8/10 Fitzel AMBG-113!/+3-220/+6-146/+9-110/PMBG-137

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fitzel's Condo

She wouldn't eat this morning. All the kids are on a food strike because of the kitten. I finally got Magpie and Hobson to eat - but Fitzel refuses. I've tried PureBites. I've tried her favorite baked chicken. She's sulking right now next to my computer. I plan on loving her up intensely and trying again on the feeding - this time in my lap. It's what I used to do when we first found her. She kind of grew out of it - but it's worth a shot.

Amma - the baby - had her first outing in the hallway - the only area of the house we can close off to let her romp a bit. Afterwards, everyone went to smell the intruder. No one is happy. Especially mommy.
Shai
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMPS-133!

I hope you can get some food into her, Shai. As you know, with insulin on board, she needs to eat. Can you finger feed her or just put a bit on the roof of her mouth to get her interested? Perhaps some baby food....like BeechNut. You don't want anything with broths, cornstarch, onion/garlic, etc.

It's probably a good idea to get a +2 and make sure she isn't really low.

We'd all love to see kitten pics!!!
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMPS-133!

Fitzel ate. :-D Not a lot but enough. Probably an ounce and a half. Considering I'm pleased. The lap trick worked.

I'm going to test at +3. She's so depressed and jealous. I want to give her as easy a day as is possible and still get the tests I need.

Thanks for checking in on us, Marjorie!!! :smile:

Shai
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMPS-133!+3-220

Hi Shai-
You might want to add that you did not give any insulin this morning, otherwise people assume that you did especially with AMPS (AM pre shot). I believe they use AM BG when no shot has been given :?: I'm not positive though. How long before the +3 did Fitzel finally eat?
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMBG-133!+3-220

Hi Sherry-

Fitz ate about two hours before the 220. She's had a bit more to eat. She's very depressed. I knew we were in for some disruption hopefully we can find some middle ground.
Shai
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMBG-133! No shot +3-220/+6-146

Fitzel has had no insulin today. I'd really appreciate comments on her numbers. Sorry there aren't more - kitten and health issues.
Shai
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMBG-133! No shot +3-220/+6-146

It's interesting that she brought her numbers down. It looks like you got a food spike, fed, and it's possible that Fitzel's pancreas kicked in and brought her numbers down.

I'm sorry no one's happy about the kitten. Hopefully, everyone will adjust quickly.
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMBG-133! No shot +3-220/+6-146

Shai

Sorry about this morning...somehow I missed that you did not shoot so I'm glad someone told you to use AMBG when you don't. You don't also need the "no shot" :-D

It looks to me like you got that low number because she was probably clearing the bounce overnight. But it could also be due to her not eating. If she then ate, she could have had a food spike.

I don't know why her number came down at +6 unless her pancreas kicked in three hours after she ate and is trying it's best to do what it's supposed to. Usually when we have a kitty getting no insulin and going through a trial, if the AMBG
is a little higher than we'd like to see, we tell them to feed and retest in three hours. If the BG is lower, the pancreas is working. So it's possibly that but I say possibly because it is only speculation on my part.

Introducing new babies just takes time. Gracie really had her nose out of joint when we brought Tobey in. But within a month or so, they were best buddies and continue to be. However, she was not yet FD so we had one less variable
to deal with than you do. Try rubbing a towel or cloth over the baby and then leaving it out where the others can smell it.
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMBG-133! No shot +3-220/+6-146/+9-110

Is this good? Or is this just using up her shed so we start the roller coaster all over again?

She's been very quiet and clingy today. I've been giving her lots of lovings and stroking - and remInding her she's the alpha cat.

The baby had a nice play period in the hall and I got some great shots. I'll post one soon as I can get to my computer. Spouse just got SIMS and she's busy creating dysfunctional families. I'll update Fitzels SS then too.

Thank you Sienne and Marjorie for your input. It keeps a bean calm. Oh Sherry & Squirt told me about the AMBG after I got it wrong. Thank you Sherry!

Shai
 
Re: 8/10 Fitzel AMBG-113!/+3-220/+6-146/+9-110

Very interesting numbers today, that's for sure! I am curious to see what Marje says about that +9 and whatever the PS turns out to be. Fitzel, you are the alpha cat and your beans love you very much. Your place in the world is totally secure. That baby just needs a little help and your beans are generous to help her out.
Liz
 
Baby Pic!
 

Attachments

  • Amma 2.jpg
    Amma 2.jpg
    6.5 KB · Views: 258
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top