7/9 Pumbaa AMPS/224 +3/286 +6/226 +9/344 PMPS/430 WTF?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I am just tickled that Mel finally explained something to me that others have mentioned, on my 7/7 - 7/8 thread, and I so appreciate this thinking outside the box!

Pumbaa got another dose reduction tonight, not based on a BG number below 50, but based on a high number above 400.

I've questioned from the very beginning how Pumbaa, on insulin, could be exhibiting higher numbers than he would have without any insulin. And I trusted the responses, about giving the pancreas time to heal, and how you have to break the glucose toxicity levels, etc. And we tried all of that. And that can be true of some cats, but Pumbaa has been a bouncer/diver from day one, and I know for a fact that reducing his dose from a fat 2.0U on 6/29 to 1.50U broke him of his trend of one day of lows followed by six days of highs (thank you, Sheila and Mel!). If that wasn't evidence of Somogyi rebound, I don't know what is.

I've been perplexed for months when Pumbaa has had black and red numbers, when his pre-insulin numbers were low pinks and high yellows, and it now makes sense that even in a bounce, he shouldn't be exhibiting those red and black numbers unless his insulin is just too high!

So, I have taken Pumbaa down to 1.25U, and pray for the best for my little guy. I just want him to feel great, all the time, and and have his body deal with blood sugars easily, without huge bounces and dives. While I would love to get to remission status, right now I only care about getting Pumbaa in blue numbers every day, regularly.

Suze
 
That is a great case for the dose reduction. If good intentions could regulate our cats, we wouldn't need insulin. Chip was also stuck on big red PMPS, in fact he was under the weather all day. About time for some Detemir relief.

Pumbaa said:
Chippendale's:

Beck the Border Collie is my shadow, my protector, my best home security system, my shrink, my daily companion, etc. I can't believe that she's now nearly 10-1/2, and Border Collies normally live 10-12 years. I pray she's not the norm, 'cause it will break my heart when she goes. I've had her longer than any of the previous 3 (that I know of) owners. At 18 months, she was on at least her 3rd owner, and countless times in rescue and foster care. She's such a beautiful and loving girl, but her previous owners just didn't provide her with the jobs that Border Collies need. Thankfully, raising Pumbaa was one of the jobs that she took over. :) The below photo was the first time 22-month-old Beck and 8-week-old Pumbaa met for the first time. I was a cat person my entire life, and the first time I met Beck, I was afraid of her. I can't believe I was ever afraid of this sweet dog. But I have no doubt that she would rip the throat out of anyone who tried to harm me, because of her dedication and loyalty and love for me. And it's mutual. :)
I could tell she is very special. Is Beck short for Becky? That's great, a shrink named Becky? Guess I need one too. You know cats don't make good shrinks. They make you need good shrinks. :-D
 
From what I understand of her history, Beck's real name is BEAG, which means "goddess of wisdom" in Celtic. Very fitting for a very smart Border Collie.

If good intentions could regulate our cats, we wouldn't need insulin.
Wouldn't that be an ideal world? :)

My two cats are also good for my mental health, at times. *LOL* I get so much loving from both of them, when I'm not chasing them down for testing or claw trimming. :( If I get prone in bed or on the sofa, one of my cats is on my chest purring and kneading me and giving and wanting loving. While Beck is also demanding attention. This makes it really difficult since I have 3 pets and only 2 hands. *LOL*

Pumbaa is the only one who makes me need a shrink, and that is because of dealing with his FD and Lantus and his bounces and dives! *LOL* Otherwise, my animules are the best therapy I could get! There is nothing like the unconditional love of a pet, is there?

Suze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
About time for some Detemir relief.
I am so looking forward to seeing how Chip reacts to being on Levemir vs. Lantus!

Like I said in a previous post, not having Pumbaa deal with the sting of the Lantus injection, and run away from his food, would be enough for me to switch. One of these days....

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
From what I understand of her history, Beck's real name is BEAG, which means "goddess of wisdom" in Celtic. Very fitting for a very smart Border Collie.
So she keeps great company. Athena, Sophia, the Owl of Minerva.

Cat Woman?

You can't really change a dogs name. They always know their name. Cats respond more to just the tone of voice?

Change Pumbaa to Zoomba or Larrumba and call with the same tone. He won't know the difference? :lol:

They all respond to the universal cat call: Kitty, Kitty, Kitty. Here Kitty, Kitty, Kitty. All barn cats do. I think they all heard that once as a kitten? Or when any cat witnesses one or more who knows what that means, they learn fast it means you better be quick or it will all be gone.

Pumbaa said:
...I am so looking forward to seeing how Chip reacts to being on Levemir vs. Lantus!

Like I said in a previous post, not having Pumbaa deal with the sting of the Lantus injection, and run away from his food, would be enough for me to switch. One of these days....

Suze
It will be interesting.

Chip had Pumbaa's idea for the overnight blue dive. This one was the standard 185. How many time has Chip had a reading between 180-185. Must be a particular quickly dissipating counter regulatory hormone which takes him to high pink or red. And some other longer acting factor which holds him to that same mid blue. @-)
 
You are a brave girl, Suze! Hope the new dose can work for Pumbba!
Pls constant check on his ketone to play safe. Hugs!
 
Thank you, Helen! Time will tell if this is going to help Pumbaa, or not. I am thrilled that reducing his dose to 1.50U broke his pattern of one day of lows followed by six days of highs, so maybe this reduction will even out his bounces a bit? I'm praying!

And yes, I will keep my eye on his ketones, thank you for the reminder!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top