7/9 - 7/10 Grayson - a little late today...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Been tied up at work, so I'm only getting to post now... and it's almost bed time!

It appears Grayson had a fairly good day - not as good as we've had, but still better than his early days.

SUNDAY
AMPS 370 c-2
+4 293
+6 274
+8 259
+10 287
PMPS 333 c-2
+4 330 c-.5
+9 301 c-.5

MONDAY
AMPS 369 t-2
+4.25 321 c-.5
+9.5 319 c-.5
PMPS 472 :shock:

So, what was different? Clearly it shouldn't have been that little bit of food at +9.5. He doesn't spike that much at preshot (30/can typically). The only other thing, is the dogs weren't in the dining room with him. Are they a calming factor? Did he get lonely? Could he tell I was buried in work? Did he want to go back to work with me??? ;-) Was it just a wonky reading?
 
Re: 7/9 Grayson - a little late today...

OR was it one of many other things we don't know about and aren't in control of anyway?? I'm with you on confusion and wishing we had the answers...but, trying not to focus on one number or even one day. Trying to rethink my thinking with the change of insulins. Of course, tomorrow it'll be your turn to remind me of all the things we can't control :lol: :lol:

Hope he comes down nicely tonight -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 7/9 Grayson - a little late today...

Could you decipher? What do the c-2, c-.5, and t-2 notations mean?

As frustrating as it is, it's possible that what you are seeing is the insulin resistance in action. With IAA kitties, a dose that was working one minute, isn't the next. If you try to compare Grayson's SS to a non-IAA cat, you're going to be very frustrated. You might want to take a look at Black Kitty's SS. BK is a LL legend. I don't think anyone ever thought that BK would go OTJ -- and that's where he remains.
 
Re: 7/9 Grayson - a little late today...

Sienne and Gabby said:
Could you decipher? What do the c-2, c-.5, and t-2 notations mean?

Sorry - I've gotten so used to my little abbreviations...

c-2: Fancy Feast - Classic Chicken - 2 cans, 1/2 can etc
t-2: Fancy Feast - Classic Turkey & Giblets - etc.

Since we're shifting his shot times, additional readings since last night:
+2 453
+9.5 311

Will have his AMPS in about an hour or so.

Libby - I KNOW what you mean!!! Let's see who's turn it is today! :lol:
 
Down to 311 this morning at PMPS +9.5 (thank goodness!)

Tuesday AMPS 334

Thought maybe it was just a wonky reading, but he acted a little strangely last night... not his usual ravenous appetite. Maybe he was just lonely! I didn't re-test, but got a +2 and he was coming down. I left the dogs with him this morning so he wouldn't be lonely! ;-)
 
the acro tumor can also rev up and send you running up the dosing scale. with both iaa and acro, it's pretty much impossible to know what's what, so just keep on going up when he's got high numbers. last summer i felt like i was running alongside punkin just trying to keep up. actually june this year was the same way. wait 4-6 cycles to see it settle so you are increasing safely and not overdosing, and then go.

the pics for fine dosing are near the end of this page: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139 Look for "fine dose pictorial guide" right above the pics of the syringes. i can't remember now why you were looking for them, but that's where they are.

i didn't open grayson's ss again just now, but trying to recall where the food notations were . . . are you giving most of grayson's food in the first half of his cycle? it can sometimes really improve numbers if most of the food is done being fed about 3 hrs before the nadir - that puts the carbs there when the insulin action is best. it also helps to be consistent about the feeding amounts even if they want more. at one point i was wondering why punkin had suddenly gotten much higher and jill pointed out that i'd started giving him an extra 1/2 can. it does make a difference.

even though the acro makes them hungry, you don't want him to gain endless weight. we've held punkin's weight stable at about 14 lbs, which is even kinda on the thin side for a maine coon blend - because extra weight would just make it harder on his joints. the acro hormones accelerate the development of arthritis, which is the reason many/most acro cats have pain as time goes along. weighing more just makes them hurt more, and since they can't understand all of that, you have to be the bad guy in his best interest.
 
i went and opened his ss after i'd posted, cuz i thought i remembered that you're sometimes feeding later in the cycle. i suspect if you change the feeding schedule (not the volume, just the timing) and stay consistent every cycle with the same volume of food, you're going to see a definite nadir and better overall numbers. i wouldn't feed him anything in the second half of the cycle at all. i can't see a clear, consistent nadir on him although Lev nadirs usually are around +8. some of his look earlier (+4) and some look around +8.

i feed punkin 1 can of ff at preshot and .5 can at +3 and his nadir is consistently about +5.75. then it repeats in the next cycle - so 3 cans total per day and he weighs about 14lbs. if he goes low, i tend to give more LC first because the 3 cans is a little less than what he needs to maintain his weight - he also cleans up anya's dishes every meal. i give him small pieces (1" cube or less) of boiled chicken for poke treats.

anyway, that's something you could try to help him get a little more consistent and stable.

i'd probably increase grayson tonight if he were mine. especially with the iaa you don't want to hold a dose too long.
 
Grayson & Lu said:
Libby - I KNOW what you mean!!! Let's see who's turn it is today! :lol:

Tag, you're it! Hershey has decided he LIKES hanging out in the pinks....so, your turn to remind me of all the factors we can't control... :YMSIGH:

Hope y'all have a wonderful day and RAIN!!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Hmmm, I think I was there the day before...
Hang in there, he is looking so good
you should be so proud of everything the 2 of you have accomplished since switching
He is doing SOOO well, just keep remembering that!
 
Libby/Hershey - HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY tomato plants!!! :lol: (me too!)

Denise - tell Shakes to share his green secrets with Grayson! I want YOUR day of numbers! :mrgreen:

Julie - Tonight was the 8th cycle on 14u. I was just looking at my numbers and he's only been down to 244 since we hit this dose. on 12u he did 222, and on 11u 185. I'm only hedging a little, as I know we're gonna have to shoot on an empty stomach next week... I'm just afraid to shoot a whole lot more! I know I need to take the advise I gave Denise... listen to the experienced voices here.... but I still struggle w/ these high doses!!!

ALL: What kind of increase would you do... last time 2u.
 
he doesn't seem phased with the 2u increase, i'd probably go with that for now.

at some point you'll want to learn how to use R in combination with the lev. perhaps you'll want to wait til post SRT - do you know about this? the lev provides a long-lasting insulin and the R works more quickly and is out more quickly. with iaa the R usually lasts longer than with a non-iaa cat. the reason for using both is that if grayson's insulin need decreases the lev takes longer to get out of the system. anyway, i don't want to go on about it if you already know about it.

i wouldn't worry too much about past doses and where they took him - you really just need to look at the previous few days to make decisions on what to do next.
 
Thanks - it certainly is a new dance! And to see Shakes shakin' it up tonight - when he used to hang out at the IHOP w/ Grayson... I feel the change is coming...
 
...oh one more thing...

Julie - Grayson still hasn't started gaining weight. He's not quite as "skinny as a rail" around 12 where he was, but he's nowhere near the 21.6 he used to be.

I just got a photo of him from my old phone. It's from last fall (I think), and he's BIG and his coat looks stretched (overstuffed teddy bear?), but not oily/dandruffy from what I can see. It made me feel better to know that the "symptoms" that got him in January 3rd, weren't something so flagrant that I missed. He looks really good. Will have to crop it down, and will post it when I do...

...so right now, the weight isn't a big concernt - which is why I'm still feeding the ravenous tiger inside him!

PM+8 225.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top