? 8/1 46 at 7.33 AM (last checked: 3.46 AM: 272)!!!

Shorshe was playful and affectionate after the last blood check at 3.46 AM for at least 20 minutes. I fell asleep after that. At 7.30-ish I fisrt fed her 16 gms of dry food (N&D Ocean: 16% carb). She ate it super fast. Then when I measure her BG it was 46! This has never happened before. I gave her 1 ml honey and offered her more dry food (14 gm) but she didn't eat much. She is walking around normally. Now drinking quite frequently.

I am skipping the morning dose. Or should I? Could it be a faulty strip? Unfortunately I have nearly run out of strips because yesterday about 10 were wasted from showing error (mostly because shorshe was unwilling to wait for me to prick and collect blood and kept shaking her head so it took too long and multiple pricks after which the strips + machine (contour plus) was returning error.

What should I do?
 
Yes skip. You need to keep her hungry. Check her bg 20-30 minutes after she ate. Post the results. This might continue for a long time. I’ll check back and help you.

If she shakes her head you can put tge blood on your fingernail and use that. Can you get more strips? How many do you have? I’d say test again now to see if it was an error but you don’t have many strips. How many do you have?
 
I have four and some more strips should reach me within the hour.
I tried testing again and it showed error due to not enough blood within 30 seconds time out. This has been happening a lot since yesterday. She is shaking her head and generally showing a lot more discomfort with testing. Probably the frequency of testing is making it painful for her. She also doesn't let me draw any blood from her right ear because she had an ear infection (now mostly under control and much less itchy) and she is very sensitive to being touched on that ear.

Are there human meters that require less blood? Alphatrak (animal) when I have used it before required way less blood than Contour Plus (but shows higher numbers). But the strips are not available in India and are incredibly expensive compared to human meter.


She is usually supposed to receive her shot at 8 AM (it's 8:15-ish here now). I am guessing I can skip and give her later upon retesting? How long can I postpone the shot till?

Also she is not displaying any signs of discomfort. I have noticed this before also when she had another hypo event (37 BG). Is that normal?
 
Last edited:
Ok. I think that 46 was for real. Feed a little of whatever he will eat and test in 30 minutes. You need to reduce the dose by .25 starting tonight. You can give insulin at the normal time. If you want to change your shot time for any reason now is a good time.
 
I have four and some more strips should reach me within the hour.
I tried testing again and it showed error due to not enough blood within 30 seconds time out. This has been happening a lot since yesterday. She is shaking her head and generally showing a lot more discomfort with testing. Probably the frequency of testing is making it painful for her. She also doesn't let me draw any blood from her right ear because she had an ear infection (now mostly under control and much less itchy) and she is very sensitive to being touched on that ear.

Are there human meters that require less blood? Alphatrak (animal) when I have used it before required way less blood than Contour Plus (but shows higher numbers). But the strips are not available in India and are incredibly expensive compared to human meter.


She is usually supposed to receive her shot at 8 AM (it's 8:15-ish here now). I am guessing I can skip and give her later upon retesting? How long can I postpone the shot till?

Also she is not displaying any signs of discomfort. I have noticed this before also when she had another hypo event (37 BG). Is that normal?

It’s been a long time since Max was diabetic. I used a Relion that did not use a lot of blood but they discontinued it.

Max got down to the 30’s but never was symptomatic other than being really hungry.

If the bg comes up and stays up without food for two hours it’s possible to give insulin but you would be way off schedule for several days because you can only shoot 15 minutes early each cycle. I’d just skip this dose completely.
 
I have no idea when you say the time as I am not in India. We talk in terms of +shot time. So if insulin is given at 8:15, 9:15 is +1 and 10:15 is +2. Our spreadsheet shows this. Have a look at my spreadsheet to see what I mean.
 
Would you please let Bhooma set up our spreadsheet for you?
Hi Elise ,:cat: it looks like the correct SS is set up now, take a look , but nothing is filled in, just the units and AMPS are filled in.
Looks like she will have to tap on the tab that says BG July 2024 up top and transfer the tests over to the correct SS
Maybe Bhooma can help her with that si it's done correctly ,but the last time Bhooma was around was last Sat. We have tagged her a few times already
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Hi Elise ,:cat: it looks like the correct SS is set up now, take a look , but nothing is filled in, just the units and AMPS are filled in.
Looks like she will have to tap on the tab that says BG July 2024 up top and transfer the tests over to the correct SS
Maybe Bhooma can help her with that si it's done correctly ,but the last time Bhooma was around was last Sat. We have tagged her a few times already
@tiffmaxee
I have filled it in now.
 
But was wondering if there's a better way to document when I am checking BG every 20 mins to 30 mins
@Madhura/Maddie

On your spreadsheet when you don't test on the hour you can put it like this on your spreadsheet . Here is an EXAMPLE

120 @4.5 then you will need to color code it manually :cat: ( Means you tested 4 hours and 30 minutes ) This would go in the +4 cell
.5 means a half hour
.25 means 15 minutes
.75 means 45 minutes

So you would enter the BG number then what I posted above
EXAMPLES ONLY
200 @+3.25. You would enter this in the +3 cell like that then color code it manually

200 @+3.5 means 3 hours and 30 minutes put it in the +3 cell color code it manually.

200 @+3 .75 means 3 hours and 45 minutes you would put it in the +3 cell then color code manually.
If it's 20 minutes you can just put @ 20 minutes


If you skipped giving the shot when you got the 46 BG you need to put Skip in the Unit Cell not 1.5

Just wondering on your SS for some of the doses you have 1.6?
Did you mean 1.5

What does the dose 1.4 mean for the AMPS ?

@Madhura/Maddie
 
Last edited:
No I meant 1.6. I didn;t skip[ the shot as after waiting and feeding food the BG shot upto over 200
@Madhura/Maddie
The only reason I thought you skipped because you said in your post #1
I am skipping the morning dose. Or should I?

In post #2 Elise said to skip
In post #4 Elise said
You need to skip because any test will be influenced by the hc food and honey. Since you will be getting more strips within the hour please test again.
The post numbers are to the right of each post
 
Looks like this is an active cycle. Feed a small amount of lc and check in an hour. You need to keep kitty hungry.
 
Back
Top