7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 PMBG/38 vet phone call antibiotics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99389


Once again Jupiters AMBG was low this AM – 61, so we decided to skip again.



Called the vet this AM and they said they will have the vet that saw Jupiter call me back. She is not there until after 1:30pm today.

I am going to ask that she please give Jupiter a different antibiotic since the amoxicillin is making him very sick.

After starting the amoxicillin his appetite decreased – until the point that he would not eat anything yesterday. I could not get him to eat until sometime after 5pm – before that he wouldn’t eat anything not even a treat. Even after he ate at 5pm he would not eat very much.

So I skipped the antibiotic last night and a few hours later he was eating – and was no longer hiding (he has been hiding all day since starting the AB’s as well).

This morning I also did not give him the amoxicillin and he is out and about acting like his normal self and he ate.

I am also going to ask about litter after surgery. And possibly an appetite stimulant for days like yesterday?


Todays Numbers:
AMPS-61
Skipped shot
+5.25-72
+10-61
PMPS-38
Skipped shot

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-55
Skipped Shot
+7.75-46
PMPS-67
Skipped Shot
+3-49
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Hi Jamie. Sorry the AB is not agreeing with Jupiter. Hopefully the vet can prescribe another one that won't have any negative side effects. His AMPS is lookin good.

Have a great day Jamie and we're keeping your family and Jupiter in our Prayers.
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Good to hear that Jupiter is feeling better w/out the abs. You could ask your vet about Orbax (a form of Baytril) or Baytril. Unfortunately they may not have it on hand. It lists some scary side effects on the package insert, but after reading the research on it those really only showed up w/ vast overdosing. Tess had the same problems as Jupiter w/ Clavamox(a form of amoxicillin) but has no problem w/ Orbax.

Paws crossed that your vet will come up w/ a good alternative.

BTW, Mar Vista is a great website to get good information on various drugs and treatments. It always helps to have a little extra knowledge.
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Lucky can't take Amoxy he gets real sick on it so I always ask for the other stuff. I hope Jupe is eating better today? The waiting came is hard when you want them to call now lol hang in there
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Hi Jamie,
I hope the vet will have a solution about the antibiotic, and can give you an alternative today.
I'm glad he is eating and more himself without the med....
I think it's a good idea to have some appetite stimulant on hand just in case.
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Hi Jamie, what a different cat today! Glad to hear that he's feeling better and eating and being social. Hope the vet has a better option for him so that you guys don't have to go through that again. Must be the scariest feeling ever. ((hugs)) to you for handling it all. Sending even more healing and healthy vines for your boy!
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

I'm glad Jupiter is feeling better today. My civvie Petey has the same problem with Clavamox. Hopefully the vet will offer a suggestion that will agree with Jupiter better than the last AB.
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Hi Jamie, so glad Jupe is feeling better today. I hope you can get an AB that works for Jupe. My girl sometimes has to try 3 and 4 AB's til we find one that is agreeable. She get pukus real bad and has no appy. The latest one she is on is Veraflox, it is a newer one.
She doen't have problems with it and it is once a day dosing.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

waiting for the vet to call still. its 2pm. waiting is just killing me. guess i need some patience pants today. hope they call soon
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 1,575
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: thanks Carl!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I sure needed those.
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

They said the vet would be getting in at 1:30 today. Its now 2:30 and I am sure they are busy since its a monday. If they dont call me in an hour or two - should I call back - or just keep waiting? I am worried about them forgetting to call today if they are busy... and want to make sure Jupiter gets a new AB soon since the vet wanted him on AB's til surgery
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

I would call, if nothing else but to remind them that you are patiently waiting :)
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Well its 4pm and still havent heard back from vet so I tried calling them.... been on hold for 12 minutes now...

not sure what to do... i just assume they are busy but I am really worried because vet said he needed to be on antibiotic... i dont want to have to give him amoxicillin though since that is making him sick.... dont want to have to wait another day to talk to vet about this
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

okay well after being on hold for 15 mins they said i am on her list of people to call back today and she will call later
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

At least you reminded them. Sometimes, I don't hear back from vets until after "business" hours.
Hopefully, you'll hear back soon.
If you're worried about them waiting until after they're closed to call back, and it will be too late to get ABs then, then call them back and explain to them that you are hoping to get new meds before they close for the day.
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

yes jupiter is better today then yesterday. he was out and about all day up until about 15 mins when it started to rain so he went and hid under the couch - but thats normal

the vets office called me back and I am a little frustrated with their response. will post soon
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

I'd like to hear what the vet had to say that frustrated you. Perhaps we can help....
 
