7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143;+2 145;+4 189;~5 218

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL. Nothing starts your morning off on the right paw like a scarf and barf! :roll:

Yesterday
Today
07/08/12 Zener
AMPS 180, 12th cycle @1.25u, 2/3PP, 1mg ondansetron, 1/8 Zantac, 0.9oz 10%, followed by scarf and barf 20 minutes later. Stalled for 20 minutes, ate 1.2oz 11%.
+1 254, 0.75oz 11%, 7 drops kidney liq
+2 252, 0.8oz 11%

@julie & punkin - he did have a good day yesterday and seems to have more good days than punk days! :-D Thanks for the tip on the laxative effect of the oil and butter for removing pine pitch. I'm sure we will have another opportunity to try these things and we will clean as much off as possible. Sorry to stall your cleansing of your parents' things. It's been 8 years since my folks died and I was only able to get rid of lots of things because I lived across the country and couldn't haul it all lock, stock and barrel to my house. But my dad always told me "you'll need one of these one days, and it's a good one!" Thus, the nose clippers are a prized possession! :lol:

@Serryn - you are so right, it was a great relief when we realized it was just pine pitch on his leg. We had a similar thing happen when Zener was a kitten. We came home and he was crying and rolling around, couldn't walk. I was freaking thinking his neurological condition was worse (he hadn't yet been diagnosed with CH and we weren't quite sure why he was so special). Turned out it was a broken leg from trying to launch himself up on a kitchen stool. I, being kind of medical, was greatly relieved - "oh, just a broken leg" - because of course, I was thinking the worse. Liz, the engineer and not medical, was thinking "oh my gawd, he broke his leg". :lol: All healed well and he had the cutest little casts.

Liz and I are working on getting the right amount of food for Zener to maintain his weight. We are loving having this to work on, as he has now consistently been gaining a few ounces and is up to 12lbs, 3.5oz. His ideal weight is right at 12lbs, so we don't want him to gain more weight. I never thought we would be able to "type" that! So, I didn't leave much food out for him last night - thus, the morning scarf and barf. We'll get his portions sorted out eventually, but lesson learned - needs overnight meal to prevent morning scarf and barf. :shock:

Glad to see the heat wave is breaking in some parts of the country, now if all of our dry areas can get a little rain... It's always something. ;-)
 
Re: 7/8 Zener AMPS 180;+1 254;+2 252

Sorry about the scarf and barf. Great with the food and weight gain. I need to do the opposite with Maggie and have her lose some fluff. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 7/8 Zener AMPS 180;+1 254;+2 252

OK, Z-mzn that's far enough. I know you are just letting the beans know this should be a chillaxin day, but don' t overdo it or they'll worry over you in the other direction.

Sorry I missed you yesteday and the the great fur cleansing! :roll: My DM used peanut butter. FFI long hair, bouncing on the bed and chewing bubble gum is not a good combo! ohmygod_smile :lol: :lol:

Seriously though, I prune a lot of pines and oil is great for the big clean up. I usually finish off w/ rubbing alcohol to get the last stickiness off and it also cuts the oil.
 
Re: 7/8 Zener AMPS 180;+1 254;+2 252;+4 166;+5 199;~8 266

Looks like a blue-yellow-blue-yellow cycle today, and we got a little rain!
Today
07/08/12 Zener
AMPS 180, 12th cycle @1.25u, 2/3PP, 1mg ondansetron, 1/8 Zantac, 0.9oz 10%, followed by scarf and barf 20 minutes later. Stalled for 20 minutes, ate 1.2oz 11%.
+1 254, 0.75oz 11%, 7 drops kidney liq
+2 252, 0.8oz 11%
+4 166, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.8oz 11%
+5 199, 0.65oz 11%
~8 266, 1/2PP, 1mg Cerenia, 0.25oz 11%

@Ann & Maggie - the big guy recovered tight away from the scarf and barf. Zener lost between 3-4 lbs after his FD diagnosis, and it's only been in the last couple of months that his weight has stabilized. He's at a great weight at 12lbs so we are trying not to overfeed him and gain more. It's hard when appy has been such an issue to not feed him as much as he will eat whenever he wants something! ;-)

@Ann & Tess - you are so right, we worry no matter which direction! :lol: :lol: :lol: It seems that peanut butter is also mentioned in a few other places for cleaning sticky stuff. Cooking oil, salad oil too. We have lots of pines in our yard so another opportunity will present itself. :roll:

Had a nice lunch at a friend's today, with our permission slip from the big guy. Off to yoga class soon, or as we call it, our "kitty stretching" class. :lol:
 
Re: 7/8 Zener AMPS 180;+1 254;+2 252;+4 166;+5 199;~8 266

Nice Zener report...glad to hear he recovered from this morning's scarf-n-barf, and even happier to hear about his weight. Go, Zener!!! Now, let's start heading in the right direction with those numbers...nice-n-easy!

