Stefania S
Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...lc-then-mc-attempted-bg-tests-nervous.279207/
Hi all,
On the sensor, I am getting more reds than ever before and lots of pinks, high yellows too.
We were offline for a few days and with no home testing after the last sensor died, but I was making regular attempts at BG testing. Unfortunately, this stresses her a lot, but we did make some progress.
We had an EXTREMELY stressful visit this Thursday including fasting beforehand, and then the ongoing stress of having to change the dressing on the tumor. Waiting to get further test results, surgery is likely.
I have a feeling her numbers were high to begin with during this time of no sensor, but I don't know for sure. I know that her BGs are through the roof since I got the new sensor. I waited to see if it was the typical 24 hour sensor wonkiness, when it is first applied and also the effects of stress. Numbers came down a little yesterday but shot back up today. We did have some stress at home, and the bandage/dressing change, but I'm a bit shocked.
Should I wait it out a little longer or increase to 1? This comes up often after a vet visit, especially lately that they are doing such invasive tests and keeping her a long time, and sometimes fasting or skipping a shot. It's all messing with BG regulation in a big way!
They sent me home with instructions to change the dressing on the tumor 4-5 times a day! This seems like an extremely disturbing experience for her. Even though she is getting better about letting me do it, I can tell it bothers her a lot. I am not doing it nearly as often as they said to because of that, but each time I do it, I wonder if it's affecting her BGs. I forgot to write down the time of when I did the dressing change, I'll start doing that.
I could use some guidance on whether to hold or increase to 1unit given the situation.
Super tough time for us both, I really appreciate your help and encouragement!



Hi all,
On the sensor, I am getting more reds than ever before and lots of pinks, high yellows too.
We were offline for a few days and with no home testing after the last sensor died, but I was making regular attempts at BG testing. Unfortunately, this stresses her a lot, but we did make some progress.
We had an EXTREMELY stressful visit this Thursday including fasting beforehand, and then the ongoing stress of having to change the dressing on the tumor. Waiting to get further test results, surgery is likely.
I have a feeling her numbers were high to begin with during this time of no sensor, but I don't know for sure. I know that her BGs are through the roof since I got the new sensor. I waited to see if it was the typical 24 hour sensor wonkiness, when it is first applied and also the effects of stress. Numbers came down a little yesterday but shot back up today. We did have some stress at home, and the bandage/dressing change, but I'm a bit shocked.
Should I wait it out a little longer or increase to 1? This comes up often after a vet visit, especially lately that they are doing such invasive tests and keeping her a long time, and sometimes fasting or skipping a shot. It's all messing with BG regulation in a big way!
They sent me home with instructions to change the dressing on the tumor 4-5 times a day! This seems like an extremely disturbing experience for her. Even though she is getting better about letting me do it, I can tell it bothers her a lot. I am not doing it nearly as often as they said to because of that, but each time I do it, I wonder if it's affecting her BGs. I forgot to write down the time of when I did the dressing change, I'll start doing that.
I could use some guidance on whether to hold or increase to 1unit given the situation.
Super tough time for us both, I really appreciate your help and encouragement!


