7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) +4.5(339) +6(313) +9(332)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/7 Hershey

HAPPY SUNDAY!!!!

In this morning's rush we did test/feed/shoot, but no time to post. Home from church and our normal Sunday Costco run, so trying to cool off and catch-up. Ginnie's baby shower yesterday was fun...AND, my boy cancelled his plans with friends to come home and help Dad with the bum wing - mowed the grass and a few other outdoor things. Sure was sad to see him go this morning after church, though...especially knowing it'll be a month before I see him, again. :sad: Came home to find he had left almost half of his clothes :YMSIGH: , so trying to figure out how to get them to him. Cheapest way is to drive them there...maybe I'll see him in less than a month...

Hershey doesn't seem up to snuff, but it could certainly be the heat - 107 degrees.

Guess I should fix a little lunch...or supper...or something...

Stay cool!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (368) +12 - Shot .5 at 7:10am
+5 Auto-feeder - Both feeders opened. Hershey ate Hershey's, but it's anybody's guess as to who ate Oreo's. If I was a betting woman, I'd say Hershey ate Oreo's, too, but I can't prove it...Seems like Oreo's food today is...7% carbs? pretty sure
+7.75 (236)
+9.5 (291)

PMPS (330) +12 - Shot .5u at 7:00pm
+4.5 (339)
+6 (313) - fed
+9 (332)
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236)

Hi Libby.
How nice of your son to come home to help dad. Did he leave the clothes for you to launder? :lol:
Every now and then, for some nosy reason, I look at Hershey's pofile, and laugh every time, at the picture of him leaning on the arm of the testing chair. That just strikes my fancy :lol:
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236)

Looks like our boys are running neck-and-neck today. I know you're anxious for even better numbers, but look how far we've come in 5-6 weeks! WOW!!!
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236)

I saw the question in yesterday's condo about increasing and decreasing by less than 0.25. Absolutely, there are lots of people who do that, especially when the cat has a history of not being able to hold reductions. Hershey seems to want to be in that category right now. To be fair, his last reduction was earned on the full moon night, and often those reductions don't stick.

What I usually find works best in this case is to do increases by 0.25u to get things jumpstarted again, then the next time he earns a reduction try doing the decrease by just a shave instead of a full reduction. That also falls into line with the protocol's specification to go right back to the last good dose after a failed reduction.

Doing reductions by shaving rather than by 0.25u is a bit more aggressive than the written protocol, but it is something that many LL cats have found success with.

I was hoping Hershey would do something good with last night's nice PMPS, but since he didn't I would probably increase tonight. You can either go up to 0.75u or to fat 0.5u, whatever works best for you.
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236) +9.5(291)

Hey, Barb - I had already washed all of his clothes. I figured it was the least I could do after he changed his plans and mowed the grass in 102 degree heat. :smile: I'm glad you like the picture of Hershey. He will pleased to hear he strikes your fancy :-D

Hey, Lu - Haven't had a chance to look in on Grayson today. Yes, I'd like better numbers...or to see some kind of rhyme or reason...but, I know there isn't one. After all, what would be the fun in that?! :lol:

Hey, Sienne - Yeah, I was hoping he'd touch a little blue, but...not today...

Hey, Libby - Thanks for clearing that up. I can see the reasoning in increasing by .25u and then decreasing by .1u if/when you need it. One question though, if we increase to .75u and later decrease by .1u, that's .65u. (How's THAT for math skills?!) HOW do we measure .65u? Just figure it up on the caliper or...THANKS!

Thanks, y'all, for visiting!!!
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236) +9.5(291)

I'm not one to get that specific about what you call small doses. I just call it fat 0.5, skinny 0.75, etc. Find a way to consistently measure something that is between the doses, like putting the top of the plunger on the bottom of the line or something. If it turns out that Hershey is even more sensitive than that, I know there are people who have the drop thing down to a science. I never used calipers or anything, though I did use reading glasses sometimes.
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236) +9.5(291)

Thanks, Libby. I have sometimes used reading glasses, even brought Jessica's young eyes in on a consult a time or two! We bought calipers a few weeks ago and Doug loves using them! (I must admit that he's done the dosing since we bought them, so I haven't had occasion to use them, yet

I wish I could take (and post) a panoramic picture of the room right now. Hershey is asleep in the desk chair, Oreo is asleep on the back of my chair and Doug is asleep in the rocker/recliner. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236) +9.5(291)

