7/6 Munchkin PMPS 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munchkin's Reagan

Member Since 2012
Hello LL,

7/3 Condo

Sorry I've been MIA. I haven't been feeling great and ended up at the hospital yesterday afternoon. They had to put a stint in and I'll be having some kidney stones broken up next week. I was still there last night at shot time, but DH came home and tested Munch and got a 60. He didn't feel comfortable shooting and leaving so he skipped it. I think that was the right choice too. I just tested her now and we're at 86 @ +23.5. I plan on shooting, but wanted to make sure I'm not over looking something. She's very happy an playful right now, more than she's been in a while. Her fur has looked a little dull the last few days, but I thought that would be attributed to the HC chicken I had to give her on the 3rd. (possibly another allergy-she also had a runny nose that night again) Her higher numbers on the 4th are due to 3 oz of MC being left out. (I left so much because Pebs will scarf it all up, but needed to make sure there was plenty for Munch).

I haven't had a chance to catch up on condo's but will do so today. We really hope everyone is doing well and had a good 4th. Happy, healthy, comforting vines to all.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +23.5 86

Oh Reagan! So sorry to hear that. I get kidney stones a lot and they s&^%. I hope you are able to relax and get some rest, of course in between drinking lots and lots of liquids. Did they give you some flomax and ABs? Hope you find relief.

Great numbers for Munchkin! Good idea on skipping. It doesn't look like Munch is missing it.

Have a restful day!
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +23.5 86

I hope you're feeling better. It sounds like a miserable day.

I agree -- your decision about skipping made very good sense given the circumstances. And Munch's numbers look great despite the skipped shot.

Just an FYI -- numbers below 40 really need a dose reduction. Given that Munch has passed the 1 year point from diagnosis and is back from the Falls, you could shave the dose with a number below 40. However, if you're going to stick with the 3 drops below 50 approach (and this still means you reduce immediately if you get a number below 40), you must take the full 0.25u reduction.

Do you give Munch l-lysine? It's an immune system booster and may help with the runny eye and have some secondary benefit for allergy.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +23.5 86

It looks like you she was at 86 yesterday at AMPS and did just fine. If you're going to be around to test, then I say go for it. Her ss is looking beautiful :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +23.5 86

Sienne, I apologize, I'm slightly confused. I did give a reduction on the 3rd. Am I missing something? Or actually I bet it's because I'm confused. You either follow below 40 and get a reduction, or 3 below 50 and get a reduction. Not both, right? I don't know why I'm struggling to get all of this straight. **ETA No, she's not getting l-lysine. What would be a recommended dose? Or should I talk to my vet?

Thanks Dyana. I questioned it because I just wasn't expecting to see her still so low without a shot. But it's likely the shed working?

Melissa, I get stones often also. I'm a water drinking queen over here, but I just can't seem to give up everything I'd need to in order to not get them. I've never needed a stint before though. Blah. I think I have to try harder now. sigh. lol. I'm sorry you have to deal with them often. They can be miserable.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +23.5 86

I'm so sorry to hear about your hospital stay, Reagan. I hope that you start feeling better quickly, and will be sending prayers for you to make a full and speedy recovery. *HUGS*

I love Munchkin's AMPS!!! You're doing a great job!! Both of you are. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +23.5 86

Are you at +24.5 now? I would get another test, if you are.

I think the F2.25 is fine, since you did do the dosecrease after the 38 on the 3rd.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71

Sorry Dyana, I'm in a medicated fog. The 86 was at +22.5, not +23.5. AMPS 71 just now. Shot the 2.25.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71

I need more coffee or better eyesight. I misread your SS and thought you missed the reduction.

