7/7 Mijo AMPS 535\+4.5 220

DaveL

Member Since 2023
Hello- I am back and chart updated!

Range is around 220-540 the last few days. I can probably take increase back up to 0.75? I would like to increase him slowly now though. The nice thing right now is he is not bouncing!! But he is only getting down to 220 range now.
As you can see in the beginning when I went down to 0.5Units he did get in the greens and it looked like he was getting plenty of insulin. That was different then when he was on 1 Unit and bouncing nearly every other day! Even if I tried giving him higher carb treats I just couldn't seem to stop the bouncing.

His Range is so big though. I just can't seem to get his higher end AMPS and PMPS numbers to come down under 500! It's like his depot is not building up enough, but when i increase his insulin he start bouncing then! Any advice here?

Also he is pretty darn skinny now. I started this process around 9.5 pounds and he was an 11 pound cat. Guessing he is around 8-8.5 pounds now. He is getting around 10 ounces of wet Weurva cat food a day. Plus I started giving him a shredded chicken breast today which will hopefully start to pack on some weight. I am using Friskies gravy food to slow down the bouncing. He seems to be hungry all the time and drinking good.

Anyways, if anyone could please ready my chart and offer any advice it would be appreciated. He is a very touchy cat with the insulin. We are about 3 months into this process I was hoping he would of been a bit further in his progress! I understand the 0.5 was to be avoided using TR method, but i wanted to try something to stop his everyday bounce as that can't be good for his body.
@Suzanne & Darcy Thank you again for all your help
 
I would definitely try increasing him back up to .75 units and if you want to hold the dose longer as you have indicated then switch back to SLGS. High carb treats and food should be reserved for numbers at or below 50. They will drive up his numbers and can cause loss of duration of the insulin- meaning he could go and stay a lot higher. It’s hard to tell just from the numbers on the SS what has been going on because we can’t tell if he’s going up on his own or if it was caused by HC food and HC treats. Let me ask a few more people to stop by and take a look at your spreadsheet.
 
A housekeeping favour to ask. On this forum, we start a new day each day that we post (you don't have to post everyday), with a link to the previous post. With the number of kitties on this forum, it makes it easier to keep track of what is happening each day with each cat. Thank you!
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ
 
He definitely needs that increase. I can’t go back to read the previous posts right now but would like to ask you to do something that will help all of us help you. In the comments section if you write when you feed hc or mc and at what hour it might help us as well as you see how he responds to carbs.
 
Hello- I am back and chart updated!

Range is around 220-540 the last few days. I can probably take increase back up to 0.75? I would like to increase him slowly now though. The nice thing right now is he is not bouncing!! But he is only getting down to 220 range now.
As you can see in the beginning when I went down to 0.5Units he did get in the greens and it looked like he was getting plenty of insulin. That was different then when he was on 1 Unit and bouncing nearly every other day! Even if I tried giving him higher carb treats I just couldn't seem to stop the bouncing.

His Range is so big though. I just can't seem to get his higher end AMPS and PMPS numbers to come down under 500! It's like his depot is not building up enough, but when i increase his insulin he start bouncing then! Any advice here?

Also he is pretty darn skinny now. I started this process around 9.5 pounds and he was an 11 pound cat. Guessing he is around 8-8.5 pounds now. He is getting around 10 ounces of wet Weurva cat food a day. Plus I started giving him a shredded chicken breast today which will hopefully start to pack on some weight. I am using Friskies gravy food to slow down the bouncing. He seems to be hungry all the time and drinking good.

Anyways, if anyone could please ready my chart and offer any advice it would be appreciated. He is a very touchy cat with the insulin. We are about 3 months into this process I was hoping he would of been a bit further in his progress! I understand the 0.5 was to be avoided using TR method, but i wanted to try something to stop his everyday bounce as that can't be good for his body.
@Suzanne & Darcy Thank you again for all your help
Here’s the link to the previous condo.

He’s very bouncy and, as Suzanne said, you don’t want to use medium or high carb food or treats to address bouncing. Medium or high carb food given when not needed will cause the duration to shorten substantially so when he does bounce, the BG goes even higher. You should only use it to bring really low BGs up and only the %carbs you know will do that. For example, my kitty only needed 13% carbs most of the time when she was low but I did use a tiny bit of syrup for below 40 BGs.

Good luck with the increase.
 
I think you've gotten great guidance! It can be hard to deal with bounces. There really isn't a way to prevent them or to effectively short circuit the process. It's actually a pretty normal response since most cats become accustomed to higher numbers and their system overreacts to the lower numbers. It just takes patience.
 
Back
Top