7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150 PMPS 164 +1 177 +2 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
324 today. Gave her some tuna and 1/4 can of Cowboy Cookout and .75 units of insulin. Can't check her anymore today before PMPS, but I can check her more tomorrow. This makes day six of the .75 units. How do you decide if she needs an increase?


yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47000
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

Good morning! Below is an excerpt from the protocol (which is linked below). You will need to do some testing at +2, +4, +6, etc... to find the nadir.

Hope you have a wonderful day!



Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

Thanks. I'm not quite sure I understand this though. She has already been on her .75 unit dose for 5 days now, so when I check her tomorrow, if her nadir is less than 200, I wait three more days? Then in three days, check again and if nadir is greater than 200 and less than 300 increase by .25. If her nadir is still less than 200, then I just stay at the same dose?
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

Yes. If her nadir is between 100 - 200, you would wait for a few more days. If her nadir is between 200 - 300, increase the dose by .25 U. Nadir between 300 - 400 increase by .50U.
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

Thanks. I guess I do understand. The only problem is I can't keep a close check on her because of work. Darn work, gets in the way of everything.
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

I have the same problem. I just do a curve one weekend day. During the week, I can only check AMPS, PMPS, +2, and +4 in the evening.
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

Hi guys .. sometimes it's hard to juggle work and FD, but we do what we can ... I'm hoping miss kitty comes down for you some today! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

working to pay for the test strips!
Exactly.

At +11, she is at 150. If she is about the same at preshot time, I presume I would still shoot? I gave her a 1/4 can of cowboy cookout so far and some tuna to eat.
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150, PMPS 164, dose advise?

I gave her .5 unit. Should I resume with the .75 units in the morning?
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324

april925 said:
At +11, she is at 150. If she is about the same at preshot time, I presume I would still shoot? I gave her a 1/4 can of cowboy cookout so far and some tuna to eat.

When looking to see if there is a rise in bg it is better not to feed at least 2 hours prior to ps time. That way you will know if the numbers are real or food influenced.

Edited to add: You shot a 189 and a 185 before which is not far off from 164....but it is always better to do with what makes you comfortable. :smile:
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150, PMPS 164, dose advise?

it's been only 2 days since miss kitty was cruising green. i'm not seeing a dose increase in her immediate future.

looks to me like the bounce is just breaking now, but can't be sure without more spot checks. i realize nadir checks are difficult when one works outside the home, but without them we can't know how low the dose is taking kitty. one spot check from one curve isn't enough data to support a dose increase (that single nadir check *could* be high because kitty's still bouncing). before bed spot checks are very, very helpful... every night before going to bed.

make sure you get some early spot checks tonight... a +1 and +2 to start. if you fed within 2 hours of shot time, you may have shot a rise induced by feeding.

unless miss kitty earns a reduction tonight, you would go back to 0.75u in the morning.
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150, PMPS 164, dose advise?

I'm getting ready to check her now. How would she earn a reduction tonight?
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150, PMPS 164, dose advise?

She's at 177 at +1. She had a bit of tuna with each check though and her 1/4 can of food earlier at 4:30. I think she will be ok, I've seen her a lot lower before.
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150 PMPS 164 +1 177dose advi

Ok, so I probably should not have reduced her dose the way I did. So, if she does not reach 50 within the next couple of checks or at AMPS, she stays the same.
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150 PMPS 164 +1 177dose advi

april925 said:
Ok, so I probably should not have reduced her dose the way I did. So, if she does not reach 50 within the next couple of checks or at AMPS, she stays the same.
yes, if she does not drop below 50 at nadir you would continue shooting 0.75 unit. i can't tell for sure from your spreadsheet when her nadir is. i'm guessing somewhere around +5 or +6. more spot checks at night may help pin it down a little. unfortunately, nadirs do change. for example, my own cat's nadir went from around +8 to +12. :lol:
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150 PMPS 164 +1 177

Because Miss Kitty wasn't ready to get a lower dose, you might see some wonky numbers. She might be tapping her shed tonight to compensate for the .5u. Tomorrow's dose will be used to fill that shed before it can do its job. Here is the sticky that explains about the shed.

Just stay on course with the .75u until she tells you she wants a dose increase or decrease with her nadirs. You're doing great!
 
Re: 7/6 Miss Kitty AMPS 324 +11 150 PMPS 164 +1 177

I guess I panic too quick. Now at +2.5 hours she is 178. No need to panic.
 
ummm, well, I went to bed. Now at 5:30 a.m., she is at 358. I'll be able to check her pretty good today because I am off work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top