Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
I am just tickled that Mel finally explained something to me that others have mentioned, on my 7/7 - 7/8 thread, and I so appreciate this thinking outside the box!
Pumbaa got another dose reduction tonight, not based on a BG number below 50, but based on a high number above 400.
I've questioned from the very beginning how Pumbaa, on insulin, could be exhibiting higher numbers than he would have without any insulin. And I trusted the responses, about giving the pancreas time to heal, and how you have to break the glucose toxicity levels, etc. And we tried all of that. And that can be true of some cats, but Pumbaa has been a bouncer/diver from day one, and I know for a fact that reducing his dose from a fat 2.0U on 6/29 to 1.50U broke him of his trend of one day of lows followed by six days of highs (thank you, Sheila and Mel!). If that wasn't evidence of Somogyi rebound, I don't know what is.
I've been perplexed for months when Pumbaa has had black and red numbers, when his pre-insulin numbers were low pinks and high yellows, and it now makes sense that even in a bounce, he shouldn't be exhibiting those red and black numbers unless his insulin is just too high!
So, I have taken Pumbaa down to 1.25U, and pray for the best for my little guy. I just want him to feel great, all the time, and and have his body deal with blood sugars easily, without huge bounces and dives. While I would love to get to remission status, right now I only care about getting Pumbaa in blue numbers every day, regularly.
Suze
Pumbaa got another dose reduction tonight, not based on a BG number below 50, but based on a high number above 400.
I've questioned from the very beginning how Pumbaa, on insulin, could be exhibiting higher numbers than he would have without any insulin. And I trusted the responses, about giving the pancreas time to heal, and how you have to break the glucose toxicity levels, etc. And we tried all of that. And that can be true of some cats, but Pumbaa has been a bouncer/diver from day one, and I know for a fact that reducing his dose from a fat 2.0U on 6/29 to 1.50U broke him of his trend of one day of lows followed by six days of highs (thank you, Sheila and Mel!). If that wasn't evidence of Somogyi rebound, I don't know what is.
I've been perplexed for months when Pumbaa has had black and red numbers, when his pre-insulin numbers were low pinks and high yellows, and it now makes sense that even in a bounce, he shouldn't be exhibiting those red and black numbers unless his insulin is just too high!
So, I have taken Pumbaa down to 1.25U, and pray for the best for my little guy. I just want him to feel great, all the time, and and have his body deal with blood sugars easily, without huge bounces and dives. While I would love to get to remission status, right now I only care about getting Pumbaa in blue numbers every day, regularly.
Suze