7/9 Billie PMPS 183 +2 181 +3.5 182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Good morning!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121454

Billie gave me a good scare yesterday! She broke a bounce by going from 230 at +4 to 53 at +6.5. Then she bounced again, broke that bounce a cycle later, and now she's bouncing again but already seems to be headed for blue.

I am very very happy to see that she is breaking these bounces so quickly, but I am wondering if there are any strategies I haven't tried that could help flatten her numbers out. It seems that whenever she breaks a bounce, it triggers another bounce.

She is currently eating about 1 oz of 4-6% food at PS, +1, +2, +3, +4, and more as needed if she is low or dropping. She doesn't always eat a full ounce at all of these times, but in general, she is getting smaller meals spread out and grazing rather than eating one big meal at PS. I think this works for her, but she still has those nutty drops.

Has anyone experimented with higher carb food, maybe around 10% carb to slow drops? I'm wondering if 10% earlier in the cycle is worth a try for a few days.

If anyone has any other ideas, please feel free to share! Thank you!! :smile:
 
Re: 7/9 Billie AMPS 325 +2.5 209 bouncy/food experiment?

I've tired the 10% when Max starts to drop too much and have been able to prevent him from going under 50 but not so much from bouncing. I thought it was working but he is back to bouncing again. Max is I think an unusual case as he had had chronic pancreatitis for so long that his pancreas is trashed I think. Theoretically slowing the drop should help level things out so it is worth a try.
 
Re: 7/9 Billie AMPS 325 +2.5 209 bouncy/food experiment?

It's worth a try...Might look for some foods in the 8-10% range and just try them out

Nothing ventured, nothing gained!

Some kitties are just bouncier than others and it doesn't seem much of anything works...and then there are kitties that bounce for no reason whatsover (China's driving me bonkers today....LOL)

Hope you find something that works for Billie!
 
Re: 7/9 Billie AMPS 325 +2.5 209 +4 170 +6 135

Thanks Elise and Chris!! I'll give it a try for a couple days. Sorry to hear that Max and China are bouncing too.
 
Re: 7/9 Billie AMPS 325 +2.5 209 +4 170 +6 135

you could certainly try it, but like i said yesterday, i don't know how you could possibly have predicted that drop yesterday. i wouldn't feed a higher carb randomly with a 200+ BG. If only we had a crystal ball to predict what she was going to do.

some cats continue bouncing all the way to OTJ. I think what you're doing is pretty good - she's had dose reductions and is holding them and still being in greens. you're getting a lot of nadirs in the 50-60's. i'd continue holding this dose for now.
 
Re: 7/9 Billie AMPS 325 +2.5 209 +4 170 +6 135 +7 177

Hi Deanna, you had extra excitement yesterday, Billie kept you plenty busy! I don't have advice either, except that someone needs to a.) invent a device that will test our kitties BG at night time when we are asleep and wake us if needed; 2.) we all need a crystal ball like Julie says! :lol: I read somewhere on this forum that we need to, "Know Thy Cat"!! This disease can drive us bonkers! :roll: Hope you find something that works, and hope you have a great evening(nothing too exciting!)
 
Re: 7/9 Billie AMPS 325 +2.5 209 +4 170 +6 135 +7 177

Thank you Julie and Ruth!!

Hmmm...I definitely don't want to give her too many carbs. I am just wondering if I can convince her numbers to drop more slowly, and maybe she won't bounce, and she'll flatten out overall. Yesterday threw me for a loop, but I'm also thinking of how she often drops down 100ish points in just a couple hours, usually between PS and +2. I may experiment on one of these cycles depending on what her numbers are like and see if it makes a difference. I just went out for more of her usual food and grabbed a couple cans of Merrick's Beef Wellington (8%) which she may not even eat, of course!

I would absolutely love a crystal ball, and maybe some sort of genie who can watch Billie while I'm sleeping! I'd also love it if the cats could learn to text me.

I left the bag from the pet store on the table, and Billie started pawing at it and rubbing her head all over it...I forgot that I grabbed a couple catnip toys for the girls! For some reason, Brooklyn isn't interested, so Billie is sprawled out in the living room with both toys :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top