7/8 Zissou

KristyD

Member Since 2022
Hello, I’m curious if anyone can take a peek at our spreadsheet and let me know what you think? I feel like Zissou is good where he’s at and his dose is working for him but I want to make sure I’m not missing anything. I’ve had criticism in the past for raising his dose too high or fast but I mostly just followed the protocol for TR. For the most part his numbers seem good to me with the exception of a few days where I tried different foods or had to dose early/late.
If everything does look good how often should I be testing still? I’m assuming preshots still always but I’ve been curious, if dosing is based off nadir wouldn’t that be a better time to test (for long acting insulin)?
thanks for any help! It’s been a long journey and I 100% couldn’t have done it without the help here and on FB :cat:
 
Hi Kristy, Zissou is looking good! He is tightly regulated.

With TR, you want to get at least 2 tests per cycle - 1 preshot and mid-cycle. The idea is to see how low he is going on the dose. Like you said, Lantus dosing is based on nadirs. Without enough tests, you can't tell whether he needs more insulin or less. Looking at the 223 on 7/6, I wonder if he dropped low and bounced.

The preshot test ensures that he is at a safe enough number to give insulin. Nadirs can and do move around and sometimes the nadir can be at preshot.

Previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-14-zissou-9-63-10-73-11-84-amps-88-1-117.263284/
 
Last edited:
He might very well have gone lower on the night of 7/5 and the yellow on 7/6 might be due to that. You really need a second test every night. If you get a +2 and it’s a lot lower than the pmps get another test between +5-7. Vary the times you do that.
 
Got it! I’ll start back up with before bed tests. And I’ll try to grab some pm +6 ish to see if he’s bouncing… I’ve just been assuming he snuck some of his brothers kibble pieces or possibly had a slight fur shot because I didn’t realize he could still bounce!
Should I expect to be testing 2x a cycle for the rest of his life? Is he unlikely to ever hit remission? Mostly just curious, I have no problems testing or medicating him and he loves the attention lol.
 
Thanks for the info! I had no idea.
I’ve read that the longer they’ve been diabetic the harder it is to reach remission and I think he was unmedicated for a while unfortunately so that plus the higher dose made me wonder. I’m so happy to know that! We’ll keep on testing and hoping for the day :cat:
 
Back
Top