Re: 7/8 Jupiter AMBG/61 skipped ABs

Okay this is going to be hard to explain with typing.

pretty much the vet tech said that the vet said ... that Jupiter doesnt need to take the AB's and they are not gonna put him on a different AB because most of them can cause gastrointestinal problems and appetite problems so she doesnt want to give him a new one. she said he will fine without the antibiotic since he wont eat with it and to just put neosporin on it if I am concerned.

I am very frustrated because I told them several times that I wanted to talk to the vet

the lady was rude on the phone though and she pretty much just kept ignoring my questions and concerns

I think it was the same lady I talked to on friday that said to keep giving him the ABs unless he starts vomiting or completely stops eating.

I said well if he doesnt need the ABs then hows come when I called friday and said he was not eating much and was acting weird like he didnt feel well... I was told to keep giving it to him anyways because he needed it and that the only reason I should stop is if he completely quits eating
 
wow PMBG was 38. none of the cats ate much today i think it was too hot. just got them all to eat a little bit. let jupe take a few licks of gravy so I could put a pearl probiotic in his mouth and he swallowed it then i let him have a few more licks of gravy
 
What time does the vet get in tomorrow? I would politely call in the AM and ask who it was that called you back today. Then tell whoever you're speaking to that you want to speak with the person that has the letters, DVM after his/her name. You do NOT want to speak with the rude person that returned your calls previously and who did not have the knowledge to answer your questions. If you can't speak with a vet, how can you trust who is going to do the procedure on Jupiter? You understand that it's a busy practice but you would feel so much better speaking with the vet.
 
The vet Jupe saw doesnt get there til 1:30pm tomorrow and leaves at 5pm

I seriously asked sooooo many times to talk to the vet and they just kept asking what i needed i was so frustrated.

I call again after all this and the lady that answered said the vet had left for the day and that I should call back tomorrow and i asked if she could take a message to give to the vet to call me and she said it would be better if I call back when the vet is there since the vet sometimes forgets to do callbacks. so i will call tomorrow and if they dont let me talk to the vet maybe i will just go there around 4pm and then ask to speak to the vet and let them know i will sit there and wait all day until she has a minute if thats what i got to do... i am so frustrated
 
I really dont want to get on anyones bad side there or anything because jupiter will be getting surgery there and i want them to be nice to him. my poor baby boy. I am so worried about him
 
Jupiter has been acting much better today and hes been out and about.... but none of the cats ate well today.... 2 civies ate about as much as jupe which hasnt been much.... hopefully since its cooling off outside right now and we have a fan in the window it will cool the house off a bit and they will eat soon
 
:twisted: How annoying! Hi guys! I haven't been out visiting as much as I would like lately. Sorry to see Jupe is under the weather. I hope you can find some better medicine and Jupe can get back to his purry self. At least you have some nice green numbers!
 
why were the antibiotics SOOOO important on friday when i called but now today they are not important at all? i just dont understand that
 
Oh that is so frustrating :-x :-x :-x !!!
I can't believe they be rude to you.
I'm sorry you have to go through this frustration on top of everything else.
Just keep calling politely like Sienne said.
Don't worry about getting on their nerves, you have enough to worry about.
I truly don't think they'd treat Jupiter badly just because they don't like his bean :-D
I hope you'll get answers to your questions tomorrow.
 
The vet Jupe saw doesnt get there til 1:30pm tomorrow and leaves at 5pm

Call tomorrow at about 1:20pm. If the vet isn't there yet, tell them "that's okay, I'll hold". Catch the vet right at the beginning of his shift. If they ask you "what do you need to speak to him about?" tell them "that's between my vet and I, thank you."
 
Oh Jamie! That is a very unprofessional way to treat customers, at least on the part of the receptionist if not the vet herself. Is there any other vet in town that you can consult? It is awful to feel dependent on someone who is not treating your concerns with respect. Even if you don't change vets it is good to know you have options. Many vets don't charge for a prospective client consult.

Sorry I don't know where you live.
 
Jamie, this whole thing with the vet is so frustrating. Is it possible to transfer to a different vet practice?
In any event, I'm glad that Jupe isn't hiding, now that you are not giving amoxicillin/Clavamox. I hope a solution can be found. Clavamox is a rough antibiotic. It has always made all of our cats sick.
Thinking of you tonight and wishing you good luck tomorrow with the vet. Remember that the vet works for YOU. You are ultimately in charge and you are Jupe's advocate.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Jaime - just wanted ton wish you guys the best. I am sorry for all the vet tech issues, and the rudeness experienced over the phone. I hope a return call in the morning will get you in touch with the vet. I concur with the others, Those AB's cam be so hard on out kitties systems. Mannie had issues with them too. It's nice that Jupiter doesn't really need to take them, and that he is feeling better since you have been able to stop. Good luck! Sending tons of appy vines too!
 
How frustrating Jamie! And I know the feeling when you think you have to be nice, cause they will have your baby in their control. What a poorly run office. Hope you get a call back tomorrow. I agree with Carl. Call about when vet should arrive and just say you will hold for him/her. And that is a legitimate question about how come the ABs are not so important now?

Good luck, sending prayers for good news and cool weather!
 
Oh dear. That sounds so frustrating! :-x

Lots of hugs to you for dealing with such frustration. Here's good luck for you to talk to the vet. Calling as he's arriving or just before and asking to be put on hold for him is a good idea.

Feel better Jupiter. That is a really good question why the tech thinks the AB isn't needed now when you were given them to take until the surgery.
 
I was put on hold once and they said they forgot I was on hold.
me, I would park my ass at the vets and refuse to leave. would actually go there a little early. then explain to vet what you have been going through with the vet tech or whomever she is. that you do not want to cause trouble but you are paying her to have answers and taking care of jupe and you do not appreciate being devalued by said person. that you are very worried about him
 
I am going to try calling first - kidneys hurt REALLY bad today- so would rather talk to his vet on the phone. If for some reason, I havent talked to her by say.....3pm.... I will go there and sit there and tell them I am happy to wait until she has a moment to talk to me. (and since she leaves at 5pm - I will only sit there for 2 hours max - atleast thats what I am hoping)

I really dont want to upset anyone.... Jupiter IS having surgery there.... and I would never want them to treat him any differently because of something I said or did. I want him to get the best care possible.

I cant just go find Jupiter another vet.... This is the only vet that could see him within a few days when I called to make him his last appointment. Other vets I had to wait a week or more for an appointment.

The old vet that we used to take all my cats to..... I called him to make Jupiter an appt about this thing on his leg and they said they had NO appointments at all available for more then 2 weeks. They are a cheaper vet then most (only $20 for office visit and most are $37-45) - so they are ALWAYS completely booked. To even speak to a vet tech, you have to call several times until you no longer get a busy signal. (I would call every 15 mins and sometimes it would be busy for hours - it has taken me 5 hours once to even speak to a tech because phone lines busy all day).... and even once you hear a ring.... they usually put you on hold for a few minutes. It is sooooo sooooo very rare you can talk to any vet there as well. In the area I live in.... not many choices of vets.... and not many that can see your cat the same week as you call... they all do this where you cant talk to the vet unless you really push the issue.

I really like the vet that saw Jupiter - this was his first time seeing Jupiter - but when I first met Dane he used to take his cats to this vet so I had met her once before and really liked her. I felt she was really knowledgeable, patient, and she explained everything really well... Usually all the vets in this area act "rushed" and I feel like they dont take time to explain things - they just want you out of there as quickly as possible.

Dane and I were told in the past that canned food was bad for the cats (I cant remember who told us this). We had taken Danes cat (I say Danes cat cause this is the cat Dane had before he and I met- but of course we consider all cats both of ours now - we are all one family now :-D )Lumpkins, to this vet... He ended up needing his anal glands emptied.... and we discussed Lumpkins weight (he is very overweight - he weighs 15.5 lbs, but he is a very short cat and his belly is very round and huge - whereas Jupiter weighs more, 17.5 lbs, but Jupiter has a very long body - yes Jupiter is still overweight even though he is so long, but doesnt have as big of a belly as Lumpkins does). We had asked her for suggestions for a better food for Lumpkins, possibly something that would help him lose weight, and we also asked if the canned food was the cause of him rubbing his butt on the floor,etc. She told us that the canned food is NOT bad for him - rather it is good, and that it also helps cats to keep a little more hydrated since cats are not normally big drinkers. She said dry food isnt really good, but she recommended something with the first ingredient listed as a meat, if we were going to keep feeding dry. I liked the way she handled Lumpkins, was gentle but still got the job done. I also really liked that she expressed her opinion to us, while still giving the facts, and took the time to explain things to us. She did not rush us out of the room like I have seen so many other vets do, and she was very happy to answer any and all questions and even encouraged us to ask any questions we wanted. I just got a really good vibe from her - so I do trust her to help my baby boy Jupe.

I am not upset with or frustrated by the vet herself, only with the vet tech that I talked to. I am going to try to handle this as nicely as possible (for Jupe's sake) while still getting my point across that I want to talk to the vet.

I am not sure the vet tech was trying to be rude or anything, but thats just how she came across on the phone.

So whenever I do talk to the vet today, I want to just find out why the antibiotics were so important on friday (so important that we NEED to keep giving them to him unless he COMPLETELY stops eating) but now on Monday they are not important at all what-so-ever.... or maybe this was just the vet tech acting like they were so important on Friday... who knows... but at his vet appt we discussed with the vet either using a liquid or pill antibiotic and we decided with the vet that we would go with the pill to make sure he didnt spit out the liquid so that he would get the full dose. and also maybe ask her for an appetite stimulant? I think these are the main things I need to ask her today....

If anyone else has any idea of other things I should ask or mention please make any suggestions. Thanks
 
If you opt for a liquid AB, make sure it's not in a sugar syrup base. Lots of them are because the AB itself is bitter.

I think the big question for the vet is how do you get through all of the barriers if you need to talk with her. Granted, she's busy and there probably are some issues which a tech can handle. But, there are times that you are concerned and you need the expertise of a vet (or at least that will be more reassuring) who can provide a coherent explanation.
 
If the vet says to go ahead and give an appetite stimulant, please make sure you ask if there is a possibility of interaction with the Prozac that Jupiter is taking. Some appetite stimulants such as Mirtazapine are anti-depressants, as is Prozac, and I believe that they should not be taken together. Cyproheptadine, another appetite stimulant, is an anti-histamine, but it may interfere with the action of Prozac. Please make sure the vet addresses this concern before giving an appetite stimulant.

http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?A=2552

http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?P=A&S=0&C=0&A=1990
 
Thank you very much for the information on those interactions between medications.

I really think Jupiter needs to stay on the prozac and I am hoping that there is an appetite stimulant that wont interfere with this medication. I dont want the vet to tell us to stop the prozac. Jupiter really needs it. Before he was on the prozac he would constantly hide, to the point he would get so constipated from holding his bowels for so long since he was afraid to come out from under the bed and he ended up needing surgery on his colon. The prozac has really helped him since he started taking it. He still has bad anxiety but no where like what it used to be.
 
Jamie

Is Jupiter still eating well?

His numbers look good but we'd like to see him eating for a few days and see what his BG does before officially starting an OTJ Trial. Sound ok?
 
None of the cats ate much yesterday and I am just thinking maybe its because its so hot in the house. He still ate more then he did when he was on the ABs but still not much at all...and he is acting better. He was not hiding much yesterday except for when it rained... he was out and about and seemed like he was feeling good last night. We left food out for them overnight as always but we put some fancy feast appetizers on top of the food to help entice them to eat more... and when I woke up this AM they had eaten a pretty decent bit of food so I am thinking since it was cooler at night they had more of an appy and ate. There were 2 piles of vomit today but I am not sure which cat they are from.

Jupiter didnt eat very much when I first fed him this AM but about 2 hours later... just a few minutes ago... I put some food in front of him and put some treats on top and he ate a whole bunch of food this time!! YAY
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top