8/1 Trixie PMPS 115 +2 89 +4 74/Zen update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=48838

That extra little drop seems to be working well for Miss Trix.

No real change with Zen...sort of his spunky old self, but far from 100%. When I got up during the night to check on him, he trotted over to me which was a good sign. But again, no real interest in food. I actually gave him some Pepcid this morning, let that settle, then we syringed some food. His vet appt is for 2:20 this afternoon.

I haven't been able to focus on much of anything else...hopefully I'll be able to visit condos tonight.

Amy
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Fingers and paws crossed that the vet quickly figures out what has Zen feeling less than 100% and that he is back to 100% very soon! Looks like Miss Trixie is giving you some great numbers!
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Good luck at the vet Zen, i hope its nothing more than him being a fussy eater.......fingers and paws crossed here.

Trix, very nice AMPS and +2, be a good girl today while your momma bean is busy with Zen.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Hoping for a wonderful vet visit for you and Zen. I'm also sending you tons of prayers, and am hoping for a full and speedy recovery for Zen. Hang in there. Keep us posted when you have a moment. We're there with you in spirit. *HUGS*
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Big hugs for Zen. On the assist feeding group we cringe when people say "Force Feed". Especially if the owners feel that is what they are doing their cats can feel the anxiety. Try and refer to it as "assist feeding". Like holding the cup of broth for someone with the flu. I know with as many kitties as you have, you probably have a lot of experience with assist feeding. Let us know if you want some alternative tips or advice on syringe/active feeding. Some times nothing works but sounds like you are making progress. Have you tried raising his food station so he doesn't have to bend down and can eat sitting up? Would this help a cat with sniffles?

Henry is going to the vet this week also. His sniffles will not resolve and its been months. I think they will need to look for polyps. His appetite is great thankfully.

Sending you lots of hugs also. Hang in there.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Hope all goes well at the vet. Trixie's numbers look awesome.

{{hug}}
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Thanks for all your support...it means a lot to us!

I've been trying to be careful to us "assist feeding" rather than "force feeding", but "force" may have slipped out once or twice. I hate the word "force" myself! Zen actually seems to be dealing with it well (and he's kept everything down), but it still takes two of us to do it. Hubby's off at work right now, so I'm going to give it a shot by myself in a minute. The Pepcid, however...he's one of those cats who foams at the mouth when medicated...it's rough to watch. I've tried hold a bowl up for him so he wouldn't have to bend over...no go on that one. Can't wait for this day to be over...
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

((((Zen))))) Good luck at the vets office. Good that you try and use assist feeding term. It's not a big deal but can make a difference for some people. Do you put the pepcid AC quarters in an empty pill pocket?
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Thinking positively for Zen's vet visit and hope that he will be feeling much better soon. Maybe the warm weather is affecting him? Very nice start for Trixie's day.

KTSS will be along when Zen gets home. Sounds like a chicken-soup day and a spa treatment to get rid of vetty smell.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

I didn't try the pill pocket with the Pepcid...I figured he wouldn't go for it since he's not interested in eating more than a few kibbles here and there. I crushed it up, mixed it with a little water, and syringed it. Of all 6 cats, he is by far the hardest and most dramatic to medicate.

Unfortunately, I do know for sure that it's not the weather that's bothering him. I'm sure he'll enjoy a visit from KTSS!

Thanks again for all your help and support! I'll let you know what the vet says this afternoon.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Amy: Trixie is looking really good again these days!! YAY!! Good decisions on your part.

Sending healing vines to Zen. I hope you get only good news and he's just off his food a bit for some weird cat reason like it's too hot. Gracie and Tobey are packing up all their stuff to join the KTSS for when Zen gets home.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

I think any cat would foam with pepcid mixed with water. Try the pill pocket but also an empty gel cap. You can get 100 tiny sized four ones for like $2 at your pharmacy or online. Blech lol..
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Trixie and Frankie actually did pretty well with the pepcid/water combo...no foaming. You should see Zen with flagyl. The first time we gave it to him (years ago), I wasn't expecting, and had never seen, a cat foam before. I though we poisoned him...that was one frantic phone call to the vet!

