉🎉

I wonder if it’s the B12 that did it, or if it’s a combination of things. Have you gotten the B12 results yet?

Good luck with the increase - and the ear pokes! 🤗
 
I waited for a couple days of normal snd then trued. The worst that happens is you start it up again. With Max I was grossly underdosing his ondansetron at first and nobody told me. Once I realized that I often only needed to give cyproheptadine for a short time when he started a flare. . Because it could be given twice a day I tried one time and then tried stopping. Just one med withdrawn at a time or you won’t know what’s working. Paws crossed this is ending and normal days ahead very soon.
Ok thanks again for the good information, paws crossed! Hope your gang is doing well :bighug:
 
Omg, Staci! I’m so glad to read Ivy’s poops are finally firming up. Poop poop hooray!! 🎉🎉

I wonder if it’s the B12 that did it, or if it’s a combination of things. Have you gotten the B12 results yet?

Good luck with the increase - and the ear pokes! 🤗
I know, I also wonder if the B12 is just that magical too! I've never used it before with any of my kitties.
No results yet, probably not until end of the week as those tests went to TAMU, not even shipping until today!

I got results back from the typical labs on Friday and nothing too remarkable. T4 is up slightly to 3.4 (March it was 2.3).
ProBNP was elevated but we will rerun that at some point and see if it was due to inflammation from this whole episode.

Thanks so much for the good wished, I know you understand this whole nasty thing all too well :banghead:
Send prayers for ear poking cooperation!

Many hugs to you and Binx :bighug:😍
 
I'm so sorry about the ear pokes, Staci! I'm glad the other issues are seemingly resolving, though.
How is that little grandson??
Yeah, she's really not digging the whole thing. She's like, mom, just use my libre. WTF.
She HATES pokes!

The baby is so cute. I will go to see him later this week for some smooches. I just get some pics for now.
Hope you are all doing well!:bighug:😍
 
I know, I also wonder if the B12 is just that magical too! I've never used it before with any of my kitties.
No results yet, probably not until end of the week as those tests went to TAMU, not even shipping until today!

I got results back from the typical labs on Friday and nothing too remarkable. T4 is up slightly to 3.4 (March it was 2.3).
ProBNP was elevated but we will rerun that at some point and see if it was due to inflammation from this whole episode.

Thanks so much for the good wished, I know you understand this whole nasty thing all too well :banghead:
Send prayers for ear poking cooperation!

Many hugs to you and Binx :bighug:😍
I’ve honestly been wondering if I should take B12 as a human now 😅 seems like it can only be helpful

Glad the rest of the labs are decently normal! Strange about the T4, but good it’s still within range, just on the higher end of normal. That’s where we keep Binx, because of his CKD.

Hugs and prayers 🤗
 
I’ve honestly been wondering if I should take B12 as a human now 😅 seems like it can only be helpful

Glad the rest of the labs are decently normal! Strange about the T4, but good it’s still within range, just on the higher end of normal. That’s where we keep Binx, because of his CKD.

Hugs and prayers 🤗
What is Binx’s T4?
My vet seems to agree with yours in that he’s not pushing too hard to bring Ivy too low since she has so many conditions to balance (CKD as well, we just don’t really know the true picture due to the hyperthyroidism).

Maybe we can share their B12 😳
:bighug::bighug:
 
I missed a lot! I'm so glad her poops improved! I bet finding those is like finding treasure now 😆

Also congrats on the grandbaby 🤗 That's exciting!
 
Back
Top