7/8 Bubbas AMPS 431 - first glucose curve!!

Good luck today! I hope we will see some mysteries revealed but keep in mind he might still be bouncing. That’s ok but don’t be worried if his BG is higher than you want.
 
He will get there….we always say FD is a marathon, not a sprint.

Such a good reminder! This was very difficult for me -- when I began insulin therapy on Hendrick, my patience was in short supply. I wanted my boy better NOW, darn it!

The mental struggle of following a dosing method for weeks and months with just small incremental progress was something I found very challenging. The members here were the best, always upbeat and positive, reminding me to just keep on doing what I was doing, trust the process, and follow the guidelines. And thank goodness I did!

@Kitty Kat how do you pronounce Bubbas is it like Bub-Uzz?

Or like you would say it if there were multiples of a person named Bubba. "Hey there goes a group of Bubbas" :smuggrin:
 
Such a good reminder! This was very difficult for me, when I began insulin therapy on Hendrick, my patience was in short supply. I wanted my boy better NOW, darn it!

The mental struggle of following a dosing method for weeks and months with just small incremental progress was something I found very challenging. The members here were the best, always upbeat and positive, reminding me to just keep on doing what I was doing, trust the process, and follow the guidelines. And thank goodness I did!

@Kitty Kat how do you pronounce Bubbas is it like Bub-Uzz?

Or like you would say it if there were multiples of a person named Bubba. "Hey there goes a group of Bubbas" :smuggrin:

lol yes everyone here has been extremely helpful and kind and I’m very thankful! And his name is Bubbas, not “Bubba” like people think lol you say his name WITH the “s” on it haha

a lot of people call him Bubba even though I have his names spelled in the signature and whenever I type it, I always add the S, but yes it’s BubbaS

Thank you for asking!!
 
lol yes everyone here has been extremely helpful and kind and I’m very thankful! And his name is Bubbas, not “Bubba” like people think lol you say his name WITH the “s” on it haha

a lot of people call him Bubba even though I have his names spelled in the signature and whenever I type it, I always add the S, but yes it’s BubbaS

Thank you for asking!!

I was an English major in college and I have a weird fascination with pronunciation of names, lol. And I noticed that you spelling it with an s was clearly not an error, even using the possessive apostrophe outside the s correctly in his SS link. So this piqued my curiosity haha! Had to ask.

I love it. Post more pics! I used to include a pic of Hen when posting his condos sometimes. Or one of the other 6 cats :eek:
 
I was an English major in college and I have a weird fascination with pronunciation of names, lol. And I noticed that you spelling it with an s was clearly not an error, even using the possessive apostrophe outside the s correctly in his SS link. So this piqued my curiosity haha! Had to ask.

I love it. Post more pics! I used to include a pic of Hen when posting his condos sometimes. Or one of the other 6 cats :eek:
Well again thank you for asking! And yes I’ll post more pics forsure if I can figure out how too lol
 
I just noticed you are free feeding all day. We recommend that you do not feed after about +6 until the next PS unless his BG drops lower and you need to give him a tiny bit of food to get the BG back up. By feeding all day, it affects duration and some times in a large way.
 
I just noticed you are free feeding all day. We recommend that you do not feed after about +6 until the next PS unless his BG drops lower and you need to give him a tiny bit of food to get the BG back up. By feeding all day, it affects duration and some times in a large way.
Oh ok! It’s past +6 and he ate the last bit of his food but won’t be getting any more for another 2 1/2 hours. He ate the majority of his food within a couple hours of being fed in the am

so you not suggest free eating just during a curve? Or in general?
 
Oh ok! It’s past +6 and he ate the last bit of his food but won’t be getting any more for another 2 1/2 hours. He ate the majority of his food within a couple hours of being fed in the am

so you not suggest free eating just during a curve? Or in general?
For most diabetic cats, it’s every cycle to try and feed their food spread out between PS and about +6. While there are a few cats who can free feed all day and not have it impact their BG, typically, free feeding after nadir impacts duration.
 
