7/6 TUXIE AMPS-434; +4-202; +5.5-173; PMPS-319; +3-239: +5-43 ; +5+20min -99;+6-103; +8-85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
ALPHA TRAK 2 PET METER READS HIGHER THAN HUMAN METER

Yesterday:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-293-pmps-499-4-401-super-big-bounce.140502/

RECAP:

AMPS- 463; +3-340; +4.75-199; +9-293
PMPS- 499; +4-401 +7-349

After a teaser with a few blues mid-cycle yesterday morning Tuxie remained high and flat for the rest of the day. It was very disappointing to see those runs of high numbers and poor duration. Although Tuxie can take a numbers of days to settle in after a bounce, I am inclined to look at a dose increase tomorrow if he doesn't spend some good time in the blues today. These high bounces just cannot be good for him.
 
Tuxie dropped to 43 (AT2) on his +5 a drop of 196 points since his +3. I retested twice and did a FS Lite reading which was 36.

I gave him tsp reg/tsp HC and 5 drops syrup. Should I give more syrup?? I will retest in 20 minutes.
 
I'm not one of the experienced members, but I can tell you that I would do exactly what you're doing. Test in 20 minutes. Keep your subject line updated. I'm not super familiar with the AT, but that seems pretty low to me, so I'd be very vigilant. I'm sure a more experienced member will be along soon. Meanwhile, take a few deep breaths, and take inventory.
 
I'm not one of the experienced members, but I can tell you that I would do exactly what you're doing. Test in 20 minutes. Keep your subject line updated. I'm not super familiar with the AT, but that seems pretty low to me, so I'd be very vigilant. I'm sure a more experienced member will be along soon. Meanwhile, take a few deep breaths, and take inventory.


AT2 is the pet meter which read 43. The human meter FS Lite read 36, so it is low. The huge drop from +3 to +5 wa totally unexpected...there was no indication that he was set to do a big drop like that.
 
If he was mine, I'd wait until the twenty minutes was up, then retest him to see if you need to repeat the process. I will stay with you as long as I can, but I took some medication that is going to make me pass out. Hopefully someone else will arrive soon.


Thank you. I have dealt with lower numbers before doing what I am doing this time. It is just the big drop between +3 and +5 that has me rattled.
 
Wow, Mary Ann! Given the conversation we had earlier, you know I am not going to be able to give much advice, but holy cow!


HOLY COW is right. I wasn't even going to test until +6 the way his numbers were going but he was becoming totally insistent on food NOW and that is usually a bit of a red flag. No idea why this big a drop at this time of the cycle.
 
It is strange how they know something is going on. When Shiloh dropped into the 40's the other day, I was thinking about testing her, but she came to me before I could go to her.
 
How much you need to carb depends on the cat. A couple of weeks ago Neko pulled a 31 on me (middle of the night :rolleyes:). She got a spoon of HC and a good size drop of corn syrup. Did the trick. As the others said, test every 20 when in the 30's, you can probably go to every 30 minutes when in the 40's/50's (or the AT equivalent).

Umm, congrats on that reduction. :eek::eek:
 
Some more random thoughts. As cats go up the dosing scale, we suggest .5U increases when they get over 5 units. With that 43 AT, you might want to consider a .5U decrease.

Some cats like to go high before they go low. Looks like Tuxie showed you a classic example. Good job on the dosecrease threat. ;)
 
Well Tuxie hit 99 at +5 and 20 minutes. He had 2 servings of HC and syrup one at test and one 10 minutes later. I think I can relax and just keep testing. I was just freaked out about such a big drop at this point in the cycle. He doesn't do big drops at this time of cycle and there was NO indication that this was coming from earlier numbers.
 
Some more random thoughts. As cats go up the dosing scale, we suggest .5U increases when they get over 5 units. With that 43 AT, you might want to consider a .5U decrease.

Some cats like to go high before they go low. Looks like Tuxie showed you a classic example. Good job on the dosecrease threat. ;)


Yep...every time I threaten an increase Tuxie pulls some sort of stunt :banghead::banghead:
 
Hey Tuxie - no need to scare your bean to death you know...us parents worry enough about our fur babies without that extra scare on top!! Nicely handled on that low - look how he came right back up for you! :) I bet seeing that 43 show up set your adrenaline pumping!! Congrats on the reduction! :D
 
Oh, Mary Ann, that is so scary! Tuxie you are freaking Mama out! Why not just surf steadily in some safe green numbers?
 
Oh wow, you're bringing back memories of Rosa's PJ parties for me! I'd be certain I couldn't stay awake until I saw a low number show up - then there was no way I could have slept!! ;)

Amazing how a "little" thing like a low number out of the blue can give a person so much energy!! :)
 
Cooper has done some serious diving early in his cycle before too, which totally surprised us. You're doing great!


Thanks for the encouragement. I just redid Tuxie's reading...+6-103. I am surprised it wasn't higher with the HC and all the syrup I put in his food. :oops:
 
Mary Ann, how is Tuxie doing now?

Thanks for checking in

I just did his +6 and he is at 103 on pet meter. With the HC and all the syrup I gave (panic reaction...lol) I am amazed that he hasn't jumped through the roof. Usually I have some sort of idea that there may be a drop but this one came out of the blue. Luckily Tuxie was SO insistent on getting some food that I tested before I had planned on doing it.
 
Glad he is doing better. Crossing paws for no bounce!


Thank you. I am pretty sure this will cause a major bounce. I might hold off on the reduction for a cycle or two depending on how his numbers go. He had a reduction 3 days ago and then seemed to be struggling with it until tonight. First I am worrying about his low number...now I am worrying about whether to do a reduction....worry seems to be my closest friend!! :arghh:
 
How was he acting at that 43?

His overwhelming hunger seemed to be the only major sign. That was what alerted me to test before I planned on it. Other than that he was alert and active..running back and forth to his test area and the fridge in a panic..but no signs of hypo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top