I'll look into the gelcaps...
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Oh I know what you are talking about. Maverick had just come out of major surgery and I gave him oral tramadol. It was horrible! Glad you know it is just a kitty reaction. I bet Zen is the sensitive type ;) I love his name btw.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Zen is quite sensitive. And needy, and clingy, and dramatic, and very jealous when anyone else is getting attention. He's also very sweet, but tends to think he's king of the herd. Loves to make the girls hiss, but then snuggles. He's a good, funny kitty. My husband named him.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Hugs and paws crossed for Zen. Marje posted a great syringe feeding video in Sarah and Baby's condo I hope it is nothing serious and he is back to giving the girls grief soon. That is not living up to your name though, Zen.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Good luck, Amy!!! I'll be thinking about you and Zen and sending positive thoughts!!! I hope the vet is able to help Zen get his appetite back!!
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

Karrie and Maverick said:
Big hugs for Zen. On the assist feeding group we cringe when people say "Force Feed". Especially if the owners feel that is what they are doing their cats can feel the anxiety. Try and refer to it as "assist feeding". Like holding the cup of broth for someone with the flu. I know with as many kitties as you have, you probably have a lot of experience with assist feeding. Let us know if you want some alternative tips or advice on syringe/active feeding. Some times nothing works but sounds like you are making progress. Have you tried raising his food station so he doesn't have to bend down and can eat sitting up? Would this help a cat with sniffles?

Henry is going to the vet this week also. His sniffles will not resolve and its been months. I think they will need to look for polyps. His appetite is great thankfully.

Sending you lots of hugs also. Hang in there.
i cringe too when i read FORCE feeding.....i just call it syringe feeding.... ;-)

i've had to syringe feed Rocket many many times in the 3 yrs since his CRF dx....as they go off food...so if you need extra tips i'd be happy to share....many here have done it too....we can all help you in your journey

hope the vet visit goes well.....
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Zen going to vet

adding my cheers for a good vetty visit! someone told me the foaming is from a really bad taste. i was swallowing a 1/2 chlortrimeton the other night and it got kinda stuck on my tongue and honestly, i felt like foaming at the mouth too! :lol:

punkin would eat duck & pea pill pockets - did you ever see the video i posted of me throwing them on the floor and him gobbling them up like they were the best things ever? i almost felt like it was mean to medicate him that way, but i don't know why! even if zen doesn't gobble them you can envelope the pill and then zen won't taste the meds. that's what i did for the first 18 days of punkin's prescription - on day 18 he woke up and said that pill pocket was the best thing ever. then i started throwing them on the floor. :lol:

here ya go, amy - at least it's a little funny to cheer you up while you're dealing with all of the sick kitty stuff. it still makes me chuckle.

[youtube]SrVBjvBE5fc[/youtube]
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Back from vet

We're back, and kind of what I expected - nothing really conclusive. His temp was slightly elevated (102-ish), and he was a little dehydrated so they gave him squids (about 150mls). They also gave him an appetite stimulant (he drooled all over the tech - LOL!) and sent me home with more in case in needs it in a few days. They drew blood and urine; those results should be back tomorrow. At first, the vet used the "D" word as a possibility, and just out of fear it was kicking around in my mind, too. She asked if I had checked his BG at home; had thought about it, but since he was sick I knew it woudl be out of whack anyway. After they drew the urine, though, it was pretty concentrated so she came back to tell that that little fact reduced the possibility of diabetes. But, of course, Trixie didn't present like a typical diabetic, either. He does seem a little perkier, but I have to head back to work for a bit.

Oh, and my vet is pregnant!!! Wonderful for her, but so typical for me...every time I find a vet that I really like, she gets pregnant. At the risk of sounding sexist, I have got to find a good vet that is not a young woman! And, she was impressed with Trix's SS and how we're handling her diabetes. I know she was nervous at first when I told her we were following the TR protocol, but obviously she sees we have a handle on it.

Back to work for bit .Thank you again, for all your support! Julie -love that video of Punkin! I remember seeing it before - hilarious! I'll be sure to let you know the test results when they come in.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Back from vet

Do you have experience with appetite stimulants? Vets more often that not prescribe way too much. Watch for signs of irritation, yeowling, and being unsettled. What did she prescribe and how much/often?

Sorry your vet is pregnant... again! LOL. What a bummer. How bout a young hot male vet next time.