For most diabetic cats, it’s every cycle to try and feed their food spread out between PS and about +6. While there are a few cats who can free feed all day and not have it impact their BG, typically, free feeding after nadir impacts duration.
Oh gosh I’m good to know. So only let Bubbas eat to 6 hours after each insulin? Just not all day and all threw out the night?
 
For most diabetic cats, it’s every cycle to try and feed their food spread out between PS and about +6. While there are a few cats who can free feed all day and not have it impact their BG, typically, free feeding after nadir impacts duration.
So quick question, I switched over to giving Bubbas his insulin with a u100 syringe which I like better then the needle caps, but I am realizing that there are starting to form bubbles in the insulin pen…I think due to when I measure out 1 unit, I learned to go over the unit you want, than slowly push the needle to the unit you want and flick the syringe to get bubbles out…but even if I flick the syringe multiple times, the bubbles won’t come out of the syringe. It is only maybe 1 bubble but I read any bubbles in the syringe can be deadly? Also, when I push the syringe back to 1 unit, obviously there is some that shoot back in the insulin pen, and when I do that, it causes a lot of bubbles in the actual insulin pen that I can’t seem to get to go away! Are bubbles dangerous??

Also, I tested Bubbas last glucose numbers!! HORRAY for very first curve! I will test again in a couple hours.
 
So quick question, I switched over to giving Bubbas his insulin with a u100 syringe which I like better then the needle caps, but I am realizing that there are starting to form bubbles in the insulin pen…I think due to when I measure out 1 unit, I learned to go over the unit you want, than slowly push the needle to the unit you want and flick the syringe to get bubbles out…but even if I flick the syringe multiple times, the bubbles won’t come out of the syringe. It is only maybe 1 bubble but I read any bubbles in the syringe can be deadly? Also, when I push the syringe back to 1 unit, obviously there is some that shoot back in the insulin pen, and when I do that, it causes a lot of bubbles in the actual insulin pen that I can’t seem to get to go away! Are bubbles dangerous??

Also, I tested Bubbas last glucose numbers!! HORRAY for very first curve! I will test again in a couple hours.
The bubbles aren’t dangerous because you are giving a subq injection but it’s best not to squirt insulin back into the pen. Try this (written by another member):

“To start draw a bit more insulin than his dose and then hold the syringe needle up, give a good flick or two so that all the bubbles are at the tip by the needle.
Now pull the plunger a bit as if drawing more insulin, now you should have one bigger space with air or one big bubble.
Make sure there are no other bubbles just the one big one, if you need to pull down further it kinda joins all the bubbles into one and then slowly shoot out the air until your dose and if all goes well…no more bubbles!”

Bubbas decided to continue the bounce on his curve day so we really can’t tell much. I wouldn’t increase the dose since he was just in green. Great job with the curve. He’s gradually been coming down so I would definitely get a few tests in tonight.
 
The bubbles aren’t dangerous because you are giving a subq injection but it’s best not to squirt insulin back into the pen. Try this (written by another member):

“To start draw a bit more insulin than his dose and then hold the syringe needle up, give a good flick or two so that all the bubbles are at the tip by the needle.
Now pull the plunger a bit as if drawing more insulin, now you should have one bigger space with air or one big bubble.
Make sure there are no other bubbles just the one big one, if you need to pull down further it kinda joins all the bubbles into one and then slowly shoot out the air until your dose and if all goes well…no more bubbles!”

Bubbas decided to continue the bounce on his curve day so we really can’t tell much. I wouldn’t increase the dose since he was just in green. Great job with the curve. He’s gradually been coming down so I would definitely get a few tests in tonight.

I’m glad they aren’t dangerous because yeah I like using the syringes a lot better but those bubbles keep happening pretty bad lol and ok sounds good. His final number for tonight (I just took it) was 313!! When do you suggest I do another curve?
 
Back
Top