8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105 Q???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85

Hi guys .. yay for nice numbers! Boo on missing that alarm :lol: We did it allll the time with mocha .. in fact, it got so bad we had to put a third alarm clock in our room, clear across the room from us so we would have to get out of bed to just turn it off ... but yes, max is doing great! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85

Thanks, Devon!

This morning Max's numbers made me nervous, and I asked my husband to give him a BCS. He was at 85 about 45 minutes before the shot, and 79 an hour later (it took my husband 15 minutes to find him). By 30 minutes after shot time, my husband called me, and we decided on 0.5u asap. My husband encouraged him to eat. Then, Max was at 59 1.25 hours after original shot time. He went up to 64 one-half an hour later. Now, he's at 89 at +6.

I should have kept testing him when he was at 64, I know. I fell asleep when Emma did. We slept for 3 hours!

QUESTIONS: 1.Should I be worried that Max hasn't been in the 100s in almost 24 hours?
2. Would anyone have shot 2.25SK when he was at 79? (I'm so glad we didn't because of the 59.)
3. Third question, I'm not counting the BCS as changing the shot time. I'm sticking with 10:30. That's okay, right? Thanks everyone!
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85

Hi Dale,

Max is sure keeping you dancing on your tip toes!
2. Would anyone have shot 2.25SK when he was at 79? (I'm so glad we didn't because of the 59.)
When I read this, I did a flashback to I think Saturday night? And what Marje posted in that condo:
Please do not forget the depot! Shooting a BCS is often more for the caregiver than the cat. It is extremely likely (especially with a full shed) that his cycle will play out the same way as if you shoot a full dose.

I'm not suggesting you skip, shoot a full dose, or shoot a BCS. I just don't want you to have a false sense of security that shooting a BCS will mean that his numbers will go up this cycle. Usually the effect is seen in the next cycle.

Will he bounce? Only Maxs liver knows. I know it's a rare cycle for me that I can make it through with less than three strips...just in the interest of safety. You'll have your PS, +2, and then one other spot check. That leaves you three strips for the morning.....just saying.
Dale
That's what I'm trying to tell you....it doesn't matter what you shoot....if he's going to go low this cycle, he will do it whether you shoot a full dose or a BCS. If he's going to bounce, he will do it regardless of what you shoot. It can take up to six cycles to drain the depot....you could have low numbers tonight whether you shoot full dose or BCS.
If you want too shoot, I'd send someone out after strips and I'd shoot the full dose and get a +1 and +2. IMHO. But you hold the syringe

I'm nowhere near qualified to advise on dose, just wanted to reiterate Marje's point about "if he's going to go low, he'll go low no matter what the dose", because Max is still living off the depot even with the two .5u doses the past few days.

1.Should I be worried that Max hasn't been in the 100s in almost 24 hours?
I want to say "no", but I really don't know. I do know that when Bob was in the same boat, I was smiling an awful lot, but he was only on .25u or .5u doses at the time. But my gut says that anytime you see a kitty in the greens for about 90% of the time over the past 72 hours, it's got to be a good thing, right?

3. Third question, I'm not counting the BCS as changing the shot time. I'm sticking with 10:30. That's okay, right?
I'm still learning, so I can't answer. Hopefully I will be able to answer that question when the right people come along to chime in. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89

Ah, Carl, at least I know I'm not alone in not knowing the answer to these questions! That's comforting. What a complicated disease. I have more and more compassion for human diabetics who can't get their disease under control. It's not like a headache, is it?

I have to say I like the new meter - the Relion Ultima -- I can see the date and time on the same screen as the BG. With the micro, I have to cycle through to see all this information on 3 different "pages." I found that annoying. Spoiled aren't we?

How are Bob and Zoe? Zoe's had some very nice numbers lately!
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89 Question?

Dale,
Bob is doing terrific. Had a bout of the runnies about 3 weeks ago, but he's back to regular now.

Zoe isn't actually my Kitty. She's an L kitty whose beans needed help with a SS, so I made them one, and then left it in my sig for easy access because they don't post often. I tried to note that in my sig, but I ran out of characters and couldn't add any more text! I need to figure that out, because I don't want people to think I'm only testing at PS readings, and then telling them they need to test mid-cycle more... Her numbers are pretty amazing though.

Carl
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89 Question?

You are so nice, Carl! That was very kind for you to help Zoe out with an SS in your signature.
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89 Question?

Hi Dale..

Carl asked me to look in on your condo. I've been at work today so am late getting on the board. Ni just need a few minutes to look at his SS and I'll brb.
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 Question?

Dale..I think his SS looks great!

1. I would not worry that his BG is below 100... If you want him OTJ, he needs to be cruising down at these numbers most if the time.