You either follow below 40 and get a reduction, or 3 below 50 and get a reduction. Not both, right?
Not quite right. There are some ECID aspects to the following but in general:
  • You get a reduction any time there is a drop below 40.
  • You reduce if there is a drop below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat. (Munch is more than a year after diagnosis so he doesn't qualify any more.)
  • You can reduce if there are 3 drops below 50. However, you need to take a 0.25u reduction (vs. shaving the dose).
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71

Heh Sienne, No worries. Heck I can't even get my subject line right today. :)

So--because I don't think even coffee will help, I'm going to do this explain it to me like I'm 3--
Right now, in Munchkin's case, she earned the .25 reduction on the 3rd. On the 4th, she went below 50, so that's 1 towards the 3 below 50 guideline, two more to go, unless she goes below 40 again. Both situations mean a .25 reduction--no shaving. (I would choose to reduce on the 3 below 50, until she shows me she can't hold the new dose) Are you having fun yet?!? :oops:



Angela, sorry I missed you earlier. Thank you very much. I'll feel better soon. {{hugs back}} We're very proud of Miss Munch. She's dose seem to love rocking the greens, as long as this bean doesn't interfere. :lol:
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71

Morning Reagan - I hope you are feeling better. what a day for you, and I to think that skipping was the way to go with Munchkin last night. Very nice start for Munch today.

You take care - feel better!
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71

You've got procedure down!! If you're finding that Munch doesn't hold the reductions, we can revisit this. But, for now, let's stick with the protocol.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26/30!!!!

Ok, I'm panicing. Probably because I'm not feeling well. Gave her two fingers covered in Karo.
ETA: the two numbers are two different tests off different blood drops.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26/30!!!!

It's okay. Breathe.
Take some food with gravy, and try to give her some of the gravy with a couple drops of karo mixed in.
Test again in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26/30!!!!

I'm glad you didn't wait until +2 to get this test.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26/30!!!!

She's eating the HC as I'm getting it in her bowl, she's ravenous. Do i just give her whatever she wants?
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26/30!!!!

Sounds like J.D. sucking it up as it flows down from the can :)
You don't want to give her too much, because you don't want her to fill up and not want to eat later, if we need to bring her bgs up for awhile.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26/30!!!!

1.75 49, I'm scared though. +3/+4 she typically drops--then again later in the cycle. I'm trying to stay calm, but struggling. I'm shaking and fighting tears at the moment.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26!, +1.75 49

Hugs.. I know how you feel. I felt the same way recently, when J.D. was down like this. I needed a hug, then.

I would test again in 20 minutes. How much did she eat? Did you put any karo in the food or gravy?

It could be long few hours, so take a break for a few minutes once in awhile for yourself, and have some chocolate, K?
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26!, +1.75 49

I gave her two large drops of karo off my finger, Then probably close to 2 Tablespoons of HC w/Gravy -- Which will make her sick later probably (allergy) -- I wasn't sure how to mix her Evo with Karo to get a good HC option. I've had to fight pretty hard twice before to bring her up to safe numbers so I didn't want to be conservative.

ETA: Thank you Ann and Dyana. I've calmed down some. I sincerely appreciate the support right now. My mom is on her way but will be an hour or so. DH is at off site meetings and can't reach him.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26!, +1.75 49

I'm sorry she gets sick on HC with gravy. What happens to her? She doesn't throw up does she?
I guess, plain karo would be better, with a teaspoon or so of LC, at test time, rather than get her sick.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26!, +1.75 49, + 2

We're still trying to figure out everything with the food issues, but the current pattern is a runny nose and constipated. She's only thrown up once in her life and that was because of meds they gave her. 42 +2, I'm going to give her more Karo mixed with a small amount of Evo.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin +22.5 86, AMPS 71, +1.5 26!, +1.75 49, + 2

Good. Remember only a small amount of food, as this could go on for awhile, and we don't want her to get full.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26!, +1.75 49, +2 42, +2.3 44

Come on up, out of those 40s Munchkin. You earned your dosecrease. Now, let's see a nice 62.
I'm signing off for about 20 minutes, or so. Lather, rinse, repeat. I'll be back in a bit.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2 42, +2.4 44, + 2.75 48

Keep coming on up, Munchkin, you're doing good.
You can test in 20 or 25 minutes now, I think. Once she gets into the 50s, and seems to be surfing, then go to every half hour.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2 42, +2.4 44, + 2.75 48

She has me so confused. Some days she responds so quickly to HC, others..not at all. I'm very (understatement) concerned at the moment about even giving her 2 u tonight. I mean we'll wait and see...We've shot lower PS and we were safe, but today threw me completely off guard.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2 42, +2.4 44, + 2.75 48

Hi Reagan. I've been watching, but staying out of the way. I totally understand how you're feeling right now. I went thru the same thing yesterday with Checkers. I just couldn't get him up with gravy, and he wouldn't eat the food with Karo on it.
You'll have Munchkin up and safe in no time. :smile:


I will stay out of Dyana's way now, but sending comforting hugs, 'cause I know how scary this is.

Barb
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2 42, +2.4 44, + 2.75 48

I understand your fear. Even with the shed reducing skipped shot last night, she sure responded to the dose this morning. Let's see how this plays out.

I'm sure it's not the same, but look at my ss on June 23rd. J.D. had me all scared, because he wasn't coming up with HC, and I don't know why, but it really hit me emotionally that time. Now, look at us. Stuck in the reds :roll:
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2.4 44, + 2.75 48, +3.1

Hopefully the MC will help. If she's still in the 40s next test, try 3 drops of karo.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2.4 44, + 2.75 48, +3.1

Dyana, would Ice cream be a better alternative than the Karo? (I'm going to check out J.D. ss in a few--wasn't ignoring you--You either Barb! I appreciate you checking in!) My mom just got here too.

I decided to test before hitting send 64!!!! @ 3.5
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2.4 44, + 2.75 48, +3.1

You're doing great. It often takes Gabby a little while to respond to HC. Gabby's GI problems with HC food go in the opposite direction of Munch's. Gabby gets diarrhea. I use a teaspoon of LC and 1 - 3 drops of Karo depending on how low the numbers are. Frankly, Munch has earned the reduction for today. If you want to be a bit heavy handed with the HC or Karo, it's fine to do so. You'll want to keep monitoring closely since numbers may wobble for a bit.

A few deep breaths and chocolate for you are decidedly called for.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2.4 44..+3.1 41, +3.5 64

Yay! 64!

I think you can wait 30 minutes before your next test, now.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26..+2.4 44..+3.1 41, +3.5 64

You had a long day on your hands on the 23rd, Dyana. It's so stressful, especially when it goes on for HOURS. I'm so sorry J.D. is bouncing though. I try to look at bounces as well deserved. They happen because of the safe numbers. But I can understand how frustrating they are. Thank you for sticking with us today. I'm still very apprehensive about tonight, but we'll take it an hour at a time.

Barb, it's so funny, we all want the pretty greens--but today I slightly miss the comfort of slightly higher numbers. It puzzles me how HC can take so long some days, but work instantly the next. But I suppose it does make sense because the insulin is working, so you have to counteract that.

Sienne, the furry babes just can't make anything easy, can they. With Gabby's delayed reaction to HC, how have you decided whats a good amount to give her, without sending her sky rocketing? As for the HC, I'm wondering if it's something in the gravy that irritates Munch. She does fine with poached Chicken, but FF Chicken w/ gravy causes issues. We also have decided tuna is an issue.

Munch is tearing through the house right now. So she's feeling well. Which does my nerves and heart good. +4 @ 89
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64, +4 89, +4.75 70

The gravy contains gluten. It's an allergen for a lot of cats and can cause GI upset, among other things.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64, +4 89, +4.75 70

She asked about ice cream. And, I now have vanilla ice cream in the house. J.D. loves milk and ice cream, but wouldn't ice cream bother cats that can't handle milk?
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64, +4 89, +4.75 70

Good work Reagan, the food issues make everything so much harder. If Munch can eat the poached chicken it is very likely a gluten allergy. There is a gluten free list that may help, I'll find it for you. Unfortunately you'll have to look the carbs up on another list as the didn't include them.

ECID but I know HC takes a long tome to bring Tess up so I rely on Karo or honey. It also wears off quickly so we need to keep rechecking.

I hope you are feeling a bit better and that your mom is there to help.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64..+6.75 65

Ah yes, gluten. Thank you for linking that information Ann. I'll will take a look at it in a while and have DH bring a couple options home.

I didn't even think of a dairy issue either, Dyana. So much to sort out.

My mom is here, which is a great help. She makes sure if I do fall asleep from the pain meds to wake me up to check Munch. No missed alarms here! :-D I WILL get to more condo's tonight. I feel so behind!
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64..+6.75 65

Just take care of yourself and Munchkin, don't worry about condos! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64..+6.75 65

(((Reagan))))

What a morning you had and you did great. I was watching, too, and don't like to get in the way when someone already is helping. Dyana was doing awesome with her advice. What a gift she is!!!

Obviously, there is a reduction for her again. I'd definitely take a .25u reduction and see how she does. Especially since she went so long without insulin and then gave you this kind of a cycle...indicative that she still had a pretty good shed from the f2.25u dose. Good luck with the reduction.

And sending you many get well wishes and healing vines.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64..+6.75 65

Oh my gosh Reagan, you have had some day! No need to visit condos, I'm sure everyone would understand. Just take care of yourself, get some sleep and take care of Munchkin, which sounds like you are doing such a great job, even though you are in so much pain. DH gets them, so I know how painful it is. Just take the meds. till you can get those nasty things out.

Sending healing vines for a good outcome on Monday, and some for the pain... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64..+6.75 65

Reagan, just take care of yourself. I hope you've been able to get in some rest, but it's been some day for you and what a great job with Dyana's guidance. Congrats on the reducie. Munchkin sure earned it. Sending some healing vines for your procedure. My older brother just went thru the exact same thing, but I've not a chance to speak with him. Hugs to you and lots of scritches to Munchkin.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64..+6.75 65

Wow, what a busy day Reagan! Munch is keeping you so busy. I'm glad your mother is there to help you and help you with Munchkin. Take care of yourself and we'll see you in condos when you are feeling better. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +3.5 64..+6.75 65

:shock: :shock: :shock: and holy carp. well done Reagan - you handled it well. And Munchkin - no more 20's OK? I am glad your mom could come and help - feel better soon!
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +8 64, +9 82, +11 91

I've been trying to rest, but I wouldn't call it successful. Mom just headed home, DH is on his way home, but works tomorrow & Sunday also (Another 14 days before a day off). Although 91 is nice, I'm not feeling uber confident about shooting tonight. I'm waiting to see if she does her usual PS drop. I'm also exhausted.

Dyana, You we're my rock today. I am so grateful for your guidance, support and sticking with me today.

Thank you to all that kept an eye on us from a distance, gave food advice and well wishes and support for both Munch and I. {{{(hugs to Dyana, Sienne, Wendy, Marje, Ann & Maggie, Ann & tess, Michelle, Barb and daphne, Barb and Checkers, everyone)}}}} Thanks again for that list Ann, we're going to try some of the Friskies Pate with Karo, next time.
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +8 64, +9 82, +11 91

I probably won't be up still, when you make your decision.
What bg number would you consider shooting, 150? 120? Maybe think about a BCS dose for tonight, just to put something into the shed? I don't know, these are just some things for you to think about. She is doing so well, recently. I don't want to make you feel guilty. If you are tired and need to sleep, then skip and call it a fur shot.
She will come back to where she is, again.
Whatever you do, I hope you have a nice night, both of you. ;-)
 
Re: 7/6 Munchkin AMPS 71, +1.5 26.. +8 64, +9 82, +11 91

If she doesn't go back down, I'd probably shoot at the 90.. Below I would probably try stalling. More than 45-60 mins I would most likely have to skip. I have the same issues going back and forth in my mind. Doing well, she needs it, want her doing well/tired, fighting off meds and pain, was stressed all day. Keeping her safe is just my main concern, first and foremost though.

Get some rest Dyana. Hope you have a good night! Thanks, again.

*ETA - Dh and I decided to go for it @ 77 with bcs 1.5u
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top