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 7/8 Zener AMPS 180;+1 254;+2 252;+4 166;+5 199;~8 266

Hi guys! What a nice mellow day for Zener... nice and easy, permission slip for the beans. I hope you enjoyed the time, and the lunch with friends. Woo HOO!

Sorry I missed the sticky condo, but I've used peanut butter (dang kids and their bubble gum....) - that does work, plus it kinda smells good too.

Sorry for the scarf and bard, but glad Zener recovered quickly.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185 dose?

Does a blue-yellow-blue-yellow-blue cycle make green? :lol:
Zener has been in the blues and yellows with a dash of green here and there for most of his cycles at this dose, except a couple after the shave. We were thinking about increasing tonight, but he was on the way down and often has lower numbers at night, so we decided to stay here another cycle and see what happens. Reductions to 1.25u have failed before. I will be leaving in a week for 10 days in Scotland and Liz will be BIC, so we thought if we are going back up we should do it this week, while we are both here, and see if it gets him overall in lower numbers. We've never had any luck fattening up doses, so would likely go back up the full 0.25u to 1.5u. Any thoughts and eyes on Zener's SS are welcome!

Today
07/08/12 Zener
AMPS 180, 12th cycle @1.25u, 2/3PP, 1mg ondansetron, 1/8 Zantac, 0.9oz 10%, followed by scarf and barf 20 minutes later. Stalled for 20 minutes, ate 1.2oz 11%.
+1 254, 0.75oz 11%, 7 drops kidney liq
+2 252, 0.8oz 11%
+4 166, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.8oz 11%
+5 199, 0.65oz 11%
~8 266, 1/2PP, 1mg Cerenia, 0.25oz 11%
PMPS 185, 13th cycle @1.25u, 1PP, 1mg ondansetron, 1/8 Zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/32t miralax

@Amy - we are very happy he has gained some weight and now we want to keep him stable. His numbers have wobbled around today from blue to yellow to blue. We are discussing a possible dosecrease, so maybe the threat will get some more action! ;-)

@Michelle & Mannie - yep, a mellow day and we had a great lunch with our friend while we were having our first official thunderstorm of our monsoon season, it was delightful! So far, peanut butter has been suggested the most with salad oil a close second! I'll do better tonight leaving a little food out for the big guy to deter morning scarf and barf. It's the first one in a very long time. :razz:

This evening Zener climbed up his steps made of plastic storage boxes (after we moved Tillie's favorite blanket out of the way) and got up on Liz's lap in her recliner and stretched out. This used to be his VERY favorite place to get. Liz is tall so Zener can stretch out all the way on her lap. He hasn't done this in well over a year, since before his FD diagnosis. So, in the past 24 hours, he got up on my work desk, launched himself up on the cat condo and got on Liz's lap in the recliner. We are SOOOOO excited to see him able to get in or on his old favorite spots! He is feeling so much better.

Hope everyone has a calm and drama-free Sunday evening.
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185

I am sooooo Happy to see Zener making progress & getting around so much better!! I know the thrill of seeing your furbaby do something they havent done since DX!! Zener is a miracle cat, & shows it every day...You both have done this for him!! That my dears is such a Blessing! You are all terrific!
Hugs and love from us!
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185

Isn't it thrilling to see them start acting like themselves again? I'm always sure that's a sign they're beginning to feel "normal", whatever that is, & I use that term loosely when it comes to cats!!!!!

Glad to see Zener is getting back to himself!
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143 dose?

Alrighty then, a near 40 point drop @+1, could action jackson be in our future tonight?
Today
07/08/12 Zener
AMPS 180, 12th cycle @1.25u, 2/3PP, 1mg ondansetron, 1/8 Zantac, 0.9oz 10%, followed by scarf and barf 20 minutes later. Stalled for 20 minutes, ate 1.2oz 11%.
+1 254, 0.75oz 11%, 7 drops kidney liq
+2 252, 0.8oz 11%
+4 166, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.8oz 11%
+5 199, 0.65oz 11%
~8 266, 1/2PP, 1mg Cerenia, 0.25oz 11%
PMPS 185, 13th cycle @1.25u, 1PP, 1mg ondansetron, 1/8 Zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/32t miralax
+1 143, 1.1oz ~11%, 8 drops kidney liq

@Roni - it is a thrill to see him feeling better and back to doing things he loves to do. Thank you for all your kind words!

@Desi - yes, very thrilling to see him acting more like himself! :lol: :lol: on what's "normal" for cats! :lol: :lol:

Tomorrow the roofers return, this time to replace our neighbor's roof and our roof! :shock: We had a severe hail storm last fall and most every house in our neighborhood had roof hail damage. Since last fall, roofers have been all over replacing roofs. Now, it's our turn. The roofers are going to do both houses at the same time. Oh lordy, the kitties are gonna hate it!
cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143 dose?