2. Yes...I would have shot a full dose into a 79 if I knew my cat, had all the supplies, and was rested enough so I could test as much as I needed to. Look how he does every cycle that you shoot a reduced dose....he comes down low and then high at the end as he runs out of insulin. I think you are seeing depot action carrying you through those lows.
I think you need to start learning to shoot low as long as you will be there to test.

If he's running you ragged, I think you should drop the dose back to something you can shoot the full dose every time but you might see numbers go up.

3. Lost me on the last question. If you shot at 1030 and you like that shot time, just keep shooting it. Morning and night.
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 Question?

The last question - a little confusing. We didn't give him the 0.5 token dose until 11 a.m, but because it was only 1/5th of the normal dose, I would like to give him his 2.25SK at 10:30 p.m. I wouldn't do that if we'd giving him a full dose this morning, but I hope it's okay to not let this shot time get later and later. Even if he levels out around +5, it's too late a night for me to wait that long.

I've got 5 minutes to go! My reasoning is this: his dose was 1/2 hr late this morning which acts as a dose reduction, and he got 1/5th of what he needed. I realize that what he got this morning isn't very important for this particular cycle. If he had not had 0.5 shots three times in the last 42 hours, it would be dangerous to give him an early shot tonight. Is danger the only consideration? Is there something else that makes it imperative that I shoot at 11 p.m. despite these circumstances?
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

Late BCS shot changing shoot time? We gave him a late shot this morning by 1/2 hour. I simply cannot keep giving him shots at X:15 or X:45. It's too confusing for my tired brain, and it takes me a lot of double checking to get the SS right and the shot time right. if a BCS counts, and I have to shoot at 11 tonight, then, I can go back 30 minutes per DAY or 15 minutes per SHOT TIME, right?

Dropping numbers: Would +10.25 being 85 and Amps being 79 be a dropping number or are they so close (within 20%) that that is not considered dropping? Now I have a dropping number: PMPS is 105 whereas +11 was 112.
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

It's definitely dropping. It's now 90 at what should be +11.75. This must be his second dip.
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

Ok, I've moved all the times back on the SS to reflect that AMPS was 11:00 a.m. this morning. The dropping number is probably just his second dip, but I still don't feel comfortable shooting a dropping number. (This TR business is going to kill me.) I think I should give him a little less insulin just to get some sleep, and get everything back on track. It won't necessarily help me tonight, but maybe soon.

I'm still interested in an answer on whether a late BCS can be counted as having been given at the normal time as long as it's close -- within 30 minutes. It seems that if all you are doing is protecting the shed, it shouldn't change the shot time especially if changing the shot time is really disruptive. I realize that the BCS will continue to work for the full 12 hours and there will be overlap, but if the BG at shot time is at least over 100 that shouldn't be a big problem, and then the effect of it will dissipate at +0.5 or so in the next cycle. I'm sure it will make the +1 and +2 unreliable for that next cycle. They may be artificially low. Any other thoughts?
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

Hi again Dale!

Slow down a bit, k? I've read through your thread three times now and I'm still not certain what your most pressing questions are. :mrgreen: Then again, I have only had 1 cup of coffee!

I gather you want to know whether this morning's dose - which had 2 changes done to it: (a) BCS of only 0.5u, and (b) 30 minutes late - "counts" as a regular shot anyway, despite the changes? Is that right?

I also see you questioning the slight drop from (+11) to PMPS. It's very good that you are so aware of things like that. Shooting dropping numbers, you're right, *CAN* be a risk and we don't recommend it for newbies generally. Remember though that the "drop" is only 7 points, which is well within meter variance. For the future, you can always get a second test with a decent-sized blood sample. Or, of course, wait a few minutes and then re-test. It needn't always be 15-30 minutes that you stall, sometimes only 5 minutes already makes a difference.

I gather from your SS that you shot a reduced dose of 2u tonight, yes? Let's see how Max responds, and how he fares in the next few cycles. Keep in mind what Marje pointed out: " Look how he does every cycle that you shoot a reduced dose....he comes down low and then high at the end as he runs out of insulin. I think you are seeing depot action carrying you through those lows. I think you need to start learning to shoot low as long as you will be there to test. If he's running you ragged, I think you should drop the dose back to something you can shoot the full dose every time but you might see numbers go up." (End of Quote)

You're doing such a wonderful job with Max! We'll go through your queries with you, don't fret, k?
Jane
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

Dale, you and Max are doing great! What a treat looking at his numbers these days!

With all the testing you are doing, and the cost of those test strips, you might want to read my review of the Relion Prime that I purchased yesterday at WalMart. The test strips are $9.00 for 50, which means $.18 each, instead of $.36 each for the Ultima strips if you buy 100 strips. I know you just purchased the Ultima, but wanted to throw this out there.

