7/6 Mickey amps 288 +5.5 281 +8 291 pmps 285 7/7 amps 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
I am not claiming to know anything about the numbers here, but, it seems like since I raised Mickey to 3.25 he his higher.

And someone has been peeing on my bed for the past 2 days. Playing phone tag with the vet. He is it now. It could be one of eight cats. But I may have it narrowed down to 1 of 3 Mickey Matilda or Momma. It was so invisible today, I acually laid down after my 4th midnight shift and I had wet legs. Ack!!!
Could I please have a break here?

And the house is infested with fleas.. Not the cats, the furniture.

7/7 we are going up now....amps 301
 
Re: 7/6 Mickey amps 288 +5.5 281 +8 291

(((((Peggy))))) Sorry you had a surprise today in your bed! That must have been the LAST thing you wanted to deal with after a midnight shift. Hope you find the culprit and get him/her to the vet.
 
Re: 7/6 Mickey amps 288 +5.5 281 +8 291 pmps 285

Oh no! Fleas are never good. Do you have carpet? The best thing I can recommend is contact an exterminator because unless you treat the entire area with product that kills live fleas as well as eggs, they will just grow up and come back. A friend of mine lived in an apartment that was infested and had to have the whole place treated. They were so bad you could sit on the couch and they would jump on your legs. So you may think they're in the furniture, but they can jump like 2' easily, so they're probably coming from the carpet.

If they are in/on the furniture, are you sure they're fleas and not bed bugs? I'm just asking, not sure if bed bugs are as bigger or bigger than fleas. I don't think they jump like fleas though and fleas are literally flat vertically, while bedbugs would be flat horizontally. I think they are similar in color though.

Maybe the pee'er is trying to kill fleas! Sorry you're having to deal with all this aggravation. Let me look at his spreadsheet right quick. I should open like 3 windows when I get on here!
 
Re: 7/6 Mickey amps 288 +5.5 281 +8 291 pmps 285

He sure hasn't moved much though, so it looks like he needs more 'cause his BGs did not budge today. His curve on 6/18 looks very similar. My opinion on why his numbers seem higher is the schedule changes and even the lower dose on 7/1 PM. When on larger amounts, a reduction like 1U is going to empty the shed pretty good. Give him a couple more days. You might even try going up in .5U increments now, as Tilly says if at larger doses, go up by .5U. It's not advisable for new users, but you've worked up the dose ladder fairly consistently and it's obvious in the color changes on his spreadsheet that it's working.

It seems like he's hit a plateau though. So increasing the dose makes more sense to me than lowering it.
 
Re: 7/6 Mickey amps 288 +5.5 281 +8 291 pmps 285

Oh, gosh, that is all so frustrating! My oldest cat used to pee on the bed when she was young (like from age 1 to 3). I had to put a plastic tarp over my bed until I was ready to sleep in it. I think I used a shower curtain liner. Of course that means no one will want to sleep on top of it, so they lose that sleeping place, but YOU have to have place to sleep and not have to change the bed every night.

Fleas: yeah, you probably need to fumigate - as well as treat the cats with Frontline or something. My aunt's carpet got infested and she called a fumigator and took the cats for a flea bath, but she only has two cats. Problem solved. And I had to fumigate my first apartment. I got one of those can's you set off and leave for 7 hours. I flea powdered my cats, let the two older ones outside, put the dishes in garbage bags (if you don't you have to wash ALL of them afterwards), set the thing to go off and left with my 6 mos old kitten to go to my parents house. That, also, did the trick.

Now last year, I went on vacation, took the cats, and the house I went to had fleas in it. I Frontlined the cats, washed all the bed linens and vacuumed everything - and I mean everything. All the carpet, moving furniture except a few very heavy dressers and a sideboard full of glassware, but I could get the vacuum under it pretty well, and all the upholstered furniture. Then you throw out the vacuum bag right away (or at least wrap it in plastic and tape it closed).
 
Re: 7/6 Mickey amps 288 +5.5 281 +8 291 pmps 285

Fleas are driving me to drink(not really ;) The only carpets I have are 2 runners for hallway and door and 8x10 in bdrm and 5x8 in living room. When I first moved in I tore up all of the carpets because of the fleas.
I could take them outside and clean them.
I have to capstar Momma cat because I cannot get ahold of her at all. (former feral from other house) All of the others are treated regularly with Advantage 2 .
Fumigating sound like a possibility. I have no idea how I would get all of the cats out of the house. Especially Momma. :? Humm...then where to store the cats for hours. I will have to think on that one.

The #'s I will watch for a few days because I am switching shot times from 9 to 7 to 5a/p over the next 3 days. My poor boy.
 
Re: 7/6 Mickey amps 288 +5.5 281 +8 291 pmps 285

Oh geez (((Peggy))). You just can't catch a break. Now fleas?! You must be a superwoman!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top