Come on Zener, prove your beans wrong. Hold this dose! I wonder if he has been reading his condo again.

It's so good to hear that Zener is feeling better and doing things he hasn't done since before FD. I also cherish each of those moments I see. And congrats on the rain - I suspect you needed it.
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143 dose?

Way to go, Zener! Weight gain and getting back to your old self?! SWEEET!

I have had longer hair for most of my life and have some experience with peanut butter, too. Not just from MY gum, but this little jerk who lived near me thought it amusing to put his gum on the bus seat so girls would lean back on it, getting it in their hair. :evil: Anyhoo -

Hope y'all have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143 dose?

Glad to hear he's doing some pre-FD things! Yay Zman!

So I think if he doesn't get down into some pretty nice mid green numbers tonight, if fatten his dose back up tomorrow. He's only gotten into a tiny bit of green a couple times on this dose. If you want to do it befo Anne leaves, it might only take a couple cycles to get him going again.

Up to you but if he doesnt get any green tonight, I'd say he needs a bit more juice tomorrow.

Good luck! Maybe the threat will bring him down ;-)
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143;+2 145 dose?

Thanks Marje! We were going to move his shot back up 30 minutes in the morning to get back on schedule from today's scarf and barf, but if we fatten up the dose, maybe we should not also move the shot time forward?
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143;+2 145 dose?

You could fatten it up and still move the shot up 15 min in the morning and 15 min at night. Or you can fatten in the morning and make up 30 min at night or vice versa.
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143;+2 145 dose?

some nice blues there Zener-monster!!! hope you get some nice surfing done tonight!
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143;+2 145 dose?

wahoo! nothing like a morning scarf and barf, unless, of course, someone steps into it - especially if they just leapt out of bed and didn't know the pile was there. that would have been even MORE special. now don't you feel like today's scarf and barf was, well, not as much of a big deal as it could've been? ;-) :lol:

too funny - so your dad thought you would need a nose hair trimmer some day, eh anne? i'm pausing to wonder if my mom had that problem . . . what a thought! she wrote a fantastic funny story about her college experience of using some type of nair-equivalent and taking the hair off of her left arm (and getting a chemical burn) then trying to use scissors to clip the hair on her right arm to match before going to her first college party. after that experience, in her words, she "embraced her hirsute body." my mom had enough hair on her arms to do a comb-over! but i don't think she had an excess of nose hairs. now i feel a need to go look in the mirror. :lol:

my folks lived in the house i mostly grew up in, only an hour away, and although i made 16 trips with a full van to St Vincent de Paul's, i still dragged a ton of stuff back here. make myself crazy with all of it and i'm slowly getting rid of some of it.

back to z-man - perhaps he will surprise you with a green tonight!
 
Re: 7/8 Zener PMPS 185;+1 143;+2 145;+4 189

Appy started off somewhat iffy this cycle. Some BG action at +1 but that was about it, so far. Appy has now picked up and he is eating his usual amounts. :-D Looking like a dosecrease is on tap for the morning unless there is some green slidage tonight. ;-)

PMPS 185, 13th cycle @1.25u, 1PP, 1mg ondansetron, 1/8 Zantac, 1.15oz 11%, 1/32t miralax
+1 143, 1.1oz ~11%, 8 drops kidney liq
+2 145, 0.4oz 11%
+3 0.2oz 11%, 1/2PP, 0.4oz 10%
+4 189, 0.75oz 10%
ETA
~5 218, 0.3oz 10%

@Wendy - we thought he was reading his condo at +1, but now he's on the up elevator. The dosecrease threat remains on the table though, so maybe we will get a surprise later. :cool:

@Libby & Hershey too - Overall, Zener is feeling much better. That is so mean about the your jerk neighbor. I fortunately have not had long hair for over 50 years, so I missed out on those cruel pranks. Course, if the boys had done something like that to me, I would have beat the crap out of them. :lol: :lol: :lol:

@Marje - thanks for the advice and suggestions on dose and shot time, we have a plan! Und Alles Gute zum Geburtstag! drinking24

@Pip - we are loving all these blues and dreaming of :mrgreen: !

@julie & punkin - oh you are so right - there is always something worse! And stepping in cold pukus when you get out of bed is definitely worse! :twisted: My dad most likely thought his tiny clippers would come in handy for my chin hairs! :lol: Cleaning out things from the family home has got to be one of the very hardest things to do. I still have boxes of stuff in my garage sitting where I unloaded them 8 years ago, and I haven't touched a one, yet. So, you are way ahead of me in the cleansing department!

The mighty Z is always full of surprises, but if all looks steady or rising in an hour, I'm off to dreamland. I-) Ni ni LL.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top