Suze
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

Dale

I'm sorry I didn't get back to you last night...yesterday was my work day and starts at 5 am so by last night, I was tuckered. Evidently after my last post to you, I fell sound asleep on the couch with iPad in lap and fingers on keyboard :lol:
Mike had to turn everything off and point me towards the bedroom. My apologies.

I need a couple cups of coffee and to turn on my computer instead of my iPad so I can look closely at everything and figure out what you are asking. I'll post for you shortly. If you've started a condo for today, I'll put it there ,k?

Eta: I'll hurry along on this since you shoot shortly and are on same time as me.
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

Dale

ok....I read through all your posts after I posted last. What I am getting is that you were shooting at 10:30. Yesterday morning, you shot a BCS at 11. You wanted to know last night if you could shoot the full dose, sk2.25u at 10:30 to get you back on time? I see on your SS that you have noted "New shot time 11:00". So you shot a 2u dose at 11 last night?

Tell me please, what is the time that you want to shoot? Do you want to be back at 10:30 or is 11 ok?

I would love to know what his numbers were last night ....did you get any tests in after +1?

A couple things that I hope will help you:
1. Since you shot 2u last night, unless he tanked and went low (which I don't expect), you would be fine to shoot sk2.25u at 10:30 this morning if you want to go back to that time. Just test....you always do a great job.

But I will add that I really really really need to get you to a dose that you will shoot on time every time as long as he is at a safe number to shoot (above 50), you have supplies, you will be there to test, etc etc. He hasn't "earned" a reduction from the sk2.25u but it's important to consider caregiver condition. If you want to leave him at 2u and see how he does, you can. Will he lose momentum? I have no idea....if he does, take him back up and don't wait long to do it.

2. When kitties do this "snap" from bouncing to throwing out all these greens/blues, it can often be a race down the dosing scale and it can be grueling on the CG. But...the point is to move towards remission, right? So you have to get used to shooting low numbers, second dips, and even dropping numbers with the caveat on all "if it is safe to do so" . Last night, he wasn't dropping...he was surfing. There is no difference between a 112 and 105. And shooting a sk2.25u vs a 2u dose wouldn't have mattered. You already started draining his depot a titch.

3. I think small adjustments to dose within 30 minutes is fine. I would be a little nervous about shooting .5u one cycle and then the next cycle shooting a full dose of sk2.25u one half hour early. That's a big jump. I know it would seem logical to think that it would be ok because you shot a BCS late....sort of like a double dose reduction, right? But I do not know if that holds true. I think it is generally ok to adjust your shot time by 30 minutes once a day if you have to but I don't like to also be making big dose adjustments at the same time. I think you would start seeing wonky numbers.

I can start working more closely with you around your shot times to help you shoot low. I'm on your same time zone and other than Tues and Wed nights, I'm usually up until 12. So we have a week to get you used to shooting lower numbers, ok?

I have to feed Gracie but I'll check back in shortly looking for a +11 or +11.5 ok? Hang in there. You are doing AWESOME!! I'm so proud :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/1 Max +10.25~85 Amps~79 +6~89+10.5~96+11~112 PMPS~105

Aw, Marjorie, Thank You, and you, too, Jane! I wish I'd checked your comments this morning, but my husband "forbade" it. He's funny! :lol: I complied as he is worried. Emma is reacting to the amount of time I'm spending on the computer, and has decided to stop eating solid food. All she wants is breastmilk, but it's not enough, and she's hungry every 2 hours. `

When I told him that on your advice --
If he's running you ragged, I think you should drop the dose back to something you can shoot the full dose every time but you might see numbers go up.
I had shot 2.0 units last night to try to get Max's numbers up at shots times he said, "I suggested that two days ago." He's knows that I'm stubborn, and when I set my mind to something damn the torpedoes, but I'm also cautious. So, I spend a LOT of time on my decisions. That's difficult when time is of the essence to get a shot into Max.

So, then Max tested at 66 at AMPS after a +10 of 109 and a +9 of 92. I double checked it, and it was 64. The Hubs did not want me to give him any insulin. So, I complied. We will be able to get an earlier shot time tonight, and start all over.

Thanks for all your comments. I suppose I sounded desperate last night. I wasn't necessarily. I know you can't respond to me quickly enough, and when that happens I'll take the most cautious approach if I'm not sure what to do.

Thanks again. So cute that you are "proud." Me, too! My husband thinks that Max had pancreatitis from an infection, and the infection in his gums was preventing him from clearing the pancreatitis (or liver infection possibly). Now with the dental and second course of antibiotics, his pancreas is starting to work again, and if his liver was malfunctioning, that too is resolved. I told the Hubs about "chasing the numbers," and he really didn't want me to do that right now.

More in a minute or later today when I get a chance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top