7/8 Morgaine AMPS 188,+3 131, PMPS 166.+4 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Hello everyone!

Morgaine's AMPS was 188 today and we had some lower numbers yesterday but still not low enough. I noticed that she was not drinking and peeing as often during much of the day but as the numbers got a little higher it started again. I measure her water intake and it is a little less.

So, this is now our 6th cycle with 1 u bid. Is it time to do another .25 increase this PM or do you all think it is better to wait another 4 cycles? My tendency is to increase but I defer to those who are more experienced. Please Advise.
 
Re: 7/8 Morgaine AMPS 188 and Please Advise

Funny -- I just talked about that with my vet yesterday. Junior hasn't really touched his water bowl in the last few months. She said that he's getting all the hydration he needs from wet food. I'll add hot water to his food sometimes to increase its aroma so I know he's been getting water in his system.

I'd keep an eye on him on this b/c I don't know why Morgaine's water intake has been fluctuating. Hope someone else can jump in on this.
 
Re: 7/8 Morgaine AMPS 188 and Please Advise

Drinking less is normal when FD gets regulated . It's a good sign! :-D :-D :-D Being evolved from desert animals, cats naturally get most of their moisture from their food.
 
Re: 7/8 Morgaine AMPS 188 and Please Advise

Ann & Tess said:
Drinking less is normal when FD gets regulated . It's a good sign! :-D :-D :-D Being evolved from desert animals, cats naturally get most of their moisture from their food.
Yes, I know this. I am just commenting that her numbers are fluctuating enough for her to move back and forth from reaching that renal threshold and hopefully, as we get them lower, she will be back to normal. Morgaine has always been a water drinker, even as a kitten but she has doubled her intake over the past several months which is what raised a red flag and prompted me to call the vet. It was much worse a year or so ago when she was first diagnosed and then she went into remission and things seemed to normalize until a few months ago. I also notice that in my own case, if my BG levels are too high, which happens occasionally, I will get thirsty and need to urinate more frequently so I do think it is a matter of keeping those numbers in a normal range if possible.
 
Re: 7/8 Morgaine AMPS 188,+3 131 and Please Advise

With nadirs below 200, according to the protocol, you would complete 10 cycles before increasing the dose. So, I'd wait the 4 cycles.
 
Re: 7/8 Morgaine AMPS 188,+3 131 and Please Advise

Sienne and Gabby said:
With nadirs below 200, according to the protocol, you would complete 10 cycles before increasing the dose. So, I'd wait the 4 cycles.
Thanks! I have read some protocol guidelines as 3 days or 5 days, 6 or 10 cycles. I will go the full 10 then unless things change.

ETA: I just re-read the protocols. One is from the queensland study and the other is a modified version from FDMB. The Queensland says wait 10 cycles and the modified version says wait 6-10 cycles. That is what I was questioning. With these flat numbers I was wondering if the 6 cycles were enough to merit a small dose increase of .25. As mentioned previously, she is doing well when her numbers are in the 130's but as they rise, she immediately begins the PD/PU again. I think her dose needs more tweaking because she seems to do much better with lower numbers. I also believe the Freestyle gives lower numbers for both myself and Morgaine. I have adjusted my own info based on the comparison to the Precision X-Tra. The Freestyle is known ro give lower numbers. Unfortunately it is what my insurance company insists on and they won't cover any other meter. I am working on getting a different meter for Morgaine.
 
Re: 7/8 Morgaine AMPS 188,+3 131, PMPS 166

Morgaine remains very consistent and I am glad for that. She has definitely slowed down her PD/PU and that relieves me a great deal. All in all I think we are making good progress. I will hold this dose for another 3 cycles but I do believe she is going to need a little more insulin to get into the green.
 
One final comment regarding the current trend. I notice that despite eating more food in her AM cycle, Morgaine has lower numbers than her PM cycle and she certainly is higher overnight. Anyone know why that is? I only feed her two times during the PM cycle and I feed her 3 times plus a snack in the AM cycle. She is not anymore active in the AM cycle and is probably more active at night. Is there ever a time where you give a bit more insulin in the PM cycle to compensate for this or do we always give the exact same amount in the AM and PM cycle? I know that my basal rates are different every 4 hours but my over night basal rates are lower than my daytime rates. Morgaine is highest at her AMPS. Guess i need to look at some SS for other kitties to see if there is a similar pattern.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top