7 cycles down, crossing my fingers!

Way to go Gato! And Michelle... I love your food chart!

We're spreadsheet nerds! I haven't worked on it in a bit, they are actually mostly on bff play and weruva original pates which I haven't added to the list. But until we landed on some stuff they all liked and fell within the ideal carb values and protien/fat ratios, it really helped me to map it out like this.
 
Seven days insulin free with great BG numbers! Seven down and seven more to go, and then it's officially you-know-what. (Shh... I don't want to say the word out loud.) I recently had 4 days with no shots for Jack, and I was worried about his low blues amidst the mostly wonderful greens. So I thought it wasn't time. However, in another thread (that I sort of hijacked), @Djamila told me that those lower blues are fine providing that he brings his BG down on his own. For example, Jack gave me a PMPS of 104, but at +2.5 he was 69, all w/o insulin. She explained that sometimes it takes a couple of days for the body to self correct. And don't worry if he gives you a few low blues (up to 120) during this trial. That's OK. Just breathe...
 
Last edited:
Good to hear jacks nadir has been good even with a low blue. We've been kind of slacking in the mid cycle test department, giving him a bit of a break. I had to buy a different brand of lancets this week and while they SAID they were the same gauge they look to be a much thicker gauge. :banghead: Gato is not fond of them.

I'm hopeful he keeps it up!
 
Gato is looking good. And I see you weren't home right at test time and tested a couple of hours later last night. Isn't that a great feeling to have some flexibility in your schedule again?!? I love seeing kitties getting healthy!
 
We've been kind of slacking in the mid cycle test department
Jack would be highly disappointed if I didn't test him when I'm able to. :) He stands at the bathroom door (he's tested in there, and his treats are in the cabinet under the sink) and waits patiently. He would do just about anything for freeze dried duck livers or shrimp. Too cute...
I had to buy a different brand of lancets this week and while they SAID they were the same gauge they look to be a much thicker gauge. :banghead: Gato is not fond of them.
I have not found all lancets--with the same size gauge--to be created equal. Jack and I have our favorites too. :D
 
Gato is looking good. And I see you weren't home right at test time and tested a couple of hours later last night. Isn't that a great feeling to have some flexibility in your schedule again?!? I love seeing kitties getting healthy!

It was really nice to have that flexibility again! Something we haven't enjoyed the past few months. We had errands to run and then wanted to go to dinner. We considered coming home between the two but I figured he's doing so good, we may as well save the time and gas money! And indeed they were just fine. In fact, they were pretty happy with a 4p pre dinner and 10p late munch.
 
Back
Top