? 7/8 Tiger dental

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-6-tiger-amps-336-6-93.291888/

What a stressful day! Tiger went in at 8 this morning. He was their first of the day. Once they had him under they called to let us know he needed 6 teeth removed! Including his front canines! I wasn’t prepared for that.

we brought him home at 3 PM. He is still shaky a bit walking. He has managed to eat a pouch of mousse pate watered down but had a hard time, at times acting like he was choking. I’m sure it’s a weird sensation with the stitches.

The vet gave him a pain shot , an antibiotic shot and a shot of cerenia, along with pain pills for 3 days. Told us to give him food when we got home.

They monitored his numbers the whole time he was there. According to the libre he got down to 250 but is back high now.

He is having a hard time drinking water. Keeps trying but jerks up and acts like he has a hair on his tongue

@Wendy&Neko what about insulin tonight? I think maybe skip. Not eating much and still hold out of it.. Also the pain meds is Onsior, know anything about it?

gotta go take care of little one.
 
Last edited:
Hi Deb , poor baby, I hope Tiger will start to feel better soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Tyler was in onsior once 3 days only and had no side effects .
It helps reduce pain and inflammation.
I'm sure Wendy can tell you more about the onsior
About the baby food
I gave Tyler's the Beechnut Beef and Beef Broth baby food
13608622.jpg


They do have the turkey and turkey broth and the chicken and chicken broth , the beef flavor is much smoother ,I still added a little water to it and warmed it up in the microwave
 
Last edited:
He's sky high! I definitely wouldn't skip. At least half a dose. Personally I would do full dose, but that's me. Remember, he didn't eat this morning and a half dose didn't do anything for him. Plus he's had a pouch of the mousse which is pretty good.

Poor little guy, it'll take him a while to get used to not having the canines. But he'll probably feel much better once he's healed up.

Onsior is fine for 3 days. It's anti inflammatory as well as pain med.
 
Oh, Deb. Sending you and Tiger lots of gentle hugs and love. Sweet Tiger. I hope he recovers quickly. I think every day he will feel a bit better.
I hope you can get some rest tonight. I’m sure you’re exhausted.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
He's sky high! I definitely wouldn't skip. At least half a dose. Personally I would do full dose, but that's me. Remember, he didn't eat this morning and a half dose didn't do anything for him. Plus he's had a pouch of the mousse which is pretty good.

Poor little guy, it'll take him a while to get used to not having the canines. But he'll probably feel much better once he's healed up.

Onsior is fine for 3 days. It's anti inflammatory as well as pain med.
Thanks Wendy. We gave him 1.25 units which took him into yellow last night. He actually ended up eating a total of 3 pouches yesterday so I was pleased with that. He didn’t eat anything overnight tho which was not good as his tummy was upset this morning and it took forever to get him to eat anything so we were late with shooting this morning.
 
Sending hugs and healing to Tiger and hugs and rest for you. Hopefully this will begin the journey to OTJ with all those teeth removed. :bighug:

Let us know how he is doing !
 
His dose is still 2.25 units. I see you shot a short dose again today. Please make sure to test for ketones today. He's not eating enough, got inflammation from the operation, and not enough insulin on board. Those are the three things needed as a recipe for ketones and DKA. Both Neko's dentals where she had major work done, I needed to increase the dose after the operation to help her get over the BG increase due to inflammation.
 
His dose is still 2.25 units. I see you shot a short dose again today. Please make sure to test for ketones today. He's not eating enough, got inflammation from the operation, and not enough insulin on board. Those are the three things needed as a recipe for ketones and DKA. Both Neko's dentals where she had major work done, I needed to increase the dose after the operation to help her get over the BG increase due to inflammation.
I did a short dose because he was refusing food. He was refusing all the soft mousse I offered. He did finally eat a tsp of his HC watered down. I know his dose is higher but I am so fearful of him dropping and not being able to slow him down and can’t take that added stress right now. His numbers are high but we did have a good string of yellow last night. He’s eating a lot less carbs which I’m sure is helping the bg. As he regains appetite I will be increasing the dose, hopefully tonight.
Unfortunately we are unable to test for ketones. We can’t get blood from the ear even vet gets it from the vein. So I pray it stays low as it has been. Good news is he has been peeing and had a poop this morning, so everything is flowing through.
I appreciate your input and trying to do the best I can for him while being major stressed out at this point.
:arghh:
 
Back
Top