7/7 Xena AMPS 369, +3 340 / PMPS 304 , +3 295

Don & Xena

Member Since 2023
This AMPS is the highest she’s been since I’ve been testing. Even before insulin… maybe using Cortisone on her ears had something to do with it??? I don’t know.
She was due for another increase, but I feel like maybe I should wait until her ears are better???
The blood I did get for these past couple tests, since her ears have been irritated, seems thin. Don’t know what that means.

… and I STILL can’t get the nagging thought out of my head that maybe this insulin has lost its potency/ been compromised. I wouldn’t think that would be the case, but that “WHAT IF” is taunting me.

Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-6-xena-both-ears-red-and-irritated.279261/
 
Carla's right. The cortisone in her ears can increase blood sugar and you don't want to hold off increases waiting. That just lets glucose toxicity take hold, meaning her body gets used to those higher numbers again and want to stay there.

In my experience and from what I've seen on the board here, higher numbers are most often due to the cat, not the insulin. But we all want to believe it's the insulin. :bighug:
 
Apple Cider Vinegar may help her ears.
https://www.earthclinic.com/apple-cider-vinegar-for-feline-ear-infections.html

I wouldn't hold off on an increase just because of her ears. You'll just need to watch when you get the medicine that her numbers may come down once her ears get better, but you can manage that.
Thanks for the info. … I was just concerned when I was unable to test her, but her ears are not as bad at the moment (hopefully they continue to get better), so I have been able to test her, although I’m testing less to give her a break. Honestly, thinking about it though even if I couldn’t test her I seriously doubt she’s going to suddenly drop into the lime greens anyway.
She’ll get her increase on the next dose.
@Wendy&Neko
As far as the insulin concerns. I know what you’re saying I really don’t “want“ it to be the insulin but you know there’s that thought in the back of my head what if I continue to increase her and then when I change to a new vial, it’s more potent and the dose is too high. I’m sure you know what I mean… These are the things that run through my head. I’m sure I’m not the first person to think it. This situation can drive you crazy and all kinds of scenarios go through your head.
 
Carla's right. The cortisone in her ears can increase blood sugar and you don't want to hold off increases waiting. That just lets glucose toxicity take hold, meaning her body gets used to those higher numbers again and want to stay there.

In my experience and from what I've seen on the board here, higher numbers are most often due to the cat, not the insulin. But we all want to believe it's the insulin. :bighug:
I did stop the cortisone too. I bought the Cortizone free drops she suggested yesterday they’ll be here tomorrow so even though her ears aren’t as bad as they were they’re still kind of pink, so I’ll try those out. Hopefully they continue to get better.
 
Back
Top