7/6 Pepper AMPS 487, +5 431, PMPS 347

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. today

Yikes - piling on the good vetty vines. He's had UTI's before? That might explain the numbers.
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. today

Yes, blood in the urine is a pretty good indication of a UTI. Be sure the take the sample by cystocenthesis. They can check for the presence of bacteria right there, but need to send it out for C&S to find out which AB to use for the culprit bacteria. You've got to get the test before starting ABs of you don't get accurate results.
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. today

I know you're probably already there, but sending good vet visit vines.
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. update

Just got back from the vet. She examined Pepper and said he didn't have enough urine to take a sample, but it sounded like a UTI and since he had a history of UTIs she prescribed Clavamox. Of course, as soon as we got home he went straight to his pan and urinated. Is Clavamox a good antibiotic for UTIs? Thanks for the good vetty vines!
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. update

Hi Nancy, so sorry about the UTI. I hope Pepper feels better soon. Mine usually get Clavamox for UTI's. So far it has worked.Two of mine have tummy troubles on it though i.e. throwing up and inappetence. One of my guys throws up the first week on it, but still eats good, so we just keep plugging along. Oh, he is ususlly on it a month for another condition.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. update

Hope Pepper is feeling better soon, and the Clavamox works, with no bad side effects!
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. update

Ha, Pepper wasn't letting that vetty have any urine, that's spunky! Some of the ABs can give our kitters pudding poo and poor appy, and doesn't affect other kitties a lick. ECID. ;-) Paws crossed the Clamavox does the trick and quickly.
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. update

Clavamox may be fine. The issue is that you just don't know if it's the right AB. By doing a cystocentesis along with a culture and sensitivity, you know which AB is going to target the bacteria causing the UTI. There's a good chance that if Clavamox has worked before, it will work again. What you may want to consider is waiting for a couple of weeks after Pepper has finished the Clavamox and then get a cysto and C & S. It will tell you if the infection is gone.
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487 - Vet Appt. update - Question

Thanks to everyone. I certainly hope Pepper is one of the cats that isn't affected badly by the AB. I was tempted to get the Convenia shot (convenient!) but I have read here that some cats have a bad reaction so I suppressed that urge.

Sienne: thanks for the suggestion. He'll be due for his vaccinations in a couple of weeks, so I'll bring it up with the vet then.

My question: Pepper's numbers are stratospherically high. Should I keep his current dose while I wait to see if the AB is working or should I raise the dose?
 
Re: 7/6 Pepper AMPS 487, +5 431 - Vet Appt. update - Questio

I would wait a cycle. He could have had more lower greens on the 4th and he could be bouncing from that. You don't want to give a dose increase when a bounce is breaking. Especially on a high dose.

I have said something to the vet on a couple of occasions about a pee sample, and all of a sudden I see a syringe coming out of J.D.'s side and the vet has a sterile pee sample to do a C&S.

Good luck with the Clavamox.

The problem with the Convenia is if he does have a reaction to it, you can't get it out, and it may be in his system for weeks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top