? 7/6 Gus preparation for vet visit tommorow

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
Good morning
Gus seems better this morning, very hungry. He is drinking lot of water and walks often to the area where his water is and his LB. His BG is still high AMPS 318 we haven't see numbers like this in long time. So we still going ahead with the vet visit for investigation of his issues. I understand he has pancreatitis but recurring episodes of weird urination and several questionable results like elevated BUN , pH8, low USG and the last test showed all in normal range are suspicious. Is it possible that if he got fluids than his samples were obtained it would influence the results? I am not even sure that it was the order but vet was very surprised because from very beginning he suspected DKD/UTI or issues but ruled it out based on that last test. We need to repeat.

Vet is very uncomfortable with the way I manage Gus's BG, because I keep his BG to low. Is there any reference that I can provide him with to get his support?

Another goal for tomorrow appointment is to establish treatment plan for pancreatitis episodes. In the past when I took sick Gus in he was medicated and send home with meds. but no meds to control pain. I had to watch Gus suffer. On the advice of this board I called and requested pain medication and it made big difference.

Thank you for your guidance
Elizabeth
 
I actually did read a more recent finding on tight regulation. If I can remember where I'll post it later. One suggestion is to remind your vet that on a vet meter the numbers would be at least 30% higher. Before FD I always tried to get Max's labs on an empty stomach of at least 8-10 hours by making appointments early in the morning. Now I go at +6-7 when possible. The last time I tried that was a day when Max hit the 40's and I had to keep feeding him so the best plans don't always work. That of course messes with results.

I'm glad Gus feels better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top