7/9 Tessa PMPS 177 +1.5 104 +2 66 +2.5 58 +3 61 +3.5 62 +4 65 +4.5 61 +5 59 +5.5 70 +6 85 +6.5 91

tessa's mom

Active Member
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...5-195-8-5-203-pmps-218-2-172-increase.291868/

I'm wondering if this dose is too high because she is dropping fast and is quite low for this early in the cycle. I tested twice at +2 and it was 66 both times. Should I give some MC to slow her down?

Sorry I skipped the AM numbers in the title, I figured that they were pretty irrelevant for questions about the PM cycle.
 
Yes, please give her some MC to slow her down. If the dose is too high, she will let you know by earning a reduction :)

Thank you! A teaspoon, correct? Like the measuring spoon teaspoon? And how often? I was planning on testing her at +2.5, would that be a good time to give it to her?
 
What % carbs is your lc? You could definitely give a little 10% with some lc. Keep him hungry so not too much. For a reduction he would need to go under 50. If you can keep him above 50 with food that will be good. Test again in 30-60 minutes after eating.
 
What % carbs is your lc? You could definitely give a little 10% with some lc. Keep him hungry so not too much. For a reduction he would need to go under 50. If you can keep him above 50 with food that will be good. Test again in 30-60 minutes after eating.

She gets Fancy Feast classic pate so around 3% according to Dr. Pierson's chart but I know others have said it's closer to 6%. I have 15% MC (FF Gravy Lovers) and 20% HC (Science Diet) in her hypo kit.

You want to give it to her right away and a tsp of it is fine.

Okay, will do!
 
Since Tessa was diagnosed in 2022, she's considered a long term diabetic. That means that under TR she has to go under 40 to earn a reduction, or spend a week in green numbers.
 
Just gave a tsp of FF Gravy Lovers at 9:25pm (+2.4). Should I remove access to her timed feeder? She would normally get 1/3 of a can of her normal food at +3, do I let her have that or not?
 
Since Tessa was diagnosed in 2022, she's considered a long term diabetic. That means that under TR she has to go under 40 to earn a reduction, or spend a week in green numbers.

Thanks Wendy! I think I'm just a bit nervous that I'm going to steer her away from the low numbers tonight but then miss them another night. This is so stressful.
 
58 at +2.5. Gave her a tsp of LC while I wait to hear back on how often to give MC and if I should let her eat her normal food at +3. She's had 2/3 of a can of her normal food so far this cycle, she normally eats 1.5 cans during the cycle. Then she's had 2 additional tsp of food, 1 MC and 1 LC.
 
All my helpers disappeared so I'm flying blind here. I am letting her eat her normal +3 meal. I'm probably wrong as always but I don't know what else to do.
 
You don't want to change how much she eats overall for that cycle. If you have to give her a couple tsps higher carb, take those couple tsps out of her feeder food. You also don't want to fill her up right now in case you need her to eat later.
 
You don't want to change how much she eats overall for that cycle. If you have to give her a couple tsps higher carb, take those couple tsps out of her feeder food. You also don't want to fill her up right now in case you need her to eat later.

Okay, thank you! I did try searching to get the answer to this but there's really not much info that I could find but I may have missed it.
 
okay maybe the food mix up was a blessing in disguise because she's at 59 half an hour later so she likely would have been even lower had I not given her MC. I gave her another tsp of MC after her +5 test.
 
Honestly I don't know if I can keep doing this. I know I'm not supposed to drop her dose unless she hits 40 but I feel like if I had not intervened tonight she would have hit and by intervening, I am just setting myself up for more nights like this and I don't know if I can handle that.
 
I think you're OK for the night. It's late in the cycle and she's significantly higher now.

Thank you and sorry for being so whiny. If I could call in tomorrow I think I wouldn't have been so stressed out but we're down 2 people out of the normal 5 that work my shift so calling in isn't really an option. I'm gonna go sleep now and let Tessa get a break from the pokes until morning.
 
Back
Top