The video of Punkin made me laugh. Love the talking and big long fluffy tails.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Back from vet

Great to hear that Trixie's vet visit went well.

If you do find a hot young male vet, let me know! A little eye candy never hurts. LOL!
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Back from vet

Karrie and Maverick said:
Do you have experience with appetite stimulants? Vets more often that not prescribe way too much. Watch for signs of irritation, yeowling, and being unsettled. What did she prescribe and how much/often?

Sorry your vet is pregnant... again! LOL. What a bummer. How bout a young hot male vet next time.

The video of Punkin made me laugh. Love the talking and big long fluffy tails.

The only other appetite stimulant we've used was ciprohpetadine (sp???) years ago with our lymphoma kitty...no other experience. This time, she gave him 1/4 tablet of mirtazipine 15mg. She sent me home with 2 more little pieces if we need them. She said to give it every 72 hours.

If he gets edgy, is there anything we can or should do?
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Back from vet

just FYI, Rocket did not do well on mirtz....and i try to stay clear too from the cypro....if i have ever needed to use the cypro i go to 1/16 of a pill to kick start him rather than the Rx dose...often times vets give too high a dose on the stimulants....

my opinion....

hope others can chime in....

http://www.felinecrf.org/persuading_cat_to_eat.htm

http://www.felinecrf.org/persuading_cat ... irtazapine


obviously not all applies as it is more towards CRF kitties...but worth looking at the website as an FYI

warming up food works too....
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Back from vet

I hope Zen gets to feeling better soon! Sick kitties are no fun. It would be so much easier if they could tell us what was wrong.

Trixie is looking really good. Looks like the extra drop is helping!

Thinking of you and Zen!!
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie AMPS 128 +2 71/Back from vet

Should the oral pepcid become a problem, there is an injectable form you can get from the pharmacy (where I live it requires a prescription), called famotidine. I hope his appetite picks up in the mean time.
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie PMPS 115 +2 89/Zen update

Once again, thank you so much everyone. It's been an overwhelming few days. Zen has had snuffles before, and has had appetite issues before, and has had on-and-off digestive sensitivities all his life (along with his littermates, Noah and Petey). But it's been a while since he's been "funny" about food, and he's thrown me for a loop these past few days...I don't recall him ever losing his appetite for this long. But, this evening, he has eaten more than he ate in the last 3 days combined (aside from the assisted feedings, that is!). He's had a few licks of canned, but he's never been a big canned eater to begin with (been working on that issue for years!), and he's eaten a fair amout of Mario's crappy K/D kibbles...not enough to be considered a full meal or anything, but not a horrible amount either, at least relatively speaking. While I think those kibbles are virtually useless, at this point, he can eat whatever he wants, as long as he's eating. (He went through a phase a couple years ago where he would only eat Mario's kibbles...took me a while to wean him off back than.) When I got home from work, he was waiting for his dinner for the first time in days, and he went to town on one of the scratching pads, which was wonderful to see. He's also been more social and hanging out with us, whereas the past few days he's been hanging out by himself in one of hte upstairs bedrooms. But I can tell he's still not feeling 100% at all...but he finally seems to be progressing.

I think I need to go back and read the "Dear Mom" condo for newbies. I'm constantly checking on him, scratching him to see if he'll purr, looking at his eyes to see if they're clear, shoving food in his face...and the ironic part is that when I'm sick, I hate it when people hover over me! I'm sure he just wants to sleep in peace!

Mario, who started snuffling the day after Zen, seems a bit "off" with his food tonight, too. Not nearly as bad as Zen, though. Hopefully it's really just my hyper-sensitive imagination.

And Melissa...in my frustration yesterday, I was cursing about how aggravating it is that the cats can't talk!! The guessing game is so stressful.

Of course, though, this is supposed to be about Trixie! I'm happy with her numbers from the past few days, but I just haven't been able to focus on them as much as I usually do...good girl, Trixie! You certainly have not been forgotten!!
 
Re: 8/1 Trixie PMPS 115 +2 89/Zen update

Hi again, Amy, Still sending healing vines for Zen. I hope that his test results will provide a clear course of action.
Do keep us posted and good luck with the appetite stimulant.

KTSS is on the way!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top