7/9 Dyson AMPS 49 +1 75 +3 71 +6 69

kthondragon

Member
Previous 7/8 Thread
Last night he ended at 11pm with a low number. I gave him some higher carb food to just get him through to the nadir... and then he shows up this morning with a reading of 49 at his AMPS!? (Fed him his "emergency" gravy food for breakfast to counter the 49.)
This cat!

Does that mean it's time to drop to 4.5u? After the last bad couple days that he had... he's still fighting strongly to get better, apparently.

Also, adding a photo to show how far he's come with all of your help.
upload_2024-7-9_16-23-46.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-9_16-23-46.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-9_16-23-46.jpeg
    52 KB · Views: 39
Last edited:
First of all, that 49 means don't shoot. I suggest you review this Sticky Note: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot There is a section that talks about preshot values below 50.

A better approach would have been to stall 15-20 minutes, without feeding, to see if he was coming up on his own. If not, then a little low carb food would have been appropriate. You do not want to shoot a carb influenced number when they are low. Only shoot 50 and above without carb influence.

If a dose gets him below 50, and as a newly diagnosed cat, he earns a reduction.

You also may wish to rethink your strategy of what food you leave out when he's low at night when you go to bed. Personally I like to see kitty stable or rising before calling it a night.
 
First of all, that 49 means don't shoot. I suggest you review this Sticky Note: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot There is a section that talks about preshot values below 50.

A better approach would have been to stall 15-20 minutes, without feeding, to see if he was coming up on his own. If not, then a little low carb food would have been appropriate. You do not want to shoot a carb influenced number when they are low. Only shoot 50 and above without carb influence.

If a dose gets him below 50, and as a newly diagnosed cat, he earns a reduction.

You also may wish to rethink your strategy of what food you leave out when he's low at night when you go to bed. Personally I like to see kitty stable or rising before calling it a night.

Thank you... it really is so much information, it's so hard to constantly keep track, so thank you for the reminder.

We tested his AMPS at 7:45, fed him... and then he was tested again at 8am and was at 52. Would that have been considered carb induced? I didn't think it would have hit his bloodstream that quickly.

Regarding the leaving out food. What would you recommend on that? Since he can't have dry food, it's usually just some of his normal food.
 
Dyson looks amazing! You all are doing a great job with him. I learn something new from all the sticky notes every time i reread them - it is a lot of information and some might not stick until you encounter the particular situation.
 
Do you have somewhat higher %carb LC or medium carb on hand? If nothing else, I would have tested half hour after than 57 to make sure that was the nadir.
 
We do have some medium carb food, so we can work with that. We will also be getting a +4(midnight) reading any time we are awake for it, and keeping a better eye on low readings at night.
 
Back
Top