Hi Libby,
Sounds like you all had a nice day, except for your son leaving
Hershey is looking good, you must be so happy you switched!
hope you have a great night
and try to stay cool!
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) INC to .75u

Hey, Denise - Sad when Joseph leaves, but that's what happens when they grow up and have their own plans...good and bad :YMSIGH:

Yes, I am glad we switched...kind of makes me wish we had done it sooner, but that's "water over the dam or under the bridge, or wherever you like it." (Watched Spiderman 1 & 2 last night ;-) )

PMPS (330) +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00pm - INCREASE DOSE #1
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey AMPS(368) +7.75(236) +9.5(291)

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm not one to get that specific about what you call small doses. I just call it fat 0.5, skinny 0.75, etc. Find a way to consistently measure something that is between the doses, like putting the top of the plunger on the bottom of the line or something. If it turns out that Hershey is even more sensitive than that, I know there are people who have the drop thing down to a science. I never used calipers or anything, though I did use reading glasses sometimes.

Somewhere I recently saw a really good series of pictures of U-100s w/ half-unit markings showing mini-dosing. No callipers, no counting drips... just good pictures w/ close ups of each. Will try to find it for you. But the jist of it was using the thickness of the plunger just below the "0" line (.1), then leaving a space the thicknes of the plunger (.2), then halfway (.3), then again space the thickness (.4) and finally the thickness of the plunger at the line (.5). Lather, Rinse, Repeat!

Some of us have multiple pairs of reading glasses scattered about: work, kitchen, testing kit, bedroom, purse, piano, car... :lol: Oh, if I could only have kept the eyes I had for the first 43 years!!! Now my arms aren't long enough to do ANYTHING!!
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) INC to .75u

I too love that pic of Hershey on his testing chair. The kitties do funny stuff :lol:
You guys look like you are doing real well Libby. Keep on keepin’ on!
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) INC to .75u

Hi Libby, that sure would make a great pic of all of them sleeping. :-D Sounds like you all had a really nice day. Good luck on the dosing. I use my reading glasses and then a magnifying glass to get the right dose. Have a good rest of the evening.
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) INC to .75u

Thanks for coming by, Ann. Yeah, wish I had taken a nap when they did!

We've been on Levemir less than a month, so I'm trying to be patient while Hershey finds a dose he likes. I wouldn't mind it being sooner rather than later ;-) , but trying to take it one dose at a time. We bought a magnifier when we bought the calipers and it's a pretty neat trick. Of course, since Doug has been doing the dosing lately I've not had the occasion to use it for that, yet. I did use it to trim my nails - quite helpful! :lol: :lol:

Have a great night -
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) INC to .75u

Hi guys - sorry for the late visit. Good luck with the new dose - I hope that Hershey will like this one, and sees some really good numbers.

Thanks for checking in on Mannie - things are better for him tonight. YAY!
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) +4.5(339)

Got so into catching up on condos that I let testing time slip by! :o

+4.5 (339) Guess he threw an uneventful number so I wouldn't feel so bad about not keeping track of time... ;-)
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) +4.5(339) +6(313)

+6 (313) - fed

We are not amused...but, one good thing to report. Hershey actually played with the laser pointer for a couple of minutes at +5.5. Up until now, he'd either watch it and move his head or pounce once then look like he didn't know what to do next...it made me sad :cry: He looked almost like he was winded when he stopped. Don't know if it's the lack of exercise, or because he's still unregulated or maybe a breathing issue (HOPE NOT!). I've noticed he breathes a lot more often than Oreo does, but don't know if that means anything. They go to the vet Thurs for feline leukemia tests; I thought I'd mention it to the vet. This will be Hershey's first appointment since his diagnosis last November. Hoping he's on his best behavior! Our kitties are soooo passive....until they get to the vet's office!!! :lol: :lol:

Goodnight, all....
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) +4.5(339) +6(313)

you've sure had a late night! just wanted to let you know that the photos that lu is talking about are in the "new to the group" sticky at the top of this forum page. the pics are a HUGE help. i also measure by using the air space around the plunger on either side of the line. the main thing is to be able to repeat what you dose.

my kids all do that - come home and leave a bunch of stuff behind. i always think of pigpen when they leave, but i don't say much because i used to do that too! :lol: karma, you know! ;-)
 
Re: 7/8 Hershey PMPS(330) +4.5(339) +6(313)

Now Hershey....is this the way to use your extra juice! Kickoff the NDW and get going!

Hope you all are having a great night, Libby.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top