7/9 Morgaine AMPS 194, +6 154, PMPS 140.+4 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

I notice that despite eating more food in her AM cycle, Morgaine has lower numbers than her PM cycle and she certainly is higher overnight. Anyone know why that is? I only feed her two times during the PM cycle and I feed her 3 times plus a snack in the AM cycle. She is not anymore active in the AM cycle and is probably more active at night. Is there ever a time where you give a bit more insulin in the PM cycle to compensate for this or do we always give the exact same amount in the AM and PM cycle? I know that my own basal rates with a pump are different every 4 hours but my over night basal rates are lower than my daytime rates. Morgaine is highest at her AMPS. Guess i need to look at some SS for other kitties to see if there is a similar pattern.
 
Re: 7/9 Morgaine AMPS 194 and a question about PM numbers?

Rosalie:

I would not adjust her insulin and give her different doses in the AM and PM cycles. It is very common for cats to have a higher AMPS due to the dawn phenomenon where hormones are dumped into their system overnight. The AMPS number is typically the last number to come down as a cat goes down the dosing scale to OTJ. Some cats have their lower cycles in the AM, some in the PM, and some mix it up. I wouldn't worry about it. I'd look at her cycles as a whole and what her nadir is and then follow protocol to adjust doses; but you want to stay consistent on what you shoot in the AM and PM.
 
Re: 7/9 Morgaine AMPS 194 and a question about PM numbers?

Thanks Marjorie. I knew about the dawn effect in my own experience and it makes sense now. So even as they come close to going OTJ, their AM numbers may still be a little elevated. I think Morgaine will probably need a bit more to get her going into the green but I am okay with this for now and will complete the 10 cycles. It was just nice to see that her body returns to normal, ie no PD/PU when her numbers are lower. I was terribly concerned that her kidneys were having issues but now I do believe it has been the diabetes all along. Perhaps the diabetes is also the cause of her high triglycerides. She seems to feel better and is more interested in grooming her lovely self these days.
 
Re: 7/9 Morgaine AMPS 194, +6 154

Yes, she is doing really good today. No PD/PU since her AMPS.

I am so grateful that this symptom has stopped with lower numbers. Vets were convinced that she could have early renal issues and I feared it as well since her urine was dilute and her USG was lower than normal as well as the constant PD/PU for months. Since my blood tests were all looking so good, it appeared that diabetes was under control and now i am convinced it was not.

So, I am sorry to go on about this but i would much prefer to deal with the diabetes and not have to deal with kidney issues. My heart goes out to all who know what i mean. I lost my last kitty to CRF and really did fear it was Mogaine's current issue as well. RELIEF!!!! My baby girl is feeling so much better and looking better as well. Thirsty kitties don't seem to have enough saliva to want to groom themselves. At least Morgaine didn't. Today she was making sure to make up for lost time and i must say I smiled as she gave herself a nice bath.

Giving her a little break from too many blood tests today as I am going to be doing many more once we up that dose a bit.

I have also been using the neosporin creme on her ears and she seems to enjoy my rubbing that in at bedtime. Thanks to the wonderful member who suggested that. I am sorry I do not recall who it was.
 
Re: 7/9 Morgaine AMPS 194, +6 154

Glad to hear Morgainw is feeling better!

skybar22 said:
Perhaps the diabetes is also the cause of her high triglycerides.

Reading that reminded me, when BK was first diagnosed, his cholesterol was high and the vet said that was common w/diabetes. . . . I'm not sure if that is true or not ( we eventually dumped that vet ) I'll have to look back on his various BW results. . .

You two are making great progress!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top