7/9 Junior AMPS 317, check 7/8 request

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73429

Morning,
Lots been going on, haven't been updating for a week or so...

Yesterday was very interesting, low numbers, gave 1 unit instead of 2 because he was low all day, not just nadir.
He was happy, playful, took a nap with Momma.

I knew it would be high this morning, but it wasn't that bad, though still PINK.

Should be back to more normal on getting his numbers also!

Good day to all! Meow!
 
Hey, Kay!!

I have a bit of coaching for you. At this point, you're not a newbie any more. I think Junior would benefit if you would consider shooting lower numbers. I'm not suggesting that you'd be comfortable shooting in the 50s, but shooting a 148 is perfectly fine. We generally tell newbies to wait for guidance if they get a 150 pre-shot so for an experienced caregiver like yourself, shooting that 148 should be a piece of cake. You know how to test and if you ever have a question about low numbers, there are people on this Board who can help you, often 24/7. There are also posts to fall back on if there's no one around:
You may also want to give some thought to how much you reduce Junior's dose if you are going to give a temporary reduction due to a low pre-shot. Reducing by 1.0u has a whopping effect on the insulin depot. In Junior's case, that was a 50% reduction in his dose. The next time, you may want to look at Libby's post on low pre-shots. Junior was having such a good cycle that it would have been great if the momentum kept going.
 
Hi Sienne,

You have more confidence in me than I do...I know I am not a newbie anymore, but sometimes I feel like it.

He was so low all day, I just wasn't sure, and I knew I had to shoot, just was not comfortable with 2 units, and you are right, I could have gone with 1.5, and should have cuz now we have a pink #...
I had my sticky notes out all day, reading and re-reading, thinking, looking back at other days,...big problem with no computer for 24/7 access.

I will not mess this up again, I promise to Junior.

Thanks Sienne as always for your thoughts & understanding.

k.
 
Hi Kay,
I haven't been to your condo before, so just wanted to say Good Morning to you and Junior. I am sure you will get Junior back on track with the dosing. I sometimes feel like a Newbie here, too, when I get a low number. Have a nice day.
 
Shooting lower numbers is always unnerving the first few times. It doesn't help if your computer isn't cooperating. We're here to back you up even if it's just to help you weigh the options so you can make decisions that you're comfortable with. Sometimes, you have to see the outcome of being extra cautious so you have the data for the next time. No worries -- Junior will give you another opportunity to shoot a lower number.
 
And I will be ready, willing? and able to shoot the next low number I get.

and Junior had such a nice day yesterday being low...we will persevere, and succeed!

k and little guy ( nickname)
 
hi guys .. at least it's a low pink! Shooting those lower numbers the first few times is definitely scary, especially if you're having problems getting online for support .. But hopefully the 'puter problems are gone and junior comes back down for you .. have a great day!
 
Hi Devon,

Yes , a low pink, and next time I get low numbers, I hope to see no pinks after!

Have a great day!

Kay and Junior
 
I just wanted to offer support. Shooting low, no matter how low, just a new low for you, is stressful and nerve wracking. I've had to push the limits of my confidence a lot lately. You can do it though. Just make sure you're always stocked up supplies wise and have plenty of whatever would constitute as a treat for a job well done on your end. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top