8/04 - Mačka AMPS 542, +3 354, +6 113, +7 108, +8 133? +10 486 no dose increase

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...89-11-180-should-i-shoot.217650/#post-2418843

Wow, that's another deep dip. I still do not understand why he has to go so high at AMPS and PMPS, as if the Lantus was not doing its job long enough...

I don't think I am going to increase the dose. I tested him 15 minutes before 113 and he was at 138, so clearly going down. I know these are safe numbers, but who knows what to expect with Macka.

I gave him his lunch at +6, hoping to leave the house and run errands, but now I am a little freaked here ^^; Going to wait an hour.
 
He's perfectly safe at 113. The longer you can keep him surfing the low blues / high greens using only LC, the better. It gives his body more time to get used to those lovely colours.

Here's some reading about flattening the curve. I can't find the stickie right now but it's repeated in Post #15 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
Thanks so much! very interesting. That's what I try to do, empirically at the moment...
Let's see if his LC bumps the numbers a little. I can already foresee the crazy bouncing tonight and tomorrow, ahhh!
 
+7 108 despite a good lunch.
Does this mean he is/was bound for greens today? I am wondering now if the dose is almost too much? And also, I just can't leave the house now and my husband is starving and waiting for me.....:p
 
He’s back up at +8, you can head out of the house now. Nice little surf in lower blues. SLGS says to hold the dose if you are seeing nadirs between 90 and 150, and you are. :cool:

I don’t think he was headed for greens, or if he was, at most high greens. Very safe numbers. Looks like the perfect dose for now if following SLGS.
 
He surfed indeed! Which is very good news. However, I left the house for 2 hours and came back to a 486 at +10 :nailbiting:

Still way too high on both ends, and still wondering what's causing it (apart from bouncing).
 
He barfed all his food right after finishing it. I gave him Cerenia and some water and still shot since he is so high. I wonder what caused it? I was wondering if he's fed up with Fancy Feast. Or maybe he was too hot? I don't think he was dehydrated (checked his gums and skin).

I gave a spoon of another food 20 minutes later. I will try to feed him again in 1 hour.
 
He barfed all his food right after finishing it. I gave him Cerenia and some water and still shot since he is so high. I wonder what caused it? I was wondering if he's fed up with Fancy Feast. Or maybe he was too hot? I don't think he was dehydrated (checked his gums and skin).

I gave a spoon of another food 20 minutes later. I will try to feed him again in 1 hour.
Maybe Macka ate too much too fast? Has he been keeping food down since your last post?
Also... do you keep to the same flavors of FF or switch among varieties? Maybe a particular ingredient doesn't sit as well with him.
 
Maybe Macka ate too much too fast? Has he been keeping food down since your last post?
Also... do you keep to the same flavors of FF or switch among varieties? Maybe a particular ingredient doesn't sit as well with him.
He kept the rest down yes, but I did not give any more Fancy Feast. He doesn't like it as much anymore anyway. I give him Hound and Gatos, Instinct, Ziwipeak, etc... better quality food (and mostly novel proteins). But his appetite is not crazy right now.

I am concerned because he's down since yesterday evening, wiggling a little, and I suspect his belly hurts because he's grumpy when I touch him.
And his AM and PM values are still so high, this is not normal. I can't believe it's just bouncing. He's on a rollercoaster everyday, and now he's yucky.
My next specialist vet appointment in on August 23 (not before ahh....). I wrote to them a few times but I don't get any answer on why he's so high at AM and PM. Not sure where to find answer anymore.

I wish I could bring those numbers down without hurting the mid-cycle! Do I need to increase the dose even though he reached 108 (at least yesterday)?
 
Yes you're right. I will hold the dose for a moment and see what his curves look like. Patience....
I guess food changes upset the tummy, but Macka has always been a good eater, and a eater of literally anything. He's usually solid.
It's been very hot the last few days, indoor and outdoor. I wondered if there was a connection with how he felt? Right now he's sleeping by the entry door, and I left the mail box open so that more fresh air comes in lol.

Thank you for the link, I read it too. Very interesting indeed! I would need to read it many times, as there are some intense concepts in there and it's difficult to absorb them all at once :)
I don't know what to do with SLGS and TR. Should I try TR? Under TR, I should increase the dose to see greens is that correct?

I hope that Fig goes into nicer colors too VERY SOON. I'm sure he will though, once you find the right dose! Keeping my eyes on his SS every day ;)
 
I was just thinking about the heat as well and came back to post about it!! Figaro's appetite has been a bit diminished in the heat as well. Not a ton, but noticeably so.

Only you can decide if TR is right for you and Macka. But you test a lot - much more than me! So you have good solid data to help you make informed decisions. Personally I got to the point where I realized I need to stop being afraid of relatively small increases--it's not like I'm shooting blindly--Figaro needs that insulin, and the risks of hyperglycemia are great, even if they are not as acute. I keep on learning and it makes me more confident.

Thank you for keeping an eye on Figaro! I am watching Macka every day too, and sending vines :bighug:
 
Back
Top