8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343, +6= 227, +9=221 PMPS 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

ErinElizabeth

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's PMPS was 244. Hmmm.
Do you think the high number this morning was influenced by the fact that I had to test right after Ginger (corgi mix) had chased Chinookie off the couch?

Struggling with air bubbles with this lantus pen and syringe. Am I correct in thinking its not necessarily harmful except that it may slightly alter the dosage? I've tried to pull a tiny bit more in and then Flick the syringe and expel out the top but it doesn't seem to do much for the bubbles, just wastes precious insulin.
 
Re: 8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343

Stress can do funny things, so it's possible, but I think you're probably just seeing a bit of a bounce from the 244 at PMPS...Looks like he was coming down most of the day, and could have dropped even lower overnight into unfamiliar territory for his liver and pancreas and they panicked a little.

Until his body is more used to those lower numbers, his body will panic and flood his bloodstream with hormones and sugars to bring him back up to where he's "Used to"...a bounce!

As he gets under better control, the bounces slow down, don't bounce as high, and will clear faster, but it can take 72 hours to fully clear a bounce. You're doing great, and just have to keep those patience pants on.

This was only his 4th dose at 1u....need to hold for at least 6-10 cycles (and since you were kind of all over the place those first few days, maybe 5-7 days (10-14 cycles) to see where he's really going to settle on this dose.

As for the bubbles, I don't use the pen, but I've heard that it really can take quite a "thwap" to get those bubbles to clear. It's not the end of the world if you can't get them out, but it will effect the dose some and when we're dealing with such tiny amounts, it can make a difference. I pull a little more than her dose, take the syringe out...pull the plunger a tiny bit more back and give it a good "Flick" to get that air at the top...then slowly depress the plunger to clear the air first, and that tiny bit of Lantus more than her dose. It's only a drop or 2, but when I'm done, I'm pretty sure I'm giving the same dose each time

Hopefully some of the members who've dealt with those bubbles more than I will give you some suggestions
 
Re: 8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343

Here's the link to your condo (i.e., thread) from 7/30: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101233&p=1080419&hilit=chinookie#p1080419

One of the ways that Lantus is different than Humulin is that dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle (the nadir). As a result, it's important to get spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles. Thus, while I suspect Chris is accurate in that you're seeing a bounce, there's no way to know for sure without at least one spot check.
 
Re: 8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343

So do I just keep responding with more test results in this same thread/condo?

+6 227, +9 221

That's good right? If its under 200, I'm not supposed to give insulin right? What about just a little bit?
I'll be around this evening and tomorrow morning so I can watch closely.
 
Re: 8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343

If it's under 200, it's best to post and ask if it's the first time you've been there. The reason there's so much testing (especially at first) is so it's easier to "predict" where he might be going (from his past tests), how carb sensitive he is, when his nadir is (the time in the cycle where the Lantus is it's MOST effective) and how his numbers have been looking.

As for "housekeeping", as you get new test results, add them to your spreadsheet, and then come to your condo for that day and "Edit" the subject line to add your + numbers. If you have a question, use the ? icon you'll find directly above the "Subject" line (But it MUST be checked in your first post)

If it's an emergency, like a big drop in numbers and you're scared, use the 911 to get eyes looking as soon as possible. Once the "emergency" is over, you can take the 911 (or the ?) off by editing your first post again, and choosing "None" in the icon list

If Chinookie is at or below 200 at PMPS, I'd add the ? after you added "PMPS 194" (or whatever) and something like "Dose Advice please!" or "First 200...please help"..something to help those members who are most able to advise you to scan the board quickly and see that you need help

You should always try to get a +2...that number can tell you a lot regarding how active you can expect his cycle to be....of course they do like to throw us a curveball now and then, so that little voice in your head is an important part of this dance. Listen to it!
 
Re: 8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343, +6= 227, +9=221, PMPS =240

Thanks Chris! I live right next door to Versailles, PA. How do you guys pronounce it? ;-)
 
Re: 8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343, +6= 227, +9=221

I'm not sure if I'm figuring out how to do a condo yet, but I'm trying.
His PMPS was 240 so I gave one unit. Got the air bubble out eventually, but I had drawn in a fat one unit, and wasted a drop or so. Is that what most try to do? I'd be lost without you guys, and I don't even really know you! Thanks for all your help and support. I think Chinookie is doing so much better! He's not peeing around the house, but I think I'm still emptying out the litterbox more than should be normal... He comes upstairs to sleep with me now, but unfortunately he likes to sleep on my pillow. While my head is on it. I wake up to fur and kitty breath in my face...

