7/9 Nala AMPS 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosannaf

Member Since 2011
First post this morning at 2:03AM: http://tinyurl.com/3o8xhdg

Thank you especially to Ronnie & Luna and Sienne and Gabby for your very thoughtful responses to my post very early on Saturday morning.

@Ronnie & Luna: Thank you so much for the suggestion of retesting again if I do measure in the 40s. It didn't even cross my mind to test again in 20-30 minutes, but it makes perfect sense! I stayed up with Nala and gave her some extra snacks. I eventually feel asleep while I was trying to send my post on the forums.

After reading the post "Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers", does that mean I should feed Nala a teaspoon of HC food when she ever goes below 50? Or only feed her the HC food when she's under 50 AND shows any symptoms of being hypoglycemic?

Yes, I am planning to go on vacation in November if possible. I can still cancel it if I don't feel comfortable with leaving Nala. My sister or dad usually watch over my cats while I'm away on trips. I already know my dad will not be able to do any testing. I probably will be able to teach my sister to do some testing (she's a RN anyway), but the question is whether or not she will be willing to do it. I'm seriously thinking about looking for a pet sitter that I can pay and trust enough to do the preshot testing and measuring the accurate amount of Lantus to inject. Is there a service on the messages board to find local members that work as pet sitters?

@Sienne and Gabby: Thank you again for your responses! I know I have received at least 2 or 3 different responses from you and I truly appreciate it very much.

Due to my work schedule (sometimes 6-7 days/week, 12+ hours/day sometimes), it can be very difficult for me to get all the numbers in her curve. I've been trying very hard to get her +6 at least during one cycle and that's quite difficult enough with my schedule. I will follow your decision and get some more +2 and see how Nala is doing. After I get more +2, should I then try to get some more +10 or +11? I think I had read that the +8 +9 and +4 +5 yield less important data.

Thank you!

Rosanna
 
It sounds like your work schedule is grueling. If you can't get spot checks during the day, do as much as you can to get some additional tests at night and on your days off. I tend to like to get a +2 because if it's lower than the pre-shot, there's a good chance you'll see a busy cycle. (Your +2 should be roughly the same as your pre-shot test.)

Whether to feed HC food when a cat that's within a year of diagnosis has a BG test that falls below 50 is really a matter of knowing your cat. Jill's Alex will get a 30 point bump in her numbers if Jill feeds low carb. Other cats will need a 20% carb food to get that same 30 point bump. Basically, you don't want to leave your cat surfing in the 30s or 40s. You want to make sure you get the numbers up at least into the 50s or 60s which gives your more latitude if Nala's numbers should drop again as the effect of HC food wears off. Most of our cats drop into low numbers (since that's the way a dose reduction is earned). When they do this, they do not have symptoms of hypoglycemia. You want to prevent a hypoglycemic episode so we encourage feeding before your cat is symptomatic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top