7/8 Buzz PMPS: 429, +1: 351, +2: 319, +4.5: 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19166

WCR: Buzz is doing great today. I still can't believe she got that low number last night, but apparently she is already clearing the bounce. I don't want to say too much, but I will say that I have been SO happy with her numbers the last few days. Despite her pinks at the start of each cycle, she seems to be clearing bounces very quickly and getting good action off this dose. I am curious as to what has changed. Is her liver finally getting with the program? Is her pancreas starting to work better? Was the 1.0u just too much insulin and she was stuck in an endless cycle of bouncing and low lows? Who knows? Whatever it is, I'll take it. :-D
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz AMPS: 333,+1:275,+2.5:191,+4:86,+5:78

Wow, Buzz, that was quite a low number last night! You must have enjoyed the party!! Yep, our kitchen crew is really working well together. We should go into the catering business! (but that wouldn't be as much fun as cooking for our friends). You have great numbers today, too. We're both surfing GREEN!!!
later,
Stu
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz AMPS: 333,+1:275,+2.5:191,+4:86,+5:78

Wow! Look at Buzz go! She is doing great and clearing those bounces so quickly, too.
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz AMPS: 333,+1:275,+2.5:191,+4:86,+5:78

Hey Sarah and Buzz! WOW - nice day for Buzz!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Mannie had such a good time with Buzz yesterday - primo he said.
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz AMPS: 333,+1:275,+2.5:191,+4:86,+5:78

nice numbers, Buzz. Don't let them scare Mr. Liver, tell him he has to get w/ the program. You're doing your part. :thumbup
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz AMPS: 333,+1:275,+2.5:191,+4:86,+5:78

Beautiful day Buzz--What a recovery from your bounce!!! You are doing amazing! Glad you went to the party with Moonie, she says you are a blast~!-Whoo Hooo for You Hooo!! party_cat flip_cat party_cat
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz PMPS: 429

I know, it's not the end of the world. :smile: Luckily, she rarely gets red (only the third time in 3 months) but that means I'm all crazy when I do see it. :lol:
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz PMPS: 429, +1: 351

I've been looking at your spreadsheet with Jill, and had a couple of thoughts.

We've talked before about Buzz being one of those cats who probably needs an aggressive approach in order to have a chance at going OTJ again. That means trying hard to NOT let her get low enough to earn reductions. You've been doing the PS, +1, +2 feedings. Buzz is still dropping early, so I wonder if splitting the meal into just TWO feedings (PS and +1) might help. That would frontload the cycle even more and maybe prevent +2 from getting so low. I don't know if it will work, but it might be worth a try.

The other thing to do, is get a +1 whenever you can (which you already do). If the +1 is lower than PS, go ahead and assume this will be a dropping cycle. Definitely feed if +1 is lower than PS, and if it's quite a bit lower, go ahead and feed MC then. Right now the goal is to NOT let Buzz go below 50 unless she absolutely insists on it. It seems funny to say we don't want dose reductions, but Buzz will benefit from staying on each dose as long as possible before reducing.

That is a technique that is hard to understand. I know I didn't start catching on until the very end of Lucy's insulin career. I know it would have helped if I had tried it earlier.
 
Re: 7/8 Buzz PMPS: 429, +1: 351

Libby and Lucy said:
I've been looking at your spreadsheet with Jill, and had a couple of thoughts.
Cool, thanks guys! :)

Libby and Lucy said:
We've talked before about Buzz being one of those cats who probably needs an aggressive approach in order to have a chance at going OTJ again. That means trying hard to NOT let her get low enough to earn reductions. You've been doing the PS, +1, +2 feedings. Buzz is still dropping early, so I wonder if splitting the meal into just TWO feedings (PS and +1) might help. That would frontload the cycle even more and maybe prevent +2 from getting so low. I don't know if it will work, but it might be worth a try.
This idea makes sense to me. And unlike most things we must try in the name of FD, this one actually creates less work for me! :lol:

Libby and Lucy said:
The other thing to do, is get a +1 whenever you can (which you already do). If the +1 is lower than PS, go ahead and assume this will be a dropping cycle. Definitely feed if +1 is lower than PS, and if it's quite a bit lower, go ahead and feed MC then. Right now the goal is to NOT let Buzz go below 50 unless she absolutely insists on it. It seems funny to say we don't want dose reductions, but Buzz will benefit from staying on each dose as long as possible before reducing.
I have definitely noticed the trend with her +1s. I can tell pretty accurately if she will drop or have a flat cycle based on whether +1 is higher or lower than PS. I like the idea of getting the jump on the drop with MC at +1 if there's a significant drop.

Libby and Lucy said:
That is a technique that is hard to understand. I know I didn't start catching on until the very end of Lucy's insulin career. I know it would have helped if I had tried it earlier.
It, too, makes sense to me. At least I think I feel like I'm understanding it. ;-) The idea is that if you work against earning reductions, rather than trying for them, when a reduction is finally earned, you know that it's because the pancreas really worked at it and is therefore functioning better than it would were it allowed to be lazy. And of course, in the long run, a strong pancreas means a trip to the Falls. :-D

Thank you and Jill for your thoughts. They are greatly appreciated, and I'm eager to try the new stuff and see how much it helps. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top