7/6 Mary AMPS 145, PMPS 255, +2.5 344, +4 380, +6.5 335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
I'm trying something different with Mary's food. Last night I finally saw a normal looking curve and she dropped down from 300+ where she'd been all day to the 90's and then gradually rose into the low 100's. The thing that changed was that I'd tried mixing her antibiotics with her food and it must have made it taste bitter/funny as she only ate ~0.75 can of FF classic vs her normal 1.5-2 cans. I was surprised that the FF classics would make such a difference as it is fairly low carb per the food tables but maybe it is higher than I'd realised. Mary has been hungry because of her high blood glucose so I've been giving her 4 cans a day and she eats about a can when she gets her shot and nibbles the rest through the day/night.

Anyway I have a bunch of other low carb wet food from when I was trying them out with Mooch. So this morning I'm giving her 1 can of FF classics and half a can of Wysong Au Jus to see if that has an effect. She seemed to like the Wysong food which I know for sure is low carb and I'll test her BG every hour to make sure nothing crazy happens. I also nudged down her Lantus to 0.75 units and will take it back up tonight/dosecrease if I see her with the same high BG.

7/6 Mary AMPS 145,+1 164,+3 136,+4.5 76,+5 75,+6 82, +8 94, +9.5 126
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145

I just posted in your Yesterday's thread. Food is very important in cats.
If she does not eat her normal amount, or better, please let us know. We can try to help you to get some more food into her.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145, +1 164

Yay, that is terrific news!!! Sending tons of positive thoughts for a wonderful outcome with whatever food you give her. It's all trial and error.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145, +1 164

Shd tolerates all her meds well but hates taking pills. She's just out of the kitty ER and for the next week I have to give her 1 pill in the morning and 3 in the evening. Last night she wriggled and spat the pills out several times so I thought I'd try mixing them in her food and that must have made it taste bitter :-(

This morning she has eaten quite a bit of the Wysong food and a bit of the FF so I'm going to remove the rest of the FF and add the rest of the Wysong to see if that helps her sugars.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145, +1 164

I don't think I would have reduced her dose this morning, but I'm not in your shoes. But, IMO, her just coming out of DKA, she needs all the insulin and food she can safely handle, right now.

I found that wrapping the pills in pill pockets, are easier to push down the side of J.D.'s throat than just plain pills are. And if he spits it out, which doesn't often happen, it's easy to find it and put it back in. He gets two or three pills at once and I wrap them all up together in a bit of pill pocket and that makes it just one "pilling" experience twice a day.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145, +1 164

There are a couple of tricks with pills.

Allergy formula Pill Pockets (duck and pea) are one way to get them down. You need to get them in the dog aisle.

Smearing the pill with butter will help a pill slide down or, if you're putting it in Mary's food, it may prevent the pill from making her food bitter.

Instead of a pill pocket, you could put the food in an empty capsule. You can get blank capsules at a pharmacy.

Using a chunk of chicken or ham that you can shove the pill into may also work. Ditto for cheese or cream cheese.

I agree with Dyana. For a cat that's so recently recovering from DKA, you want to keep the insulin levels as high as is safe. If that means feeding a higher carb diet, that's fine. I had told another member here that if giving her cat an ice cream sundae would keep the cat eating and offset the insulin dose, it was a lot less expensive than a hospital stay. It's great that Mary is eating -- that's a major step. I would be attentive to not dropping the dose too much, though.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145, +1 164, +3 136, +4.5 76, +5 75

Thanks for the tips on pills for Mary.

So we have a big surprise on the blood glucose today. I'm going to do a bit more research but she is eating her normal amounts of food but just a different brand and I dropped her dose by 0.25 units so I think the Fancy Feast must have had a lot more carbs in it than I realised. I'll look through the food charts tonight and check the specific flavours I was feeding to see what they say.

Mary sends purrs to everyone and I'll keep testing through the day.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145, +1 164, +3 136, +4.5 76, +5 75, +6 82

Nice cycle for Mary. Just a word on the Wysong au Jus. It is intended as a supplemental food and does not have all the vitamin and minerals that cats need. You can feed it along with a complete diet food, but alone it would need to have supplements added.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145, +1 164, +3 136, +4.5 76, +5 75, +6 82

Thanks, I didn't realise that. I tried the Wysong as I knew it had extremely low carbs to test my theory. I can try EVO or some others as alternatives as Mary seems to like wet food much better than Mooch did so I'll have more options :-)
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145,+3 136,+6 82,+9.5 126,PMPS 255

It's really inportant for Mary to eat, if she loves this food go with it, but you should find a supplement to make sure she gets all the other things she needs, too.
 
Re: 7/6 Mary AMPS 145,+3 136,+6 82,+9.5 126,PMPS 255

Finally a fairly normal looking curve for Mary. Today she's eaten most of a can of Wysong Aus Jus and a can of Fancy Feast so she ate as much/more than normal. This evening I went through the remaining stash of Mooch's rejected canned food and found a can of the EVO turkey and chicken canned food which Mary really likes.

AMPS 145 -------------> Ate about a third of a can of Wysong and a bit of FF
+1 164
+3 136
+4.5 76 -----------------> Until now had nibbled mainly Wysong. Here I gave Mary more FF and she ate about half a can
+5 75
+6 82
+8 94 --------------------> Nibbled a small amount over the last few hours. Mainly Wysong
+9.5 126 ----------------> Since +8 had eaten the rest of the FF (approx half can)
PMPS 255 ----------------> Plate licked clean from this morning. Ate about a third of a can of EVO

I also managed to master the pilling! I just had to pop a pillow behind her so she couldn't back up and managed to give all 3 at once that way.

Mary sends smoochies to everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top