I'm really sorry about this but I'm going to burst your bubble and say that I think it's too soon for Jack to be off insulin.
My vet told me that the goal for diabetic cats is for their BG to be between 150 and 200, which sounds like what your vet is thinking too. I wonder if your vet is familiar with the two leading protocols in managing feline diabetes: Rand and Tilly. Rand has shown success in remission when owners aimed for 50-100 on a human meter (equivalent of 80-130 on AlphaTrak).
Here's the link to the study and the one of the parts that says that is at the very bottom of page 13.
Here is the link to the Tilly protocol, the other leading study.
The cats that have been successful at FDMB are the ones that have been s-l-o-w-l-y weaned off. That means going from 1u down to .5u to .25u to .1u and then start a 2 week trial. If you'd like to see a recent successful one, check out Curry's
spreadsheet. You want them as green as possible at the end.
I took my cat to 2 vets last week and both of them said that I'm over treating Junior. Judging by what they were saying (and what your vet is saying), I don't think they had a thorough knowledge of the 2 leading research studies.
- One said I should stop immediately and the other said I should stop shooting and testing for a week, even though his numbers are similar to Jack's
- One said not to test him for a few days. Why not? Isn't it better to have too much data and catch problems early than not enough? So I keep testing.
- One said my cat will hypo. It's not going to happen because I test him often (and not even as often as other people here). I have my hypo kit ready. I know what to do. I also know I can trust this board to guide me through it.
The hardest part is trying reconcile what your vet is telling you and what you're seeing on this board. After 5 months of listening to the advice from my 2 vets and this board, I've learned to trust this board more. That's hard to swallow when they have the medical degree and we don't. But from my experience, vets are more generalists whereas the folks here do nothing but live and breathe feline diabetes.
So I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news. I really am! But I'd put Jack back on (I'm not an expert -- ask for guidance here on this) and test him frequently until his spreadsheet looks similar to Curry's and the other 185 cats that have gone into remission through here.
Bonnie