79 at preshot

Martas

Member
Hello!
My cat is in prozinc, 2.5 ui. I use a veterinary glucometer.
This night her preshot 79. I fed her and I measured at an hour and a half after and she was at 152. I phoned the vet and he tells me to give her half his dose, 1,25, but it seems me excessive. I've put her 0.6 ui.
And tomorrow? she has always been in the 400 and I do not know what to do

@Gill & George puedes ayudarme con la traducción? Estoy tan nerviosa....

thank you very much!
 
Did you give a shot last night? It doesn't look like it. If not, that is good and she will be fine.

A 488 this morning isn't that surprising since she didn't get a shot last night. Remember that meant she didn't have any insulin, so her BG was probably rising all night. It's hard to give good advice right now because it doesn't look like your SS is up to date. You say she is on 2.5 normally?
 
Did you give a shot last night? It doesn't look like it. If not, that is good and she will be fine.

A 488 this morning isn't that surprising since she didn't get a shot last night. Remember that meant she didn't have any insulin, so her BG was probably rising all night. It's hard to give good advice right now because it doesn't look like your SS is up to date. You say she is on 2.5 normally?
Hello
last night I waited for her to go up to 153 and I put him only 0.6 ui
and this morning her preshot is at 488.
she is in 2.5 ui
I do not know how much to put today
 
That higher reading today is probably the result of a bounce from the lower reading of 79 yesterday that Cuki is not accustomed to. Bounces can last for up to 3 days so BG may be elevated for a few more cycles. In the meantime, I think you can safely give her the half dose suggested by the vet (1.25u). That might actually be a bit low but you can always raise the dose in a couple of days if need be.

Google Translation:
Que la lectura más alta hoy es probablemente el resultado de un rebote de la inferior 79 ayer que Cuki no está acostumbrado a. Los rebotes pueden durar hasta 3 días, por lo que BG puede elevarse durante algunos ciclos más. Mientras tanto, creo que puede darle con seguridad la mitad de la dosis sugerida por el veterinario (1.25 u). Eso podría ser en realidad un poco bajo, pero siempre se puede aumentar la dosis en un par de días si es necesario.
 
That higher reading today is probably the result of a bounce from the lower reading of 79 yesterday that Cuki is not accustomed to. Bounces can last for up to 3 days so BG may be elevated for a few more cycles. In the meantime, I think you can safely give her the half dose suggested by the vet (1.25u). That might actually be a bit low but you can always raise the dose in a couple of days if need be.

Google Translation:
Que la lectura más alta hoy es probablemente el resultado de un rebote de la inferior 79 ayer que Cuki no está acostumbrado a. Los rebotes pueden durar hasta 3 días, por lo que BG puede elevarse durante algunos ciclos más. Mientras tanto, creo que puede darle con seguridad la mitad de la dosis sugerida por el veterinario (1.25 u). Eso podría ser en realidad un poco bajo, pero siempre se puede aumentar la dosis en un par de días si es necesario.
Thank you very much for answering.
I will do what you say, and increase in 3 days if she continues so high.
I wonder if I can advance the shot 1 hour, can I?
I try to use the search engine, but by not speaking English I can not find what I'm looking for ...
 
Yes you can safely give the insulin shot an hour early as long as the pre-shot BG is high enough to give insulin.

Google Translation:

Sí, puede dar a la insulina un disparo una hora antes, siempre y cuando el pre-Shot BG sea lo suficientemente alto como para dar insulina.
 
Back
Top