7/8 Roo: AMPS = 261, +10.5 = 285 // PMPS = 262, +2 = 214, +4 = 144

Armish & Roo

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Morning all! Roo had a great night last night, hoping for some good numbers today as well, but its my first day back after the long weekend so won't be able to test as much unfortunately.

Yes, with SLGS, you would decrease the dose if kitty goes under 90. Have you considered changing to TR? You test enough to follow TR and it would give Roo more time in green numbers since the decrease number would be under 50 with TR. The more time they can spend in green numbers the more healing time for the pancreas . Just something to think about.

@Bobbie And Bubba, wanted to answer in the new condo - I have considered changing to TR but I'm not actually sure that I test enough. The last few days I've been able to test a lot more because of the holiday and having work off, but with my normal schedule I can only get in a few (see 7/1 on SS) - AMPS, +10.5 or +11, PMPS and then up to a +4 after that depending on what the numbers are. Would that still be enough? I did read the post about being able to do TR while having a full time job, but I'm still a bit nervous about it. I would much prefer to be able to keep him in the good numbers as much as possible for sure.
 
Not a bad start for Roo today! I too would like to try TR while working but I have basically determined it wont work for me. There are a lot of people here who work and follow TR though, have a look at this POST with some other members strategies on following TR while working to see if maybe there is some inspiration for you on how to make it work :)
 
Not a bad start for Roo today! I too would like to try TR while working but I have basically determined it wont work for me. There are a lot of people here who work and follow TR though, have a look at this POST with some other members strategies on following TR while working to see if maybe there is some inspiration for you on how to make it work :)

I really like the post you linked, and that's about how much I can test daily. I guess I'm just confused at how I would know to increase/reduce in the middle of the week when I'm not getting those numbers like I would on the weekend. It looks like people use a combo of educational guessing and night numbers? I've had a lot going on with work lately, so maybe once that calms down I can give it a try.

He keeps running away from me today :(
 
I really like the post you linked, and that's about how much I can test daily. I guess I'm just confused at how I would know to increase/reduce in the middle of the week when I'm not getting those numbers like I would on the weekend. It looks like people use a combo of educational guessing and night numbers? I've had a lot going on with work lately, so maybe once that calms down I can give it a try.

He keeps running away from me today :(
Totally! You can wait until you have a better understanding of Roo’s patterns with insulin, that will give you more confidence to go ahead :)

I have days like that with Mowgli too! Hence his little fur shot accident this morning ;)
 
Yesterday

Morning all! Roo had a great night last night, hoping for some good numbers today as well, but its my first day back after the long weekend so won't be able to test as much unfortunately.



@Bobbie And Bubba, wanted to answer in the new condo - I have considered changing to TR but I'm not actually sure that I test enough. The last few days I've been able to test a lot more because of the holiday and having work off, but with my normal schedule I can only get in a few (see 7/1 on SS) - AMPS, +10.5 or +11, PMPS and then up to a +4 after that depending on what the numbers are. Would that still be enough? I did read the post about being able to do TR while having a full time job, but I'm still a bit nervous about it. I would much prefer to be able to keep him in the good numbers as much as possible for sure.
Would you be able to get in A +2 in work days? If so, that would be a very telling number for you. If the +2 was lower than the preshot, it would indicate a possible active cycle. Knowing that you could give a bit of higher carb food to help slow down the cycle. Do you have an automatic feeder?
 
Would you be able to get in A +2 in work days? If so, that would be a very telling number for you. If the +2 was lower than the preshot, it would indicate a possible active cycle. Knowing that you could give a bit of higher carb food to help slow down the cycle. Do you have an automatic feeder?

Unfortunately I don't think my schedule permits. I usually leave the house at around 8:45am, so I could try to update the shot time to 2 hours earlier (ie 6:35am ish), but I don't get home til at least 6:40-7pm most days (I end up working late and get delayed) and 6:30pm on a good day, so that would compromise PM shot time.
 
Unfortunately I don't think my schedule permits. I usually leave the house at around 8:45am, so I could try to update the shot time to 2 hours earlier (ie 6:35am ish), but I don't get home til at least 6:40-7pm most days (I end up working late and get delayed) and 6:30pm on a good day, so that would compromise PM shot time.
That could work. Then you’d have 2 hours after the AM shot to get a test and have an idea how the cycle could play out and steer appropriately. If the PM Shot was between 6:40- 7pm that wouldn’t be too far off.
 
That could work. Then you’d have 2 hours after the AM shot to get a test and have an idea how the cycle could play out and steer appropriately. If the PM Shot was between 6:40- 7pm that wouldn’t be too far off.

I think the uncertainty of the PM time makes me nervous, not to mention that adjusting my schedule by 2 hours would be very hard - I've been crazy exhausted lately with work and I need all the sleep I can get.

I am really interested in Libby's original post and Suzanne's comment (#6) on the post. I think that once I get a bit more data, that could be a conceivable way to handle TR in the future.
 
Back
Top