Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...400-4-254-bounce-dose-ok.278915/#post-3083473
Hi everyone, it’s been a minute since we’ve posted. We changed Ivy‘s diet to a medium carb 12.5% carb home cooked lamb diet.
On 7/2 &7/3 She was dropping lower on the Libre (for her) overnight. I didn’t let her drop down to the 40’s (Libre) by using carbs to boost her bg for hours on end every 20 minutes or so.
(Therefore I’m not really able to see where the dose will drop her if I’m constantly boosting her up)
We ended up lowering her dose to 3.0 units Lantus on 7/4 after the overnights where I had to feed her snacks all night to keep her boosted until about 3 am (+9) until she was stable enough for me to leave her alone. (Exhausted)
Per our nutritionist, we are trying method to feed her larger meal at amps/pmps, +2 small snack & +6 larger snack, to try to spread out calories & carbs to even her out more.
We are also trying feeding a little more food in overnight cycle than daytime cycle to see if that helps decrease overnight deep, extended drops and hope for more flats.
*Yesterday and today, she’s had lower stretches in blues and greens for 6-7 hours. (I know that’s a good thing).
After a long low stretch, She then tends to bounce high later In the cycle.
**My question is this: if she doesn’t get out of this lower range (50s-80s on Libre) at pmps tonight, do I give her a full dose?
Concern is that she surfed low, (for her), for a long stretch again today. Or, is a reduced dose or a skip advised?
(Her AMPS was a bit lower than usual.)
Also, Is she just getting used to lower numbers and surfing these numbers more??
So far I have not cross checked her on Contour handheld meter since she’s not gone under 40s on Libre, which is when she should be 60-80s on the Contour meter
.
If she goes very low on Libre, I will definitely cross check with ear pricks.
Thank you.
still dropping at +9…
Hi everyone, it’s been a minute since we’ve posted. We changed Ivy‘s diet to a medium carb 12.5% carb home cooked lamb diet.
On 7/2 &7/3 She was dropping lower on the Libre (for her) overnight. I didn’t let her drop down to the 40’s (Libre) by using carbs to boost her bg for hours on end every 20 minutes or so.
(Therefore I’m not really able to see where the dose will drop her if I’m constantly boosting her up)
We ended up lowering her dose to 3.0 units Lantus on 7/4 after the overnights where I had to feed her snacks all night to keep her boosted until about 3 am (+9) until she was stable enough for me to leave her alone. (Exhausted)
Per our nutritionist, we are trying method to feed her larger meal at amps/pmps, +2 small snack & +6 larger snack, to try to spread out calories & carbs to even her out more.
We are also trying feeding a little more food in overnight cycle than daytime cycle to see if that helps decrease overnight deep, extended drops and hope for more flats.
*Yesterday and today, she’s had lower stretches in blues and greens for 6-7 hours. (I know that’s a good thing).
After a long low stretch, She then tends to bounce high later In the cycle.
**My question is this: if she doesn’t get out of this lower range (50s-80s on Libre) at pmps tonight, do I give her a full dose?
Concern is that she surfed low, (for her), for a long stretch again today. Or, is a reduced dose or a skip advised?
(Her AMPS was a bit lower than usual.)
Also, Is she just getting used to lower numbers and surfing these numbers more??
So far I have not cross checked her on Contour handheld meter since she’s not gone under 40s on Libre, which is when she should be 60-80s on the Contour meter
.If she goes very low on Libre, I will definitely cross check with ear pricks.
Thank you.
still dropping at +9…
Attachments
Last edited:
