7/6 Mr Kitty PMPS 98, +2.75 63, +3.5 65

Wow, kind of a scary night last night! But well done working that karo and HC to bring him up! I had a day like that recently and couldn't get the karo to work fast enough (altho now I'm thinking I should have used more) so I made the panic visit to the vet...and of course he was on his way back up by then so I spent $150 to find out I was doing the right things. Ha! I hope you can sleep in a little today. Take care!
 
Ack, what a night. And that face looking at the Karo... Hope all goes well with Pippi today and you can squeeze in a nap somewhere. Easier said than done, I know.
 
Love Mr. Kitty's pics in your spread sheet. Looks like you had a very long night and the Levemir is really making a difference. Hope you are/were able to take a nice nap today, Melissa.
 
And thank you everyone! Just a very busy day with a cat that won't eat and children boycotting naps on a 95 degree day lol picking up Pippi now, they said surgery went well
 
Even if the 11.75 unit depot was involved, a trip to the 30's demands a reduction. I'd try 8.5 units as his new dose.

I'm happy to hear Pippi's surgery went well. :bighug:
Thank you!

So this brings up a good question...with these large depots, how do I know when to reduce vs wait out depletion when taking these big jumps? Now that you say it, 30s sounds obvious lol My gut is telling me under 50. 9U was supposed to be a semi chicken shot, in retrospect glad I held it and didn't go back up.
 
how do I know when to reduce vs wait out depletion when taking these big jumps?
Unfortunately there isn't a one answer fits all cats. Especially on cats taking cabergoline. My suggestion is to go for safety first and reduce, and go back up if the reduction doesn't hold. Many a "temporary reduction" turned into the real dose for me. With cabergoline in play, larger reductions than normal, back to back reductions, skips, BCS's are all part of the toolkit. And you may or may not have to use them. Have you ever seen Marvin's SS? Start June 23rd. It's the most extreme example I've seen, and funnily enough, the first to try cabergoline.
 
Unfortunately there isn't a one answer fits all cats. Especially on cats taking cabergoline. My suggestion is to go for safety first and reduce, and go back up if the reduction doesn't hold. Many a "temporary reduction" turned into the real dose for me. With cabergoline in play, larger reductions than normal, back to back reductions, skips, BCS's are all part of the toolkit. And you may or may not have to use them. Have you ever seen Marvin's SS? Start June 23rd. It's the most extreme example I've seen, and funnily enough, the first to try cabergoline.
Holy cow...talk about stressful
 
Melissa, I see you are surviving! I’m so glad to hear Pippi’s surgery was successful at least as far as what the vets have indicated so far. You need some rest! I hope a substantial reduction for Mr. Kitty will help. How is his eating?
 
Melissa, I see you are surviving! I’m so glad to hear Pippi’s surgery was successful at least as far as what the vets have indicated so far. You need some rest! I hope a substantial reduction for Mr. Kitty will help. How is his eating?
Surviving is one word for it :confused:

He had me excited this morning because he took some nibbles of pate and Gerber food. Then nothing all day. I waited him out til +6, even with Mirataz on board, nothing. He's just...blah. Doesn't seem to be in pain, but not his usual self either. I'm starting to wonder if there's something else going on but I have no idea what it could be.
 
Oh Melissa, I'm so sorry that Mr. Kitty is still feeling poorly and didn't react much to the mirtazapine. That's happened to Ruby, too, which really makes you wonder what is going on. Hope Pippi's results are positive and she doesn't mess with her stitches.
 
Surviving is one word for it :confused:

He had me excited this morning because he took some nibbles of pate and Gerber food. Then nothing all day. I waited him out til +6, even with Mirataz on board, nothing. He's just...blah. Doesn't seem to be in pain, but not his usual self either. I'm starting to wonder if there's something else going on but I have no idea what it could be.
Remind me of when he last went to the vet and had bloodwork done? I can’t imagine what is going on but I would be worried.
 
Remind me of when he last went to the vet and had bloodwork done? I can’t imagine what is going on but I would be worried.
He had some done in March, before that October. Anything I have is in the labs tab.

I'll give it a couple more days...he's currently scarfing down MC on his own so there's that. He'll eat the good stuff no problem.
 
+2.75 63 + syringed LC, +3.5 65

Looks like somebody didn't get the sleep memo

Giving MC so I can sleep a little longer then check. Depending on how tonight goes considering 7-ish units in the AM
 
Back
Top