.... I thought I lost the cat!! Looked all over the house... Freaking out! Found him in an empty box we hadn't taken out for recycling yet! He's never done that before! Warms my heart to see him acting like a normal kitty and exploring empty boxes!!!
 
Re: 8/1 Chinookie AMPS 343, +6= 227, +9=221

ErinElizabeth said:
I'm not sure if I'm figuring out how to do a condo yet, but I'm trying.
His PMPS was 240 so I gave one unit. Got the air bubble out eventually, but I had drawn in a fat one unit, and wasted a drop or so. Is that what most try to do? I'd be lost without you guys, and I don't even really know you! Thanks for all your help and support. I think Chinookie is doing so much better! He's not peeing around the house, but I think I'm still emptying out the litterbox more than should be normal... He comes upstairs to sleep with me now, but unfortunately he likes to sleep on my pillow. While my head is on it. I wake up to fur and kitty breath in my face...

.... I thought I lost the cat!! Looked all over the house... Freaking out! Found him in an empty box we hadn't taken out for recycling yet! He's never done that before! Warms my heart to see him acting like a normal kitty and exploring empty boxes!!!
Hi!

I don't know if I've introduced myself and my boy: I'm Kat from NE Ohio and Gobbles is my sugar-cat-in-remission. He went OTJ exactly 6 months from his FD diagnosis.

Sounds like you are doing great--I used to do the same thing with over-drawing to compensate getting the bubbles out--perfectly normal. I'm happy to read he's keeping his pee in the box--it may take a while for the peeing to slow down, but as he gets better regulated, there will be less pee output (and his appetite will probably decrease). And how wonderful to read he's sleeping with you :-D I have one cat, Nigel, who sleeps on my head and then Gobbles--sleeps next to my face; so I understand the fur and kitty breath. Though Gobbles goes a step further: licks my eyes, nostrils and mouth (with his butt breath!!!) until I wake up to feed him (the only recourse is to burrow under the covers) and then he escorts me to the bathroom and takes most or all of the TP off the roll. Kids!
 
And I love the warm feeling you get from seeing Chinookie feeling better!

I know what you're going through, believe me. If you get a chance, feel free to check out Gobbles' SS and see what a journey he and I had! I'm in constant shock that I still have hair left on my head :lol: No, really--his SS shows how a kitty MAY go up and down the dosing scale and how important extra tests are (and you are doing a good job getting extra tests in) :-D Also note that I kept track of his weight and vet visits, along with labs (extra sheet)--maybe more detail than you want, but if you have the time to do it, it is a good idea....

Keep to the Protocol and rest assured, you are in the best place you and Chinookie need to be! If you have any questions, anything at all, please ask us--remember, the only dumb question is the one that isn't asked...
 
In Versailles, MO (and I think PA too) it's pronounced "Ver SAY uhls" . You pronounce the "S" at the end. In Versailles, France, it's "Ver SIGH"

You're doing your condo perfect. We can easily see your test results throughout the day just from scanning the board.

As for your bubble, I draw a tad over the dose, then remove the syringe from the insulin vial (or pen). Then I pull back on the plunger just a little more to add more air. Thwap the barrel hard to get bubbles near the rubber part of the plunger to the top (where the other air is). Then slowly expel the excess air until you're at the exact dose. If there's still a little too much insulin, I just waste that drop or 2...they really are tiny drops. I've been told you can also "screw in" the plunger to control it better, but again, you'll see a drop or 2 coming out of the syringe. A little bubble of air shouldn't make a big deal, but we do want you to be as exact as possible in getting the same dose on each cycle.

As for the peeing...that was one of the big things I noticed when there was a big difference when I was scooping...but it takes some time to get there. Give it some time. It was about a month (at least) of insulin before I noticed a big difference

Put on those patience pants!!
 

Attachments

  • patience pants..green.jpg
    patience pants..green.jpg
    6.7 KB · Views: 161
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top