8/1 Bell AMPS 236, +2 203, +5 205, PMPS 208

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Hello, this is my first post on the Lantus board, appreciate the help!

Bell's numbers have flattened a bit in the last few days, even with an increase in dosage. In the first 2 or 3 weeks of starting Lantus, Bell was very reactive to even small doses - I even had to reduce dosage from 0.5 to 0.25 units because she hit <50 on 7/21.

My question is this: Do you feel like my insulin is reaching expiration? I've had it opened for around 30 days, but I know most here go quite a bit longer than that. Or is this the case of Bell's body just getting used to the insulin and not bouncing around so much? My concern is that if the insulin is reaching expiration and I keep upping her dosage, she'll be at way too high a dose when I do get fresh insulin.

Some additional background on what Bell is going through: She had an anal gland rupture over a month ago, and still has some lingering infection from that. She had a shot of Convenia, which didn't completely get rid of the infection, and now she is on dose #7 of 10 of Zydaclin. I know infections can raise BG numbers, which is why I bring this up, but she has been dealing with that since starting insulin. She is also taking a small dose of Tramadol, twice a day, for arthritis-related back pain.
 
Welcome to LLB. Lantus lasts for about 5-6 months once opened if stored in the refrigerator. Some have even used it longer. I suspect the infection is responsible for the BG you see. Dosing does change and it’s not uncommon for a dose that was too much at one point becomes too little. Unless you see green today or tonight you can increase to 1 unit. You just have not hit the right dose for her right now.
 
Back
Top